We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3250 Northview Blvd, Elkhart, IN 46514   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Elkhart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Loved the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here as a stopover on a long drive. We loved the suite. Our five year old daughter loved having a "room" to herself (the living room area with the pull out couch and her own TV). We loved having a bedroom with door, although the door didn't close completely. Everything seemed fairly recently updated. There was a tiny bit of rust around the shower fixture in the bathroom that could have used a touch-up, but otherwise, we couldn't find anything.
The breakfast was fine for us and the service was terrific. My husband enjoyed a fresh waffle. I had a boiled egg and some yogurt and my daughter had cereal and a muffin and a banana. Healthwise, I'd like to see some whole grains (none to be found) and fewer Danish type items, however, for one night it wasn't an issue. Everything was clean and it was a very pleasant experience. The only thing we would improve would be the pool. It's in the basement with no outside windows. Maybe if the lighting were brighter, that would have helped? There were only three chairs for parents or others who may not be in the pool or hot tub. It was not a problem for us because there was never anyone else in the pool. The hot tub was really hot and the chlorine levels in the pool seemed too high. We notified the front desk upon departure and they said they would have it taken care of.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
20
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The good- They were generally polite and friendly. Snack bag delivered to your room daily. Pretty decorations, hot tub is hot. The not so good- The whole inside was run down. Broken plaster, patched ceiling that was obviously repeatedly repaired in our sweet and hallway. Suite was very small! Couch bed had a few inches clearance to walk around to get out the door. Pool and workout room are located in the basement so no sunlight and a little creepy. Along with the shadowy lighting down there I didn't feel safe enough to use the workout room. If there was a corner to be cut they cut it! Breakfast room doors were promptly shut when it was over, no coffee in lobby, exactly 6 towels in the pool room everyday, laundry room needed a thorough cleaning and you had to pay to use it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsElkhart, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stay was very nice. Only complaint (and it most likely had to do with being on the 4th floor) was lack of shower pressure. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was friendly. Rooms were quiet and clean. Enjoyed the snack bag. Keep on keeping on. Please address shower pressure.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I recently took a "bucket list" trip to Notre Dame and had a fabulous weekend. We were not familiar with the area and it wasn't easy finding a good hotel on line, especially since ND was playing at home. Unfortunately, the hotel we booked on line turned out to be so bad, we simply refused to stay there. So we started going from hotel to hotel in search of accomodations. We had the great luck to meet "AD" (Eddie) at Country Inn & Suites. Although full, he went out of his way to accomodate us. By rearranging several other rooms booked by regulars who book a block of rooms for the ND games, he was able to get us in for the weekend. The room was first rate and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rate was standard and we didn't have to resort to any "special inducements". We were very grateful to Eddie. He certainly didn't have to make that extra effort. Others on staff were equally friendly and accomodating. You won't be disappointed if you select this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_elkh, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed . We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We chose the Country Inn & Suites in Elkhart, IN in our way to Shipshewana, IN after a trip on the South Shore line from South Bend to Beverly Shores. This hotel is very conveniently located near
the Indiana Toll Road, but the rooms are very quiet. We found the rooms clean and appropriately furnished for a stay of one night.
There are several restaurants nearby one can drive to for dinner.
Continental breakfast was very good, and the lady in attendance showed us everything that was available, a very nice, personable touch.
All in all, an excellent hotel at a resonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_elkh, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed . We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The pros....outside of hotel was inviting, rooms were clean and front desk staff was friendly. The cons....elevator was slow and a little "scary", the bed was saggy, nothing in the room matched and was in dire need of a face lift. We inquired about the guest laundry and were told it was on the second floor but had to be done during the day because guests complained of the noise of the washer/dryer in the evenings. When we located the guest laundry room it was torn up and closed for repairs. The pool was ok but the hot tub was cold and only one of the jets worked. Although this part isn't the hotels fault per say, we were approached in the parking lot by a man in a truck with some story about being far away from home and no gas money and wondering if we could help him out. We had seen him approach other guests that had just pulled into the parking lot as well. We reported it to the front desk and learned that they were aware and that this guy seems to make his rounds in the hotel parking lots in the area. Seems if they were aware, that something should of been done by now. Just my opinion.... Will we stay here again? Probably not....

Room Tip: The higher floors have the rooms with the 2 queen beds so if you are looking for a king room on a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

For the price we paid I was happy. The room is outdated and could use some sprucing up but it was very clean all around, as well as the hallways, lobby and breakfast area.

Here is what I liked:
A clean Jacuzzi in my room
Windows opened
Clean bathroom and plenty of towels
mattress was semi-firm and I slept well
The easy chair was comfortable
A bag of snacks and water was in the room for us
No hallway noise, (but we could hear people walking above us- but it was not that bad)
Had to turn air conditioner and fridge on but both cooled well
Breakfast area and all staff professional and friendly
Plenty of hot water
parking was easy and I felt very safe in the area
shower pressure was OK, not the best but got the shampoo outta my hair

What I didn't like
The décor
The tv (although a flat screen was fuzzy)
All the pillows were super soft- my sweetie loved that , me not so much
Pool was too chilly too swim
Hot Tub at pool was lukewarm at best.
Breakfast was lacking.
Pool area could use more lighting.
The curtains didn't make a great seal and light came in room in the am.

There is neat restaurant called the Flippin Cow about a mile away. It is on the water and we enjoyed our dinner.

Room Tip: I would ask for one on the top floor. We could hear the room above us walking. For us it was minimal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North

Address: 3250 Northview Blvd, Elkhart, IN 46514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Elkhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Elkhart North
Elkhart Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.