We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Mexican food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Blanca Restaurant

Casa Blanca Restaurant
4616 Indianapolis Blvd, East Chicago, IN 46312-3229
219-397-4151
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in East Chicago
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
East Chicago, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Good Mexican food, nice decorations and the wait staff is very good they don't mind explaining the menu.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprised at unique dish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Casa Blanca has been around for a number of years. The owner is always there. The menu carries a number of traditional Mexican dishes, from Tacos to Mariaches Alambres. One dish that caught my eye was Camarones Thermidor (Shrimp Thermidor), so I orderd it. What a pleasant surprise. Shrimp cooked in a white wine and mushroom cream sauce. The dish was not spicey at all and it was served with Spanish rice and a salad on the plate. You must try this unique for the area dish. They have a full bar and all the favorite Yuppie beers. They also serve Mexico's Premium beer Bohemia , which is one of my favorites. The ambiance is light with a South of the border theme as it should be. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The outside is deceiving!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We found out about this restaurant on a web site. The neighborhood isn't the best, the exterior is nothing to look at- BUT- what a beautiful restaurant inside!! It has Spanish decor with lit murals on the ceiling. The food is authentic, plentiful, and outstanding. The servers are friendly and attentive. We were pleasantly surprised! If you're going to one of the casinos in Indiana, along Lake Michigan- stop here- it's close by. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Indiana
1 review
“Authentic Mexican Restaurant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I am a contrator's Business Development Person. Casa Blanca has the BEST Steak Tocos. In the whole Calumet Region. I have request after request from my customers to bring Tocos and not pizza or Chicken for a lunchion. I usually bring along with the tocos. Rice, Beans, Guacamole, Salsa, Jalapenos and Chips. I have driven from East Chicago to South Bend, to
Reynolds, Indiana to Joliet , Down Town Chicago. Also Any item on their menu is worth the drive no matter how far the drive. The owner if present will greet you in his white shirt and slacks. His custom. So take you wife or the whole family for a unforgetable meal.

Jim Churilla
Amex Nooter
Business Development

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A favorite stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's decor and ambiance are a big part of the fun of eating here. They have great margaritas,and a solid menu of budget priced Mexican meals. The best part for families is that they have many non-Mexican food items on the menu as well. Good service and easy parking. It's been here forever and I always try to stop whenever I'm back in Da Region.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Blanca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa Blanca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Blanca Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.