We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Check-in fee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Horseshoe Southern Indiana to your Saves list
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Early Check-in fee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have traveled to this property several times to enjoy the resort and casino. This was my fifth trip and I drive 230 miles to get there. I arrived Sunday, November 18th around 1:45 pm. I was told there was a $10.00 early check-in fee if you check in before 3:00 pm. This was a new policy implemented on October 1. There was no mention of this when I made the reservation online on October 28. Nothing also on the reservation confirmation page. Other than this bump, the hotel room was clean and included a safe and a refrigerator separate from the mini-bar. The staff throughout the hotel and casino were all very nice and said Hi whenever you passed them. There are two restaurants besides the buffet. I have eaten at Legends twice and the meals were not that good. This time, I ate at Pearl, the Asian restaurant. The food was good. I paid $13 for cashew chicken.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    137
    78
    39
    34
See reviews for
49
182
34
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Visit the above property on October 25 and 26. My wife enjoyed the friendly staff we encountered at the Hotel and casino. This made the trip so much more enjoyable. The breakfast staff were very friendly and professional.

Room Tip: If you go and get a smoking room no one under 18 is allowed in the smoking rooms. I always like to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Horseshoe southern Indiana is about 10 miles away from Louisville KY right on the banks of the river. Beautiful location with hills behind the property.

I am a regular visitor to this property and most of my visits are comped by the casino. The rooms are great, especially the ones with a Jacuzzi. The beds are extremely comfortable and is perfect after a 24 hour gambling session :)

The property has a great swimming pool, very good restaurants etc. I am a big fan of their Paula Deen buffet.

Always ask the front desk for a comped meal before you go to the restaurants. They might just write a comp ticket for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauseon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It may be in the middle of nowhere but the Horseshoe hotel in Elizabeth, IN is an amazing place to getaway, relax and unwind. The rooms are well maintained and the staff is fantastic. I haven't never had a bad experience in the four times that I have stayed there. It has some great resturants near the Casino and Paula Dean's Buffet is a fat man's dream. Even if you are travelling with Children there is enough seperation of from the hotel and casino that it is not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wanted to leave a positive review on this hotel (note this review is for the hotel portion only. I didnt use the casino or many other services offered). Stayed in room 810. My room was very clean, decorated modern and a great experience. Even that area between the head of the bed and the wall was clean. No issues with any creepy-crawlies or such horror that you hear about in other nearby hotels. Only 2 things I noted was that...this is a casino, people come to have a good time and neighbors were loud until 11:30pm. However, you should anticipate that. Also, I found it odd that 'Legends' closed at 11pm on wednesday night and they were ushering people out at 10:55pm. This is a bar, shouldnt it be open until 2am? Other than that. Total great place. Security presence was good. I also want to mention that some people complained about the length of the walk thru the indoor, heated, skywalk. This skywalk had people-movers similar to airports and I did not feel the length of the 'walk' from the hotel to the casino was an issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel rooms a little larger than the norm, clean and reasonably appointed. The internet service at $9.95 per day per device is overpriced. Unfortunately the hotel's location at 1/4 mile walks from the casino and the decent restaurants (except for the hotel snack bar) make staying here for the casino experiences a royal pain. There are other casino hotels much better situated. We will not return to this casino. The staff service is poor at best. The management has abdicated control. When valet parking there was one person to check in approx 7 cars arriving at 4 pm. I am glad we had small rolling bags, as there was no evidence of anyione to assist with bags, and no offer for same. At check out, the valet service was very slow. Several of the valet staff were in the lobby talking and there was only one perosn fetching cars. In addition as we played in the casino, we noticed the staff huddling (hiding) in the washrooms and talking in groups of 4 to 6 persons on each visit to the faculties. This is a poorly run Harrah’s complex! It is the worst of the 11 we have visited thus far!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The room was Okay. Had a nice view of the pond and the hills behind the hotel. The two problems we had, first the sink would not drain. It took engineering about 45 minutes to arrive. Once there it took another 20 minutes to fix. It was nasty, with black stuff coming into the sink as they plunged.
My wife likes to wash her face in the sink, so after that I called and asked for housekeeping. The housekeeper was pleasant and cleaned the sink, faucets, and vanity counter top with disinfectant.
The whole think took about 2 hours.
Secondly, when I tried to check out by phone, the operator didn't answer the phone. I hung on for about 2 or 3 minutes, but no answer. I had to stop by the front desk to check out. I had a late checkout so the tv checkout doesn't work either.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor near elevator, and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elizabeth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horseshoe Southern Indiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Southern Indiana

Address: 11999 Casino Center Drive SE, Elizabeth, IN 47117 (Formerly Caesars Indiana Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > Indiana > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Southern Indiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Horseshoe Southern Indiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Hotel Elizabeth
Horseshoe Southern Indiana Elizabeth
Caesars Indiana Hotel
Caesars Indiana Casino
Caesars In Casino
Elizabeth Indiana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Southern Indiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.