We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Corydon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Corydon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Corydon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Federal Drive NW, Corydon, IN 47112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corydon
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here as a family traveling for the holiday. The hotel is not too far off the highway though you can't see it from there. It is right in the middle of an area with lots of retail and restaurants so a good stopping point.

The room was nicely sized, not huge but we weren't all crammed in. The pool was warm enough to use and the exercise room was small but had two treadmills and a tv so it worked fine for us.

Interestingly the microwave was too far from the outlet to plug in so we had to do some maneuvering but it worked eventually. Husband and kids walked over to the Culver's in the parking lot and enjoyed their meal there.

No extra perks, not even a paper outside the door for being a Priority Club member.

All in all it was fine and we would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katen P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks for the positive comments. We have three sizes of rooms from standard to oversized two-room Jacuzzi suites. We are conveniently located within walking distance to the 24-hour Wal-Mart and several restaurants. Our guests love to walk after being in the car all day.

We will look into the microwave plug-in and the newspaper delivery. We have newspapers in the Great Room area for guests during breakfast. I will mention this to my staff. Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    28
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
26
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We flew into Indianapolis, rented a car and headed toward Corydon. I had read reviews online, and actually stayed at other Holiday Inn Express locations, so was fairly confident we'd find a similar level of cleanliness etc at the one in Corydon. We got checked in, went to our rooms only to find that both rooms smelled of stale cigarette smoke. My room was so bad that I actually requested to change. The carpets are dirty in hallways and rooms, not sure if this is where the smell is coming from. Beds were pretty hard, but tolerable. On the surface the maid service seemed to do a fair job, however I noticed that there was an odd film on the toilet seat the night we checked in. The next day after being out all day, I returned to my room only to find that the same film was there on the toilet seat - indicating that while I had clean towels, the actual toilet hadn't been wiped down. Overall, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was acceptable, but the cleanliness level was disappointing for this big chain of hotels at this location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katen P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are sorry that the cleanliness of our hotel did not meet your expectations. We have taken steps to rectify the issues indicated. We have also cleaned the carpets in the rooms, hallways, and lobby. We take all complaints seriously and appreciate your concerns regarding our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

After a very long day of driving, found this really nice Holiday Inn Express, Corydon, In. Check in was done quickly and efficiently, staff very friendly, snacks and beverages were in breakfast area(Tuesday evening), room was clean, bed comfortable, tv had great reception, and refrigerator kept drinks cold. Hotel very close to a few restaurants, so evening meal was no problem. This was the second time I have stayed here and plan to do so in the future on my trips thru here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katen P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We value your input and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed one night and found the place to be very nice and the staff very friendly. There are always things that you can find in any motel that might need fixed but nothing here was bad enough to mention!
Its clean, quiet and a nice staff, that sums it up!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katen P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. Please consider us in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

2 out of last 3 times ive stayed there have been overcharged on credit card -stayed 3 days last time 2 on card one cash after checked out found they tried to charge my card again -told by owner he didnt need my business anyway i stay in hotel 300 days a yr and this only happens here

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Moateamtroxell,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It's Corydon, Indiana, so your expectations have to remain appropriate.
That said, this Holiday Inn Express still comes in lacking some real service and comfort basics.

The below facts are facts. Do with them what you will. Whatever "letter from the manager" that follows this review is pointless unless it states that the carpets and wallpaper have been replaced throughout.

Stay
1. The building itself (layout, common areas, parking, location, etc.,) is welcoming and comfortable.

Not to Stay
1. Three of the rooms in my party (we had 6 total) were not cleaned and ready when we arrived at 5pm. One was still not ready when we left for dinner at 7. It appears this is a recurring theme.

2. Some "No Smoking" rooms consist of rooms that were smoking rooms for years before they put the "No Smoking" sign on the door. The smell is absolutely stifling, and I'm in no way a prude. It is impossible to sleep the night without choking, unless the window is wide open and you get a breeze.

Other than that, the hotel is on par with what one might expect from a small town H.I. Express.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Silent Crow,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are a group of bicyclist that traveled to Corydon In to spend 4 days cycling the beautiful hills and roads of that area. We reserved 10 rooms. On arrival there was a sign that welcomed us to the area. The hotel had a welcome gift for us and arranged for us all to be in the same area. We were told we should use the elevator to get the bikes upstairs. The HI staff also offered some of us the use of shop towels to clean our bikes. (We wouldn’t have used the towels). Shortly after check in a member of the staff contacted me to find out what time we were departing for the morning ride so they could have plenty of food for us. That was just over the top. Awesome hotel, management, front desk and room staff. We will keep this as our official hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katen P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We were glad to have you at our hotel and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Corydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Corydon

Address: 249 Federal Drive NW, Corydon, IN 47112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Corydon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Corydon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a virtual tour of the hotel. Holiday Inn Express Hotel, Corydon In. is a Quality Excellence Award-winning hotel, located off I-64. Take exit 105, and then turn right on In. St Rd.135. The hotel is located 25 minutes from downtown Louisville, Ky, Louisville International Airport and the Kentucky Fairgrounds and Expo Center. The hotel is within walking distance of the 24 hour Walmart Super Center. We are 2 miles from Historic Downtown Corydon. Take a tour of Indiana's first State capital, enjoy the local antique malls, and don't miss Magdalena s Southern Hospitality home town restaurant and gift shop on the town square. Our hotel is conveniently located near several area restaurants, including Cracker Barrel, O'Charley's, Ryan s Steakhouse and Culvers. We are also within close proximity to a variety of great attractions, with the hotel just 15 miles from Wyandotte Caves, Marengo Caves, Cave Country Canoes, and 13 miles from Squire Boon Caverns. If you're in the mood for a movie, the hotel is next to the Corydon Cinema. Just across State Rd. 135 kids and adults are sure enjoy the new Golf Shores Fun Center which offers an 18-hole indoor black-light course, arcade, snack bar and outdoor miniature golf. If you're looking for more fun, try your good fortune at Indiana s Riverboat Casino just 45 min. away for the hotel. Visit Holiday Inn Express Hotel Corydon, In and Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Corydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Corydon Hotel Corydon
Holiday Inn Corydon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Corydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.