We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great random find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Mongolian Barbecue

Charlie's Mongolian Barbecue
315 E Diamond Ave, Evansville, IN 47711
8124239897
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 335 Restaurants in Evansville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great random find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We weren't planning on being in Evansville, IN but nevertheless there we were, and it was rather past time for dinner. This place showed up on Google maps, so we went, and it was really good. Pricing system is a little opaque but the upshot was that we came out of there for $25 for the two of us, not including a few bucks in tips; he ate three heaping plates and I ate two not-heaping plates; and it tasted great. Definitely don't worry if you think your plate is too full when you are going through the line - it will cook down to some extent. If you ask for it spicy, make sure you get at least 1.5 spoonfuls of the chili paste - otherwise it won't be more than moderately spicy, and they're not used to customers who really mean "spicy." The waitress commented on it, and the cook came over to make sure it hadn't been too spicy for us. :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"You need more hot sauce! More! More!!!"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I knew going in that a local Mongolian BBQ restaurant was unlikely to match the quality and variety of sauces offered at any HuHot restaurant, and indeed Charlie's didn't; however, the manager made up for the variety of suggested sauce/ingredient cards by standing directly beside the sauce station and proclaiming "You're doing it wrong! You need more hot sauce!" as we finished mixing our sauces. When I thanked him for his suggestion and reassured him that I had a fairly good idea what I liked on my plate, he only became more belligerant. That kind of behaviour ensured that the next time we get a craving for Mongolian, we would rather drive the extra distance to Bloomington to have it prepared Sans Attitude.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great Mongolian grill. Good selection of fresh food to pile high on your plate and have grilled to perfection! Yum! Just make sure you pay close attention to their pricing. They are very reasonable, but charge by plate size and by trip...unless you pay $1 extra. Great place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“How high can you stack your plate?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Love this place! It looks a little sketchy for the first time visitor, but just do it! Build your own plate, it takes skill, but you can pile it on and have leftovers to take with you if you are good. If you think you have too much, you don't, add more.

I never know which sauces, just tell them to make it good and they know what to do. Make sure to tell them how much hot sauce you want.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthiana, Indiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sooooooooooo good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Quality of ingredients is superb, every thing is fresh. Pile your plate high because it cooks down! Your food is cooked in front of you with a variety of sauces. Love this place! For $10 I usually take home half of my food for a future meal. The decor is a little scary, but don't let that scare you! The food more than makes up for the ambience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Mongolian Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Mongolian Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Mongolian Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.