We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired old motel that has seen better days.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Inn

Save Saved
You added Belvedere Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belvedere Inn
3011 Belvedere Road, I-80/90 exit 92, Elkhart, IN 46514 (Formerly Ramada Inn Elkhart)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Elkhart
Pewaukee, WIsconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tired old motel that has seen better days.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a traditional motel that was built in the 1960's. It used to be a Ramada Inn but now is in foreclosure and is a "bank owned" property. A Bennigan's Restaurant attached to the hotel is now closed. The hot tub in the pool area is closed "permanently" as it leaks from the bottom. The best things about this hotel are the location and price. It is right off the highway and near many chain restaurants.

We were in town for a weekend for a youth sports tournament. The motel was mostly empty except for our group. The lobby is "ok" as is the indoor pool area. That said, the rooms are very tired looking as were the hallways. The parking lot and landscaped areas looked terrible. I have my doubts if they will eventually open the outdoor pool when the weather warms up.

This hotel is fine for truckers or those who are looking for a cheap price. There are other hotels on this same strip which are nicer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    0
    7
    9
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
elkhart
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I live in Elkhart and just wanted to have a night with the girls. The guys remodeling the part of the hotel were there as well that night smelling like straight up alcohol. The lady at the desk was rude about giving us towels (which were big enough for a two year old at the most) and she was just a mess. The pool was a little dirty but it was nice to just relax, the bathroom next to the pool though was filthy. The mirror was disgusting and there was one working light. The workers were hitting on my friend and they were like 50, we are only 19. Creepy much? The whole hotel gave off an eerie feeling. I would recommend you spend 20 bucks more for a nicer hotel down the road, unless you wanna get hit on. Hotel shouldnt even be open till its fully restored and can pass an inspection. Def moldy.

Room Tip: No good rooms at this hotel! lol. Go to somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We reserved two rooms, 224 and 229. Neither had hot water, when we asked about this at the front desk we were told that they were low on hot water due to excessive use the night before. Room 224 had a non working phone. Room 229 has a broken window, the rolls of toilet paper were stored on the bathroom floor. Broken window in the hallway by the stairs, so much for security! Beds are terrible, most hotels have the nicer beds especially for 140.00 per night plus the tax. We asked to speak to the manager before leaving the hotel, he was not in,was able to reach him a couple of days later via the phone and he stated that they did a "full investigation" on both rooms after we left and everything was just fine!!!! Really, why didnt anyone check the room while we were there? We needed the hot water while staying not after we left. Due to the "full investigation" we were not offered any type of refund. DO NOT EVER STAY AT THIS HOTE!
Sarah/ Allendale Michigan

Room Tip: dont ever stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend while in town for a football game. We were a little leary because of the reviews we read. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and its in a great location. There are plenty of restuarants close by. The pool was a little chilly, but very nice. The hot tub is out of order, which wasnt a big deal. Our room was pretty big and very clean. Desk, chair, fridge and comfy beds. Dont let the other reviews stop you from staying here. We will be staying again in november.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

The location is the only thing going for this hotel. It is just off the interstate and close to many restaurants.

Our room was located next to the indoor swimming pool. There was no barrier whatsoever between our room and the deck to the pool. It was very loud until the pool closed shortly after 11pm. Although the hotel guests left the pool, it was still loud throughout the night because the pool filter continued to run.

The Bennigan's restaurant inside the hotel is closed. The pillow on my bed had a fresh stain on it which could only be described as tar coughed up from smoker. My room was supposed to be smoke free, but the bed linens had cigarette burns (make that bed linen because one of our beds did not have a sheet). It was very difficult to enter the room because the door handle was corroded from the moisture of the indoor swimming pool.

The bathroom was absolutely filthy. The tub was covered in mildew and pubic hair. The floor had even more pubic hair.

It is clear to me that the rooms are not thoroughly cleaned after every visitor. Heck, they might not be cleaned at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Should have lisented to others reviews. Large rooms, some updates BUT we are in room 234 - supposed to be non-smoking, but reeks of smoky smell. There is gargage and trash behind dresser and in drawers, ice bucket is dirty, gross splashes on walls, sheets were dirty (changed them ourselves). The bathtub whole bottom is black and gray and moldy...I could go on and on. Of course we askes to change rooms, but we told none were available. Going to contact Ramada. They should be ashames to have their name on this property.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

It is almost impossible to get a last minute hotel for game day at Notre Dame and this was the only hotel available. The hotel is conveniently located right off the freeway just about 15 minutes for South Bend so it was a quick drive after the game. It was situated in the heart of chain restaurants so there was a selection of places to eat. However, you can't eat onsite because the Bennigan's has gone out of business in the hotel. The hotel itself is rather old and need of update. The carpet is warn and musty. We struggled to open the door of our hotel room because the moisture from the indoor pool had corroded the key card reader. Once we finally got in the room had a rancid odor that was a mixture of must, smoke, and something I just could not identify. We actually had to leave the room to buy air deodorizers just to tolerate the smell. Again, our room was just outside the indoor pool which was host to the party which went on long into the night (long after "pool hours"). The party continued up and down the halls and in each of the rooms which appeared to have about 10 - 15 college kids in each room. The good part of our stay was that morning came and we could check out. Getting ready wasn't much better. The door on the bathroom was broken so the door didn't shut. The shower curtain was torn which matched the overall feel of the bathroom. We paid for an upgraded non smoking room. The experience just made me wonder what a basic smoking room must have been like. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I will not stay there for the game next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belvedere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Inn

Address: 3011 Belvedere Road, I-80/90 exit 92, Elkhart, IN 46514 (Formerly Ramada Inn Elkhart)
Location: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Elkhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Belvedere Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Elkhart
Ramada Elkhart
Elkhart Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.