We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sushi place in Elkhart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chubby Trout

Chubby Trout
2730 B Cassopolis, Elkhart, IN 46514
574-264-5700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 157 Restaurants in Elkhart
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: American, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Upscale food but casual atmosphere located in the middle of the motels off 80/90 toll road. From hand pattied burgers to black angus sirloin and filet mignon. Walleye, lake perch, blue gill and salmon to a full sushi bar! 20 beers on tap specializing in local hand crafted micro brews. Great little wine list. It's where the locals and the business travelers meet. Great bar atmosphere!
San Marcos, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Sushi place in Elkhart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

But I am not a Sushi guy. They had a shrimp dish that I went for and it was good. It was Monday night Sushi was half off so the place was packed. Elkhart is not the place I would have thought liked sushi that much but they were coming out of the woodwork. The food was good. The folks at our table had a variety of things and everyone liked what they had. The prices were decent but we did wait a long time to be served.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    36
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good sushi, great salads and drinks. Service is excellent. My husband frequents the Chubby Trout at lunchtime and LOVES the crab bisque.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Some of the best fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The atmosphere is casual and nice. The space is smal so seating is limited. The food is terrific. My husband and I have been twice and loved what we had each time. Great sushi and fish.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The Courtney chips are amazing with everything on them or without anything at all. The Baja fish wrap is very tasty as well. The service is good and the staff is very friendly. They have a number of craft beers and many on tap, their martinis a very good also. I have been to this restaurant several times and the only complaint is during Oberon season they ran out, twice! I was very disappointed. For those that aren't familiar Oberon is an amazing summertime beer that everyone in Indiana and Michigan love, it is locally brewed in Michigan. Otherwise it is a great place to meet family and/or friends for a casual lunch or dinner, and drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A surprise culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Title says it all! The restaurant features everything for every taste, and the sushi special night is unbeatable! The pretzel appetizer is one of the best outside Bavarian stands and starts the meal right. A multitude of draft beers makes a complete meal whether you have a burger, fish, a salad or steak! Pleasantly affordable with tasteful and welcoming staff and atmosphere make Chubby Trout a good and affordable option for families or out of town travelers

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chubby Trout also viewed

 

Been to Chubby Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chubby Trout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.