We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gambling good but no spunk!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Horseshoe Southern Indiana to your Saves list
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bradenton
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Gambling good but no spunk!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The entire place needs more spunk. Long walk to casino, businesses are closed up, only one restaurant besides their steak house. Went to legends restaurant for dinner and it was okay, so we ordered room service for breakfast. By far the best room service ever..... I give the room service a 10. Fast, fresh and so amazingly flavorful. Best breakfast pizza in the world. Stay just for that, but the gambling is good also:)

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    230
    121
    49
    47
See reviews for
93
340
55
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Champaign
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The room was great, beds were great, all hotel staff were great. Only complaint I have is that it is a long walk from hotel to casino. They run a golf cart shuttle but it only takes you halfway. Way too far. Not for the aged or infirm. I am used to great places in Las Vegas where we just get on the elevator to go down to the casino.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Have stayed here in the past and was always very nice but it seems to be back sliding. We stayed on the No Smoking Floor and the entire floor smelled like the smoking floor of the casino as did the room. When we got to the room the air was off and the room was very warm, this side of hot. Bathroom could have used housekeeping. Hard to miss all the black hair in the tub and on the floor. Wife says last time for us as she hated the smell of the smoke to say nothing of the hairy bathroom. Called the desk and got disconnected three times and then when I did get through and had a question about billing they gave me an 866 number. Lacking service for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stopped off in Elizabeth, IN on our way home from Chicago. What a wonderful room, hospitality and the staff was downright kind. We loved our room. It was grand! No, we're not high rollers but we had a hoot in the casino. We'll go back and definitely recommend it to our friends. Oh and while there, stop by Binions for dinner. Although we did not eat there this time, in the past it has been great! Happy Travels!

Room Tip: We stayed on the seventh floor and the a/c seemed quieter. We asked for a king, non-smoking and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ok so we are not high rollers by no means and we gamble when we have saved enough to go. We love Horseshoe In. And always receive free rooms,,which helps if you have to drive very far. We appreciate that,,,,,but we just returned from our last visit to see Ron White and it was awsome! We then went to gamble and stayed gambling till breakfast time (from 11till around 9:30 ) After eating we decidded to gamble some more,,I went to 2nd floor to a machine I love to play but the chair was pushed up and a card was in it,,so I waited 10-15min no one showed up so I asked the attendant what was up,,she said give more time so same amount of time and finally guy shows up saying he is trying to get more money?? And would the attendant (lock) out the slot cause it looked like that lady (me) wanted to play it,,duh,,well she did and he came back later and said well I guess I have to give it to you cause I can't get anymore money,,,,,so HE unlocks the machine and all the while I am playing he is coming up and telling me what i will win and standing there comenting the whole time,,I got up and left,,,I called two days later to ask if this was policy and was told HIGH ROLLERS can have this done,, he said attendant could tell by the card,, i said high roller had no money but I did,,he said thats just how it is,,,,just my point being if all us that gamble when we can afford to but are treated so, ,its the little poeple that make up the most gamers so, ,ok so my feeling were hurt and my money wasn't as good as the money he couldn't even get,,,that sucks. All the good times we have had make this very hurtful experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The rooms are always nice in appearance and clean. But that is where the good stops.

We had two free nights, so with that, I am usually less likely to complain. However, this stay was so bad, we left a day early!

The past few times we have stayed here, the rooms are so hot that I cannot sleep. This time, we had the thermostat set to the lowest temperature (which was 60), and it was still so hot that laid my head at the foot of the bed because it was the only place on the bed I could feel even the slightest cool air blowing from the vent. The bathrooms have no A/C vent, so even turning the lights on makes the room miserable hot, so we left the lights off as much as we possibly could.

Room Tip: If you are cold-natured, you'll love these rooms! If not, you may want to check out the room te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel! First of all, I joined the Total Rewards Program online, and I was able to book the hotel for $20 less than any 3rd party website was offering it for. Make sure you park on the 3rd level of the hotel parking garage, that is the level of the hotel lobby. The rooms were very nice, spacious, and clean. The TV was also a lot bigger than I have seen in other hotels. We had a minor issue with the air conditioning not being cold, and maintenance was up in the room within 5 minutes of us calling the front desk. We had no issues with noise from other rooms, as other reviewers have mentioned. My friend and I went to pick up our Total Rewards cards at the membership desk, and the attendant gave us each a coupon for a free night at the hotel Mon-Thurs! We will definitely be back. We ate at Legends, the food was good and prices decent. Drinks were slightly cheaper in the casino bar though. Some people in their reviews were complaining about the distance from the hotel to the casino... we didn't mind it. There is a shuttle you can take or there are moving walkways to expedite the walk. There are also shops and restaurants on the way to the casino. Overall, we had a lot of fun and we will definitely return!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a "nature view" as opposed to concrete, but according to the front desk co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Address: 11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Southern Indiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.