We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Horseshoe Southern Indiana to your Saves list
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Won't stay here again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

My partner and I stayed here on the way to Detroit from Atlanta. We like to make it a 2 day trip and decided to stay at Caesars Indiana. We are Diamond Members, so it was free and we said what the heck, can't be to bad.

The hotel is dirty and needs a make over. The carpet in the hallways look like it had a flood. We stayed on the 5th floor so I hope this wasn't so. The only good point about the hotel was the bed was really soft and comfy.

If you like to play slots, you will probably be disappointed. The casino is on a barge in the Ohio river, so it is very cramped and smoke filled. The 1st floor was closed, so this left everyone to gamble on 3 floors. There was so much smoke, you would have thought the place was on fire.

Also, the walk to the casino from the Hotel is about 1/4 mile, and I am not joking. They have a walking escalator, but it only takes you half way.

One of the good parts of the stay was there are 2 Diamond Lounges. The buffet is open to members for free until 3 pm, and the lounge on the casino 4th floor is open til Midnight.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — The distance to the casino.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

My wife and I started going to Caesars Indiana about 7 years ago, and it used to be great. It was very clean, and the casino was fantastic , probably the best in Indiana - tons of table games, wide variety of table minimums, separately themed floors, lots of different slots, and even free self-serve soda machines. However each year we went back, it seemed like the property was let go just a bit more than the year before. This year, with the rebranding (I say down-grading), it was so bad that we may never go back. The entire boat has been rebranded with the "Horseshoe" theme - all of the original, nice decor is now gone...along with all of the table games (and soda machines)!!! Seriously, they probably had 25% of the tables this year compare to our last trip just a couple years ago, and all of the mininums were $15.00. You used to be able to play table games on 3 of the 4 floors, with a wide variety of minimums, but now they only have 1 small section on the third floor reserved for table games (sorry the high limit lounge does count) and the rest of the boat is basically a slot-fest. The slot machine choices were also dissappointing. We're not big slot players, but all of the fun slot machines they used to have are now gone, too. The entire casino has been stripped down, and it sucks. If you want to go to 3 floors (1 floor was closed for the ongoing down-grade) of boring, crowded, smokey slot play, then the NEW HORSHOE is for you! Otherwise, send the morons at Harrah's a message and start going to Belterra or even Argosy. Caesar's used to rule Indiana....sorry, your ship has sunk!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LT_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

When we drove up, we were excited to check in and unload the car. When we stepped in the door and were hit by the cloud of smoke, we were ready to turn and run.
Maybe our (non-smoking) room will be better, I thought.
It was not.
This hotel and casino really needs to improve its ventilation. Our window in our room didn't open, and there was no fan in the bathroom to help ventilate out the stench.
As soon as our eyes opened the next morning, we checked out, unable to stand another minute (and missing the Sunday brunch that did look kinda good).

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank SmokeFreeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

NON SMOKERS BEWARE- You cannot breathe anywhere in this hotel or casino. The smoke hangs in a haze over everything. They need to upgrade their ventilation systems and get some smoke eaters.
Our "non-smoking" room required a spray down with air freshener as soon as we arrived (windows don't open and no fan in bathroom). Not much relief.
Everywhere is smoking- even at Portico, our nonsmoking table was right next to....a SMOKER>>>>>>!
My hubby and I checked out bright and early next morning due to sore throats and headaches and ate breakfast somewhere else.
Also, the casino is not fun because the staff are NASTY. The table bosses act like you are playing in Monte Carlo and do not tolerate any questions and don't hesitate to scold you if you do something (no matter if it's harmless) that they don't like. I was stone sober, am a nice person, ready to have fun, and left my table because I was sick of the dictator fussing at my every move.
I WILL STICK TO VEGAS. GAMBLING IN INDIANA IS A JOKE.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NonsmokerIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

We stayed at this hotel during the week when you can get a pretty reasonable rate ($95 after taxes). Overall this is my favorite hotel and casino out of all of the ones on the Ohio River. The rooms are very spacious and the indoor pool and hot tub are great and rarely crowded (the pool is actually warm enough to get in unlike other casino hotels I have been to). I also enjoy the fact that the bathrooms are oversized, with there being an individual room for the actual stall itself, so more than 1 person can use the bathroom at one time.

