We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel OK, but long walk to casino.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Save Saved
You added Horseshoe Southern Indiana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel OK, but long walk to casino.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here traveling from Texas to Indiana. Didn't have enough comps for a room, so the price was a little steep for the room I thought. We couldn't believe the walk from the hotel to the casino; however, they do have a shuttle to take you half way. That certainly helps and it runs every 3 or 4 min. so you don't really have to wait. The casino is very broken up over 4 decks, but there are escalators to take you to each floor, or an elevator if you prefer. You are captive here since it is all alone in the area, so you have to eat here & the restaurants are a little pricey, but they do have a "snack area" on one of the floors of the casino & the food is pretty good & OK for a meal. Of course, like all other Indiana casinos I think, you have to pay for alcoholic drinks in the casino &as we usually go to Louisiana or Nevada or Mississippi & get drinks for just a tip in those casinos, I get a little annoyed having to pay for a drink. We will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    115
    73
    37
    32
See reviews for
44
159
29
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stay one night on our way through Indiana. The hotel was nice and we had a comped room, so the price was right. The rooms are very nice and comfy, but I have to say there were several disappointments.
I had read several reviews where people complained about the long walk to the casino. We were able to catch a ride with a man who had a golf cart to shuttle us back and forth. That was really nice and be sure to tip him for this service. We found the restaurants to be generous in portions, but a little expensive. Realizing they have a captive audience once you are there, they should rethink this strategy. The casino was a big disappointment with the size being small because it is chopped up on four decks, and the variety of machines. Poor selection, unless you play just slots. We prefer video poker and the selection is very limited.
We did appreciate the no smoking deck.
We probably would not stay again, but look for alternative destinations in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I have stopped at the Horseshoe several times in the past to hit the casino, but hadn't stayed until this visit. And we were not disappointed.

We were given a King room, overlooking the nature preserve behind the hotel, and we loved the location. No rooftops, just lush greenery. It was a Sunday night, and the room was very quiet, and we heard absolutely nothing once the door was closed. Very peaceful.

The room itself was very comfortble, along the lines of other Caesars properties we've visited in the past. I loved the 46" flat screen, as I wanted to watch the Women's NCAA finals. The mattress was quite cushy, and both of us slept very well.

The "water closet" being separated from the bathroom by a door was a little claustrophobic, but I could deal with it.

As with almost every Caesar property we've visited, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and it always makes a big difference in the overall experience to us.

The walk to the casino from the hotel almost makes you feel as if you're in Vegas...... a long, long way! Thank goodness for the moving walkways, or we would've flagged down the gentleman with the golf cart for a ride to and from.

We are both slot players, and my wife likes the selection of games. They only have one of my favorite machines, and I had to wait a bit for it, but the other players in the area helped to make the wait fly, good conversation all around. My wife did pretty well, but me, not so much. However, we don't go to win, we just hope our budget will last awhile, and it did. The drink service, though not "free" for alcohol, was quick and friendly. Gotta love being able to order from the slot machine.

We've eaten before at the Paula Dean Buffet, but we skipped it this time in favor of a couple burgers to take back to the room and eat while watching the basketball game. The grill, JB's, is fairly inexpensive, and the food is tasty.

As we pulled away, we both commented that it was surprising we'd never stayed the night before, but would definitely make it a point to on subsequent visits.

(It's only fair to mention that our room was complimentary, but even for the regular rate of $116, it would've been worth it.)

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the backside of the hotel, facing the nature preserve. It looks as if you wante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel was very nice. The rooms were large and clean and well kept. Very happy with the hotel room, not so happy with the hotel policy. Ridiculous,,, they want to charge you an extra $11 to check in before 4 pm. Instead of just letting us check in when we got there, about 2pm, (and the room was ready, because they said they could check us in, for the extra $11),they want to charge to have your luggage sit in a room for an extra 2 hours. Sorry...not happening. They would have made more money than $11 off of us, if we had spent that extra time in their casino, instead of us taking our luggage back to the car...going to the casino for about an hour, going retrieving the luggage again, and waiting to check in, with all the others who obviously refused the bizare $11 early check in fee too. This probably cut more than an hour out of our casino time, which is a very TIGHT casino in regards to their slot machines. BTW...we were all decided this is NOT the casino for us, in regards to slot payment. On the way home, we stopped at Kentucky Downs, and made back some of the money lost in Indiana, which was quite a bit. If you only play slots, I recommend some place like Kentucky Downs, as opposed to the "Harrah's" empire, if you don't want to leave feeling like all you did was feed the machines.
Sorry, the property was nice, clean, and the employees were friendly...but not my choice for a good Casino experience. I have actually heard this from others I knew who visited there before. And yes...it's quite a hike (about 10 minutes from the hotel to the Casino).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Horseshoe to attend a concert held there. The king room was a basic hotel room with a very small fridge but no safe. The bathroom was nice and clean. The walk to the casino was not that far and a non-issue for us. We ate at the Paula Deen Buffet and it was okay. The prime rib was awful and some of the food was kind of generic tasting. They did charge us an extra $11 for checking in earlier than 4:00 which I thought was kind of tacky. In all we had a nice time but would not want to stay any longer than one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEWOOD
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Having stayed at many other Caesars' properties, I have to say this one was average to below average. I am accustomed to Caesars having very comfortable bedding. This was very mediocre. And you are only given one very thin blanket (more like a duvet). This meant I had to turn up the heat and wake up hopelessy dry every morning (but don't drink that $4 water!). I will say the water pressure was excellent. And when we discovered we had a fridge, we picked up some soft drinks the next day and had our own. It is a hike to the casino, but there are moving walkways and nice men in golf carts (inside) to give you a ride. I will say, all the staff here were the most friendly I have ever met. They must have a 10 foot rule and they actually follow it. I never passed a staff member who didn't greet me. And a $2 tip to the valet at check in prompted a response like I'd given him a sack of gold. Not sure about the previous review about rude valet...we were offered help with our luggage and told to take our time getting our stuff. And this was on a Friday afternoon, so it wasn't exactly dead. If I was going to be in the area again, I'd stay here. But I don't think I would make a special trip here again.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms overlook the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bremen, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

First dont book through Hotels.com/Expedia - I booked a room with King size bed - when we arrived on Thursday - was told by Horseshoe that the reservations were not guaranteed for a "certain" room and I had to take a room with two queen size beds. The rooms were clean, refriderator didnt work - but there were two big Dasani water bottles out that we could have enjoyed "warm" at a cost of $4.00. The walk to the resteraunts showed a very "expensive" steak resteraunt, Paula Deen Buffet or the "sports bar Legends" - that night we could not get past the choking odor of "smokers" coming from Legends and the Casino - we opted for Paula Deen - very expensive roughtly 65.00 for two buffets and two bud lights - food was not good - very bland. Tried Legends the next night - better - (once we got past the smokers. Prices still too much. Horseshoe would not offer any type of compensation for the room and neither would Expedia. I will never book at this hotel again and never again through Expedia/Hotel.com.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elizabeth hotels

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana
Address: 11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Southern Indiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.