We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is filthy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58364 State Rd 19, Elkhart, IN 46517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Elkhart
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place is filthy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We went up to Elkhart to see old friends. When we got to the hotel the receptionist was rude and not very talkative. We stayed the first night it was fine. The second day we went swimming and the pool was grimy and had big floating hair balls in the pool. If that's not enough, we had a small blood stain in our sheets in our room and brought a little friend named cockroach home in our bad with us. If I was someone thinking about staying here, please think twice. I expect a cleaner stay from a holiday inn express.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Frederickisbell,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the conduct of one of our staff and cleanliness of the pool and room accommodations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

I greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. I hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
2
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

It was a nice two day stay to visit an ailing family member. My only concerns were the spotty wifi, and the stopper in the bathtub doesn't keep water in the tub. The breakfast area is nice and the lady running it was very welcoming. I will consider this property when we attend a wedding later this year.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStaff001, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words in regards to the hotel and we are glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We hope to see you again when you visit our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at this property on Nov. 6 of this year and if I hadn't arrived late in the evening and had to be up early for a meeting, I would have immediately left upon seeing the number of bugs on the ceiling. They appeared to be crawling out of the curtains and/or air conditioning unit. The condition of the bathroom was also extremely poor and the ceiling fan was falling off of the ceiling. I will stay away from this property in the future and think twice about ever staying at a Holiday Inn property in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear BDYBRNA,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my sincerest apology for the experience you had with your room accommodations during your stay. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort, sc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Great accommodations, comfortable beds, professional and friendly staff, good location. Enjoyed the breakfast and common areas, and indoor swimming pool. Thanks for the upgrade, we appreciate your kindness!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStaff001, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed the evening of 9/15/2012. Nice facility and nice room. Internet access easily available. Typical Holiday Inn room, nice but nothing memorable. However; the breakfast is exceptionally nice as it included scrambled eggs and bacon, something you typically don't see. Also have the cinnamon rolls and a pancake machine. They have an indoor pool.

Room Tip: It is always to your benefit to request a room away from ice machines and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStaff001, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again. Safe travels and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANATA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I attended the Notre Dame vs Michigan game this weekend. It would have been nice to stay right in South Bend but the rates for the hotels in South Bend were double the price I paid in Elkhart which was only about 30 mins from the campus. The hotel was new and very clean. They offered all the regular Holiday Inn Express features but also included tons of info for football fans to help them get the most out of their visit to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here on our way to New Jersey. Our room was nice. We basically just slept there and it served our purpose well. The breakfast was typical HIE breakfast. That is the one thing they need to change up a bit.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Elkhart-South
Holiday Inn Elkhart
Elkhart Holiday Inn
Address: 58364 State Rd 19, Elkhart, IN 46517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Elkhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart South is conveniently located near downtown Elkhart, IN. Our hotel features guest rooms on three floors, as well as, a beautiful pool and whirlpool for your enjoyment. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart South provides easy access to Amish Acres, Shipshewana, University of Notre Dame, South Bend, the Football Hall of Fame and much more! We have several guest room types that will accommodate your every need. Visit Elkhart, IN and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.