We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expect from Harrahs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Horseshoe Southern Indiana to your Saves list
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expect from Harrahs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My husband surprised me by making reservations at the Horseshoe. We normally stay at Harrah's in St. Louis, but as we were travelling to visit family out of state he made different accomodations. The complex isn't easy to find as it sits basically in the middle of nowhere, corn fields, rural & the nearest convenience store is miles away. A very large property, while the shuttles & people movers are a very nice addition...the shuttle needs to run through casino operation hours. I truly hope the Paula Deen Buffet will be magnificent, but the current selection is terrible. Very little food offered and the quality was sub-standard. Staff was nice and friendly enough, however, check-in was a disaster. There were only 2 people doing the check-in & one was only for Diamond & Seven Star, so there was quite a wait. I have stayed at Harrahs many times over the years, and have never once encountered a mini-bar. This was not explained to me upon check-in, and as we have a small child who touches everything, we were charged $25.00 for the movement of an item that was never opened!! Mini bars should be offered only to those guests who want them, regular refrigerators in the room should be the norm, not the extra. While the poker room was nice, I was disaapointed in the slots areas.....very smokey & uncomfortable. So many slots crammed together that you practically sat on top of your neighbor. All in all, I was not impressed and will most likely not return. I will continue to stay in St. Louis at Harrahs and will try other properties, but this one needs a bit more polishing to be up to what you expect from a Harrah's property.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    409
    197
    74
    62
See reviews for
199
585
103
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

geez they need to losen up the machines a bit. I go to the Horseshoe a couple times a month because it is the closest casino to my home. I surely don't expect to win every time I go but I would like to get a little play time. My other complaint is that they allow a few people to hog the machines they are known to pay. One gal sitting in the middle playing three machines. Very rude when people are waiting for the machines. I have always had excellent cocktail service in the casino so kudos to the servers and bartenders.
My only complaint about the hotel is the mold smell in some of the rooms and the paper thin walls...I mean PAPER thin. If you have a romantic couple in the next room you may as well be in the room with them. You can hear EVERYTHING????.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

The room and food was really great, slot machines did not pay off as well as we had expected.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stayed at the hotel and it was the most fantastic place i have ever stayed at... The room was so beautiful room, and the room service was great. I also went and played at the casino which was an amazing experince. The slots selection was great and the tables were a great play time for me and my husband. the employees were wonderful from the cocktail servers to slot reps and most of all the cage cashiers, plus there is a girl named Brittany you have to meet, she is a cage cashier and she is so WONDERFUL . I had a great time. I cant wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Casino is set in rural area miles away from even a convenience store, hotel takes advantage of isolation charging $2.50 for small bottle of water! TV in hotel rooms are seriously outdated, old curved tube type and dim picture, ours went out twice while we were there. Hotel is at least 1/4 mile walk from riverboat casino! Hotel and casino staff always seem grumpy, not many smiling faces here. Read that when the change was done from Caesar's to Horseshoe name that $50 million renovation was done to casino, still looks the same as when it was Caesar's except for name changed on building, and dress of employees changed from Roman wear.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Four adult family members comfortably shared a room. Nice furnishings and amenities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Nasty carpets. Machines were not paying out ....To anyone! Bad machines. Lots of smoke...........not worth the drive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
Comfort Inn Louisville
#42 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Address: 11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Southern Indiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.