The biggest positive and negative in my opinion about the hotel (why I didn't give it 5 stars) is t he distance to the casino. Unlike other casino hotels you just don't take the elevator down the casino, there is a significant walk. They do have a free shuttle that takes you halfway down and it definately helps, but this might be a big issue if you plan on going to and from the casino a lot or if you are older. In my opinion it is nice being some distance from the casino and be in a more relaxing atmosphere. I enjoy being able to go down to the lobby area and just relax for a couple minutes and not be immediately in the middle of slot machines and all of the people in the casino (both hotel guests and locals). Simply put, it is nice being able to feel like you can away from the casino, but obviously again some people might think of it as more of a negative than a positive.

As for the casino itself, it is the largest casino in Indiana even though the 2nd level is currently closed as they transition to the Horseshoe brand. I might wait until the 2nd level is back open as this mad getting a seat at the table game somewhat difficult. The poker room is still the best of the Ohio River casinos, the only negative being that if you are used to Vegas a lot of the poker tables will feel like you have crashed a home game, since many of the players are regulars.

Overall though, in my opinion the casino and hotel in my opinion are both the best in Indiana. The buffet is pretty good and Legends is a great atmosphere for a nice dinner. I did not try Portico's but I have always heard positive things about the experience. Overall I don't think it is worth it to pay $200-$300 a night to stay here (a lot of times the weekend rate) and go to the casino, but it is definately worth it if you can get a room for $125 or less a night, and during the week you can definately get this type of rate. I look forward to returning again soon.

  • Liked — Nice clean accomodations.
  • Disliked — Distance to casino.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gatorcard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2007

I have been to all of the Indiana riverboats and Caesars is the nicest. Only disadvantage is the walk from the hotel to the casino. Quite a ways, however they now provide a shuttle (golf cart) free of charge (driver accepts tips). Food at this hotel is also good. They have a steak house, a buffet, a cafe in the pavilion as well as cafes on the boat. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are clean, bathrooms done in marble. Very nice place!!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank barbark2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

I have been going to Caesars Indiana since the place opened in 1998. My multiple visits have included rooms all over the hotel and every bar and restaurant in the place (even some no longer there). It’s fair to say I know Caesar…

So many reviews of this property, just like many other casino riverboat properties, turn on whether the writer had a good day at the slot machines. With exception of discussions about table limits and employees, my views of the property are based on my non-gaming experience.

CASINO:

It is fair to say I have spent more time in this casino than any other casino. Originally, this casino was not owned by Harrah’s, but by a smaller operator. Just like everywhere else when Harrah’s comes in, table limits went up. The selection of slots did get newer and shinier. Table limits tend to be $10+ with higher prices on peak times. Lately, with the opening of nearby competition in French Lick, Indiana, Caesar has felt the pressure of competition and now advertises $5.00 tables…limited times only, only on select games, not applicable on holidays and special events…Don’t expect to find any reasonably priced games on Friday or Saturday evening.

Décor is unremarkable. The various themes are hardly noticeable. The place does have the largest chandelier in the world or some such nonsense on the 3rd floor (again, hardly remarkable). The casino is in the process of a change-over to the Horseshoe (damn the Binion family for ever letter Harrah’s have the right to this name). Right now there is Horseshoe themed material next to busts of Caesar. Roman-hillbilly…odd theme. A recent high-roller section is ooo-la-la but “yawn”. Though you will not be encouraged, be sure to step outside on the 3rd or 4th floor and view the river. It’s the only part that is worth “seeing”.

The casino itself is fairly clean. The casino is largely smoker friendly so if you don’t like smoke, you better like slots or poker (the smoke-free level, floor 1, has only these games).

Drinks are reasonably priced ($3.25 beer). The bars provide quick service. The cocktail service is not so hot. Unless you are in the high-roller salon, expect to wait a while for drinks. While this would make sense in Clark Co., Nevada, where drinks are free, it would seem capitalism (selling beer = profit) would ensure prompt beverage service. Nope.

