We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Corydon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Corydon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Corydon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Federal Drive NW, Corydon, IN 47112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corydon
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Did the job.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We chose HIE on the drive when we realized we were too tired to drive to Louisville. We called and fortunately they did have availability. They had one handicapped room available. Not a problem. We booked it and got in around 12:30am.

The hotel staff were nice and friendly. We got a really good rate and were checked in very quickly. The main downside was our room was located directly across from the pool on ground level and smelled very badly of pool chemicals. Once we got settled, I used my comforter and created a seal around the hotel room door. It was hard to get used to the chemicals, but by morning the AC had done a good job of filtering out what was left in the room. I am sure if we stayed on the second floor, we would have had a nicer experience.

The morning breakfast was HI standard. It was clean and refreshed often. Really, the hotel staff are what make this place a nice stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor or the wing opposite of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Ellen R,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the swimming pool smell. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    28
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
26
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riner, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and children were checked into an unclean room late at night on a roadtrip to kc. No housekeeping on staff at night and hotel was full . Front desk refused to clean room themself because they had to stay put in registration area .Refrigerator had food left in it, hair in bath tub for my 3 and 9 year olds to sit in when taking their bath, and sheets not changed over from previous occupants. Gm is a joke.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear jtatum31,

Thank you for leaving a feedback. We welcome feedback as it assist us in our never ending task to better ourselves and improve things for our guests.

I am sorry to learn that your experience was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the level of cleanliness fell below your standards and deeply regret the inconvenience and dissatisfaction this has caused you.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I booked using priority club(PC) points for one night. On the hotel web site and the e mail conformation everything said check in was 2:00. We arrived around 2:30/2:45 only to find that our room wasn't ready. I said no problem my family and I will get something to eat and come back. Now it's 3:30 in the afternoon and there are still no rooms ready! The whole while there are 2 ladies behind the front desk talking to each other. The guy helping me asked one of them a question, so I asked if that was the manager and he told me yes, and the housekeeping manager. They didnt say or do anything to try and help me. Also if you're a Platinum member or above, don't expect anything from here, not even a bottle of water!
Other than that, the room was clean, hotel is in a great location, walking distance to many resturants and wal mart. However I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear David D,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am really sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

While I understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you're staying in Corydon, this is a nice choice. The rooms are clean and modern. The staff friendly.
Beds - B (a little old, but still good)
Shower - A (the grab bar was placed properly)
Towels - A (very fluffy and nice)
WiFi - Good and free
Breakfast - B (is it too much to put some healthy alternatives out?)
Pool - didn't use it, but it looked small and univiting
Price - sure seemed expensive for such a rural area
Elevator seems to be an afterthought. It's tucked away by the housekeeping supplies.

Room Tip: Try to get on first floor. Elevator situation is awkward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday Inn E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Christymi,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that you had a good experience with our staff and rooms. We are currently updating the mattresses in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again--and we'd be happy to put you on the first floor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The pool was the main reason we chose this hotel, and the ratings here on trip advisor. Definitely we were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly, and the amenities were fine, clean, etc. The breakfast was not the nicest, I was hoping for a few healthier items of fruit but there was only bananas and red apples (besides the usual eggs, sausage, gravy and biscuits, pancakes, yogurt and cereal).
Regardless, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday Inn E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ryno511,
We have recently updated our pool and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed using it! We encourage our staff to strive for excellence, both in customer service as well as cleanliness of the rooms. It's great that you were able to experience that. I am sorry that our breakfast was not up to your standards. We try to have something for everyone, and I regret that we did not offer what you would prefer. I hope that you will come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel to be very clean . The staff were very friendly and helpful . The free breakfast was very good with a good supply of hot food . Would definitely stay again . There are many places to eat close to the hotel and the Walmart next to the hotel was very convenient .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday Inn E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
First of all, We would like to Thank You for choosing to stay with us and appreciate the review. Here at the Holiday Inn Express Corydon we take pride in having a high standard of cleanliness and friendly service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nicely updated hotel... great wow factor when we walked in. Very clean-- HUGE rooms and bathrooms, comfy bed and lots of pillows. It was very quiet-- almost heard nothing the whole night. Breakfast was awesome, great selection. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday Inn E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Corydon, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear ProfessorV,
We've worked very hard to keep our hotel updated and stylish. Your response to our lobby is exactly what we hope for! We're happy to hear that you were satisfied with the cleanliness, quiet, and breakfast. Thank you so much for staying with us and we can't wait to have you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Corydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Corydon

Address: 249 Federal Drive NW, Corydon, IN 47112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Corydon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Corydon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a virtual tour of the hotel. Holiday Inn Express Hotel, Corydon In. is a Quality Excellence Award-winning hotel, located off I-64. Take exit 105, and then turn right on In. St Rd.135. The hotel is located 25 minutes from downtown Louisville, Ky, Louisville International Airport and the Kentucky Fairgrounds and Expo Center. The hotel is within walking distance of the 24 hour Walmart Super Center. We are 2 miles from Historic Downtown Corydon. Take a tour of Indiana's first State capital, enjoy the local antique malls, and don't miss Magdalena s Southern Hospitality home town restaurant and gift shop on the town square. Our hotel is conveniently located near several area restaurants, including Cracker Barrel, O'Charley's, Ryan s Steakhouse and Culvers. We are also within close proximity to a variety of great attractions, with the hotel just 15 miles from Wyandotte Caves, Marengo Caves, Cave Country Canoes, and 13 miles from Squire Boon Caverns. If you're in the mood for a movie, the hotel is next to the Corydon Cinema. Just across State Rd. 135 kids and adults are sure enjoy the new Golf Shores Fun Center which offers an 18-hole indoor black-light course, arcade, snack bar and outdoor miniature golf. If you're looking for more fun, try your good fortune at Indiana s Riverboat Casino just 45 min. away for the hotel. Visit Holiday Inn Express Hotel Corydon, In and Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Corydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Corydon Hotel Corydon
Holiday Inn Corydon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Corydon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.