We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paula Deen buffet was very disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jeffersonville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paula Deen buffet was very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We waited in line over an hour which we had done when it was the Villa Buffet. That would have been ok if the wait was warranted. The fish was cold and dry. The crab legs were extremely small and overcooked. Without going on and on.......the food was simply not good. My wife and I heard a foursome at the next table commenting the same way. The server (term used very loosely) was inattentive due to spending a lot of time talking with another server complaining about their boss. In any event we left determined not to return and agreeing it was certainly no value. I then discovered today while checking my bank account online it was worse than we thought......the amount charged to my debit card was more than I authorized when I signed the slip. The positive for us was now we will feel much better about making the drive to Belterra Casino. Don't waste your time or money going there.......absolutely horrible experience. The next question on this review I'm completing is "Would I recommend to a friend?" I'm gonna have to say No because Hell No isn't one of the choices.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    441
    215
    79
    63
See reviews for
220
644
111
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Can't say much about our comped room except, it needed a new rug.The much promoted Paula Deen buffet, however, was not a pleasant experience even with meal coupons. Someone in food service should scope Ryan's. We will be back because this is where we gamble but not fade the buffet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Had an overnight visit with friends at the Hotel and Casino. Room was nice. Great value using comps from the Casino. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We ate at the Paula Deen Buffeet for dinner and then again for breakfast and it is lacking alot. This Paula Deen can't be compaired to the one in Tunica - much better in Tunica. It was a very disappointing experice compaired to Tunica. It was to crowed at the buffett and roped off.
The casino was so tight, I guess they were trying to get their money back for the renovations.

There were people standing in line to get into Paula Deen's and people were giving them the thumbs down.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I have not been such a poorly venilated smoke filled casino and I have been to many. They say 25% of americans smoke, if so, the whole 25% in Ky. and Indy go to this casino. It was truly hard to breath. Or see.
I have never seen such riff raff , bums and thugs in a casino. How can so many people who look like they have really hit hard times be in one casino? This casino continues to go down hill. I used to love this place and thought it was the best of all river casinos. Not any more.
The buffet was being remodeled to a Paula Dean, so food was being served in the one of the theaters and looked kinda gross. It would have been nice to know this when reservations were made. Hotel room was fine, employees were very nice.
If you like B O and Smoke this is the place to go. If not try another. I guess casinos will be the last to get it on this smoking thing. I usually don"t mind the smoke but this place is something else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed on the 22nd and the 27th of Aug. My wife and I really enjoy the Horseshoe, no it's not like Ceasars was, but it is close. The carpets do need to be changed and I think they are working on that, as they had some floors shut down for remodeling when we were there. They put us on a smoking floor and it really stunk in the morning when we walked out of the room. Paula Deane's buffet looks like it will be good although we didn't get a chance to eat there. You might want to wear long pants and maybe even a sweater when your gambling as the air conditioner is working overtime on the boat. All the staff we met were very friendly and courteous. All said and done we really like this place and will be back. P.S. the walk from your room to the casino won't hurt anyone, it's just a nice stroll, take your time and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisveille
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I Stay at Horseshoe quite often, lately the rooms have been really dirty, the carpets are stained bad in the smoking rooms. When you arrive to your room the stinch of stale smoke takes your breath. I've learned to ask for Non Smoking rooms, they seem to be a little cleaner. It is nice the the pool is staying open longer. Overall the comps keeps me coming back. The slots just need to be a lot looser.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
Comfort Inn Louisville
#41 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Corydon
#1 of 5 in Corydon
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Address: 11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Southern Indiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.