The staff has always been friendly even when adversity strikes. As is often the case in a Midwest river boat located near a big city, the players will often remind you of those on East Fremont Street. Too often the blackjack table is populated by work-a-day guys that are way down on their luck needing just one more 21 to make a mortgage payment. I have seen very bad behavior handled always professionally.

Most dealers, maybe because they are starved for non-welfare-wagering patrons, actually seem excited if you have a little personality when you play (as opposed to the abundance of English-as-a-second-language-deal-at-blazing-speed dealers that are way too common in Vegas now). Some staff is so memorable you’ll want to seek them out visit after visit. “Snappin’ Bob” (nametag Robert) is my personal favorite.

DINING:

Legends- This is the property’s mid-priced dining experience. It has decent décor. It’s part bar part restaurant. It’s the only place to eat if you don’t want to spend a fortune but you’re looking for a sit-down meal.

Priced a few dollars more a plate than O’Charley’s or Chili’s, things here cost more than they should. The food is often mediocre, cooked wrong, or cold. Service has always been friendly. Sometimes it can be fairly good. The bar has a good variety. This place could benefit from strong management in the kitchen.

Cleopatra’s- It’s the coffee shop. It’s the standard comp given for a few hours play. It’s a self-serve grill. Like everything else in casinos that don’t really have competition, it’s overpriced. In the wee hours, it can take 30 minutes to get a burger (hey, cooked to order is good, right?). Save yourself the headache and some bucks- go to Waffle House unless you’re too smashed to drive.

Buffet- I don’t wear polyester slacks. I do not ride a scooter up to the slot machine. I do not get excited about buffets. I do not have anything great to say about the buffet. I do not have anything bad to say about the buffet. It is buffet- hear it yawn…

Portico- This place is expensive (about $100 a head with wine). Unlike most high-dollar casino dining, it is genuinely worth the price (so often comp dining is way overpriced). The food, service, and décor are superb.

I am not a lobster fan. This place is known for its lobster. In the tune of the Monkey’s “I’m a Believer”… “I tried the lobster, now I’m a believer”. I will order lobster there again.

Our meal was a fortune and worth every penny.

Other food- There are various food counters on the gaming vessel and in the hotel. It is what one would expect- slightly less than average food at slightly high prices.

ENTERTAINMENT:

This ain’t Vegas baby! You’ll see lots of talent here that Kathy Griffin wouldn’t even associate with (which, admittedly, is better than no show at all). Usually the acts are country. Anthony Cools (who plays in Vegas) is a favorite and sells out when he comes. They have some fun events at holidays with good food and free drinks for high-rollers. I am not invited.

On weekends, a band plays at Legends. If you like Beatles cover bands, you’ll like the band. Thank God they don’t have karaoke.

HOTEL:

There is nothing spectacular about this place. Just like all the other casino hotels in the Midwest (with the exception of French Lick) this one is nothing special. It’s clean. It’s a little nicer than a Hampton Inn (well, the Hampton Inn does have down comforters). Like other casinos, the choice of TV channels blows.

As discussed, as the players in the attached casino are often the down-and-out crowd, it’s not infrequent that your neighbor may be like an angry, drunken, Jethro Clampett. For whatever reason, people like bring (dump) their kids in a room while they go gamble. More than once, my neighbors have “entertained” me with their noises from drunken domestic violence, raucous sex, and ill-mannered kids (sometimes simultaneously).

The bathrooms are roomy and covered in pretty tile. The views from the top floors looking at the river are impressive. The pool, fitness center, and other facilities are good. Remember, they want everything to be bland so you’ll seek entertainment outside of your room…in the casino.

Otherwise, this hotel is like a new Buick. It’s clean, comfortable, and wholly unmemorable.

Overall, this hotel casino is good. I am hard pressed to give it four out of five but almost feel guilty for giving it only three. If you’re coming here (Louisville area) for some reason, expect a fair experience. However, if you want a destination trip, I would try the nearby French Lick casino. I would be more inclined to give this place a better rating if its three-point-five stars facilities didn’t have five-star prices.

  • Liked — Good casino, rooms, and dining.
  • Disliked — Overpriced casino, rooms, and dining.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TeamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
Comfort Inn Louisville
#42 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#30 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#4 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#24 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Address: 11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Odigeo so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing