We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Bistro - great Gelato” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B On The River

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
B On The River
333 NIBCO Parkway, Elkhart, IN 46516
574-293-9333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 157 Restaurants in Elkhart
Cuisines: Continental
Restaurant details
gilladj
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“OK Bistro - great Gelato”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stopped in here for a late lunch our first afternoon in Elkhart. The place was empty. It is a bit of a confusing enviroment because of it's bistro/deli/gift shop ambiance.

We order a couple Paninnis with chips. The food was fine. The young man who seemed to be the only staff on duty was a bit querky in his interactions with us. He was trying to be friendly and funny but it was awkward.

We came back later in the week for some Gelato and the Oreo Gelato was a heart stopper! Very good stuff.

If we lived in the area we would be back for the Gelato at least.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very unique restaurant with gift shop throughout. Sit down and carry out. Excellent soups, salads and sandwiches.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I have heard many many great things about b. I have been wanting to try it for quite some time, but I don't get downtown very often. Today I found myself downtown in the late afternoon and wanting a snack, I was very excited that I was going to finally get to try b on the river! But I have to say, I was disappointed. To start with, the store is a cluttered mess. They have some very cute things, but it just all seems to be thrown in there. I was disappointed that the dessert case was not even close to half full. I decided to try the red velvet roll. Again, I was disappointed. The red velvet itself was very very heavy and the filling seemed to have a waxy texture to it. It actually left a film on my tongue. I will absolutely go back and give it another try and have something different. I would love to try their sandwiches and salads!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipshewana, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decadent Desserts!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I recently had dessert by the fire at B on the River and it was a great ending to a wonderful night out! I accidentally left my purse and called once I got home and realized it...they had found it and put it in a safe place and were very very helpful!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to eat with girls for lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went with my husband, more of a place for a girls lunch. The place is great, food selection limited but very good. The prices were a bit pricey but for a once in a while treat I enjoy it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B On The River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.