We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked out after one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Caravan Drive, Elkhart, IN 46514   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Elkhart
Girard, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Checked out after one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there for a Notre Dame football weekend. We could not find a room at the Mictrotel, so we settled for the Sleep Inn next door. We had stayed there before and it was decent. This trip, not so much. The perimeter of the room was very dusty, and there was blood on the blanket. I don't know many hotels that still use quilted bedspreads, as we all know they don't get washed very often, so I immediately stripped the bed of it. After spending one night on the uncomfortable bed, I called the manager and asked if we could get out of our two-night obligation. The manager was agreeable and let us leave. He asked what the problem was, and apologized for the shortcomings and even took twenty dollars off our bill. It a
was not a terrible place, just needs some updating and housekeeping improvements.

Room Tip: Ask for the most recently updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
23
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enon, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

OMG this Sleep inn was the worst..... Wifi non existent (aka couldn't get connected) had to wire in, and that sucks too!!! Normally if you use the wire connection the speeds are amazing, here it is molasses with a little heat.... Now as far as the hot tub, bed, shower all this was great, but if you are an electronics guy/gal who requires some tech to make your night complete.....find somewhere else..... Also as far as the room went there are converted rooms from the "smoking days" and they have you sign the notice you could be charged 150 for smoking in your non smoking room, the room I was in smelled like a cigar was sitting at the door..... if you are going to be responsible for the 150 the room should smell clean.

Room Tip: It was supposed to be wifi free however none of my devices could connect. Bring a cat5 cable to plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelPatel, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are aware of issues with our complimentary internet service, this was a result of a lightning strike in the area that knocked out a number of our electronic equipment. We are in the process of replacing the equipment affected by the lightning strike as well as adding additional wireless access points. We have an appointment on 9/22/2014 with a Networking company to replace one of the wireless access points affected by the lightning as well as adding 3 additional wireless access points to improve our network. We are also replacing our network gateway, also affected by the lightning. We will then have the company test the entire building to insure that there are no "dead spots" in our wireless network coverage, once we have the new equipment installed we will look into other options to further improve out LAN. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.


Sincerely,


Mel Patel
General Manager
Sleep Inn of Elkhart
574.206.8290
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

After an exhausting overnight in Chicago we decided to stop here and rest overnight before continuing our additional 4 hour trip back home. I used trip advisor to view area hotels and rates and which hotel had a pool. Great rate at Sleep Inn plus they gave us AAA discount and checked to see if I was a Choice Rewards member. I had saved rates page from web but the front desk person did everything he could for us without asking. He was extremely friendly and accommodating. Rooms were great size with large refrigerators. Walk in showers were very nice. Beds a little too soft. Quiet peaceful nights sleep. Hotel has everything you need nearby right off turnpike. So much more than continental breakfast! Friendly girl making bacon, serving muffins, yougurt, cereal, donuts, bagels, toast, fruit, belgium waffles. This $60 a night stay blew away our $400 a night Hilton Stay in Chicago in every way! Highly recommend! Thank you!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelPatel, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.


Sincerely,


Mel Patel
General Manager
Sleep Inn of Elkhart
574.206.8290
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

This place was perfectly acceptable. It is right off the interstate, so convenient while traveling. The room was clean enough and had the minimal amenities I expected for the price (around $80). We had a quiet stay. The sheets and bedding could be a lot nicer. No real problems, I just can't get excited about places like this.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelPatel, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Mel Patel

General Manager

Sleep Inn of Elkhart

574.206.8290
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night. First impression not good upon seeing a dirty elevator. It was the same in the morning so apparently it is overlooked when cleaning/sweeping. Our room was OK for the price. Nothing special, but seemed clean and had a decent shower. The hair dryer over heated before my short hair was dry & I wasn't even using the hot setting. Breakfast was run of the mill, cereals, sausage, waffle machine, yogurts. I will be looking at other properties next time when in Elkhart. Might stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelPatel, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Mel Patel

General Manager

Sleep Inn of Elkhart

574.206.8290
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The staff seemed nice as we checked in late at night. When I entered my room I was surprised that a refrigerator and microwave was included. The room seemed clean. Bathroom was a bit on the smaller side but it's not that much of a pain. Breakfast was decent. Overall clean and great for the clean price!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelPatel, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mel Patel
General Manager
Sleep Inn of Elkhart

sleepinn.com/hotel-elkhart-indiana-IN095
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

When ever we have stayed at Sleep Inns we have always have a great experience and this one was the same. The hotel staff seems to go out of their way to help you. We enjoyed the whirlpool and sauna. The heated pool was a little to cool for us. Breakfast in the morning offer a good variety from bacon, boiled egg, fruit, yogurt, waffles and the regular breakfast fare. Rooms were clean and quite.

Room Tip: When checking in ask to have safe fee remove from charges – unless you plan on use the safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelPatel, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
When ever we have stayed at Sleep Inns we have always have a great experience and this one was the same. The hotel staff seems to go out of their way to help you. We enjoyed the whirlpool and sauna. The heated pool was a little to cool for us. Breakfast in the morning offer a good variety from bacon, boiled egg, fruit, yogurt, waffles and the regular breakfast fare. Rooms were clean and quite.

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We appreciate and value your feedback and will I share it the kind words with the team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for every guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mel Patel
General Manager
Sleep Inn of Elkhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 220 Caravan Drive, Elkhart, IN 46514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Elkhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Elkhart
Elkhart Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.