We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn - Elkhart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn - Elkhart to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2902 Cassopolis St, Elkhart, IN 46514-5523   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Elkhart
Sun Peaks BC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pretty bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The only reason I'm giving 2 stars is that the staff were friendly and they accept pets. Otherwise...where do I start...thin bedsheets, grimy-looking bedspread, dingy dated room, cheap mattresses, and some questionable-looking characters checking in at all hours of the night (probably why the clerk stays behind plexiglass after 11PM).
At least they're replacing the carpets, but the smell of the carpet adhesive was overwhelming and the windows don't open so it was a terrible night's sleep. The room had a fridge but I don't think it had been defrosted for years as there was a 3" layer of frost covering the back wall. Not the worst place I've ever stayed, but pretty close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARonzone, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Elkhart, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate your kind words about our staff. We try very hard to offer Great customer service! I am sorry to learn of your disappointments. We are currently making replacements in the rooms and will soon have a completed renovation. We hope to see you return to experience our New hotel! Thanks again!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    32
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
19
18
13
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have stayed at this Red Roof Inn on a number of occasions when traveling East from Wisconsin for dog events. It's a great place to stay when traveling with dogs, the rooms are basic plus (no hair dryer, but I did have a fridge and microwave) and clean. There's grass on the Menard's side for walking dogs - if you stay with dogs, please be a clean quiet guest so we all continue to have this privilege! I got exactly what I expected for the very reasonable rate - and the soap at Red Roof is my favorite, LOL!

Room Tip: First floor, Menard's side is closest to grass for walking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONZONE, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Elkhart, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank You Thank You for the nice review.......we love having your 4 legged children!! We look forward to your next stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed At Red Roof Inn Elkhart, Indiana. My stay was rather comforting They have a great staff there. I wasn't able to catch all names of the stuff but I would like to say a special thank you to Amy, Nancy, Marry, Alicia, Tara, Angie, Wanda, and Standish for making my stays pleasant at the Red Roof Inn. Very polite at front desk and very clean and smelling fresh rooms. Although I would like to add remodeling or updating would do a lot of good at your hotel. Starting with the televisions.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONZONE, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Elkhart, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Gabby4U,
I really appreciate the kind words about the staff, I think they are great also. Good news flat screens are on the way.....hopefully by some time this summer. We all look forward to you next stay with us.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Thank's again lady's for a nice stay 1s again.Thank you Amy and Nancy and as well as the great house keepers Gloria,Standsh,Jennifer,Tera,ALicia and for Wanda who I dnt see no more thanks again lady's see u wed

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONZONE, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Elkhart, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank You so much for the kind words and I am so glad that the girls make you feel like you are at home. We are really glad to have you stay with us and hope to see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

as someone who stays here a lot i can say i've always been treated very well and have been made to feel at home. kinda like norm at cheers!! my room is always clean and fresh, and if there ever is a concern, it is taken care of immediately. i can say all the staff has been great to me with a special shout out to jennifer, amy,gloria,wanda,tera and alicia.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms on the back side tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARonzone, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Elkhart, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. I am very happy to know that my staff is taking such good care of you. We will be waiting for your return!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Elkhart, IN 2 times in December 2012. The location was very convienant for me as an over the road trucker. I found my room to be pleasantly clean and inviting. And five stars to the staff that made me feel "welcome and not so alone". Kudos to Mary and Kurtis!!!!! If I ever get back to the Elkhart area, I would definately stay there again. maintenance640@yahoo.com

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONZONE, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Elkhart, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for the nice compliment and we will welcome any time you are in the Elkhart area!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stay here all the time and every x I get a room I'm stuck w house keeper Gloria and her rooms r bad always smell must and always missing something.. Don't understand how she can still be w u and the rest of the staff love your house keepers Tera,Alicia,Jennifer,Wanda and I believe Standish these lady's I would stay in there room anytime o and I love Amy she's the best see I lady's on Mon;)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONZONE, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Elkhart, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the errors from one of my staff, and thank you for the very nice comments about the rest of my staff. I appreciate your staying us and can't wait to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn - Elkhart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Elkhart

Address: 2902 Cassopolis St, Elkhart, IN 46514-5523
Location: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Elkhart
#3 Business Hotel in Elkhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Elkhart 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Elkhart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart Hotel Elkhart
Elkhart Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn - Elkhart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.