We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Benchmark by which all others are judged” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Davis House

Davis House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crawfordsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Davis House
Save Saved
You added Davis House to your Saves list
1010 W. Wabash Ave., Crawfordsville, IN 47933   |  
Hotel amenities
Harbor Bluffs, Fl
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The Benchmark by which all others are judged”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have been lodging at the Davis House for several years when traveling to Crawfordsville. Cindy & Steve are far more than the proprietors of a great B&B. It only take a short time and you find yourself with people with whom you would like to remain friends after you leave. There is a full element of luxury that I rarely find in B&B's. It is comfortable throughout. Inviting rooms with terrific beds, beautiful parlor & a formal dining room where Cindy accels as a breakfast chef. I have never found a superior B&B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golliwog2000, Owner at Davis House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
You are too kind! Always a pleasure to host and spend time with you; in fact, please return as soon as possible and bring some Florida warmth with you--we're sitting in 1/2" of ice right now. Thanks so very much for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Crawfordsville, Indiana would not be considered a small town of many attractions. But it is the home of Wabash College, an excellent small liberal arts college (my alma mater); it is close to an outstanding state park, Turkey Run; Purdue University is just 20 miles up the road; it is only about 40 miles from Indianapolis making it within reach of the Indianapolis 500, Colts games…….you get my drift.
It also has an excellent choice for those who wish to avoid cookie-cutter motel/hotels but enjoy staying at a Bread and Breakfast. The Davis House, operated by Frank Golliher (also a Wabash graduate!) and his wife Cindy, is in the top-rank and a good value as well.
The house dates from the 1860’s with the lower floor having the large rooms and high ceilings found in the best built homes of the time. The four guest rooms are upstairs, arranged in such a way that one can easily feel that you are their single guest. But visiting with Frank and Cindy and other guests in the common areas downstairs was one of the real joys of the House. Wine in the evening, very good, quality choices available for breakfast make lingering a temptation before one attends to the business that brought them to this area.
Furnishings are first class with an interesting mix of styles. My bathroom was up-to-date and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable, bed linens top of the line. I can find nothing to criticize and would urge my friends to consider this first if they plan to stay in this area of Indiana.

Room Tip: The four rooms vary in amenities and one should consult their website to make the choice appropriate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golliwog2000, Owner at Davis House, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for all the kind words! That was an especially nice weekend here at Davis House--good mix of people and interests and shows us, once again, the best portion of being in this "business."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Steve and Cindy are fantastic hosts. Their B&B is convenient, extraordinarily clean and well appointed. I've not had a better time in a B&B. We only were able to spend one night but by the end of the following morning, felt like we made some great friends. Steve can tell great stories and Cindy is kind and an excellent cook.
We would return in a heartbeat next time through. And it is very affordable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room, we saw the others and all looked good. We thought Charlies room was real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here in April 2011, and loved the place. The hosts are very friendly, and their place is very conveniently located just a short walk away from Wabash College.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Cindy and Steve are WONDERFUL, we feel like they are old friends. Had a great time talikng with them, The Davis House is beautiful! In the top 3 we Have stayed at, EVER. We will go back! And we did not even know about Wabash College and being an all male school, til we went there......nice town, good Mexican Restaurant in town! Good Antiquing!

Jill and Mark Muller

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We have only praise for this fine B & B which is run by a Wabash alumnus and his wife. It is ideally located for anyone wanting to visit the college. The room and everything in the Inn was spotless. Breakfast was very good though be sure to ask for eggs in advance if you want them.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We were in Crawfordsville for the annual Wabash College alumni weekend (aka "The Big Bash). In prior years we had stayed at the usual suspects (Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn, and the Lew Wallace). This year we tried the Davis House which is about 500 yards from Campus. Steve (Wabash '67) and Cindy were fabulous hosts in their beautifully appointed house. The rooms were decorated with Asian objects which they collected during his assignments in Asia. Our room was very nice and the breakfast was cooked to order. They have an evening social hour which we also enjoyed. This was one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. This is highly recommended for guests who want to be close to the Wabash campus, for the Annual Indiana Covered Bridge festival, etc. We had a wonderful experience and will return again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Davis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davis House

Address: 1010 W. Wabash Ave., Crawfordsville, IN 47933
Location: United States > Indiana > Crawfordsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crawfordsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davis House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.