We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kintner House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corydon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kintner House Inn
Save
You added Kintner House Inn to your Saves list
101 S. Capitol Ave., Corydon, IN 47112   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Corydon B&B and Inns
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed the history of the inn, the hospitality, and the wonderful breakfast. The innkeeper treats you as family. The location in "downtown " corydon is perfect for walking to most attractions. We will be returning!


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We first visited the Kinter House more than 12 years ago when my sister got married, Our whole family was there . We have visited the Kintner more than any other B & B. The location is ideal for us to break up our trip when we travel down 'south'. We live near Chicago so it is about halfway to Atlanta. The hostesses are very nice and they usually engage the guests are breakfast time so it's not so uncomfortable sitting with strangers. We usually stay on the first floor, although all the rooms are quite charming and each is decorated differently. We will definitley return again!!

Room Tip: Go onto their website you can preiview each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great B&B...lots of charm and character. We enjoyed the period-furnished (1870s) rooms...a step back in time, but with all the modern amenities. Corydon Indiana is a wonderful place to visit to get-away from busy life.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the B&B if you are bothered by any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We took a weekend trip to Corydon, IN to visit some of the site, bufallo farm, glass factory, Squire Boone Caverns, train ride, etc.. and stay at the Kitner House. We stayed in a room on the second floor towards the back of the house so we were not disturbed by the street noise. I especially liked the drawing done by famous guest that have visited and stayed in the past. It was nice to walk to dinner across the street and afterwards walk back and sit on the front porch in the cool evening. Would I stay here again, yea, yes I would!

Room Tip: Reading a bad review does not mean you will experience the same. We all have different taste. Have y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Being a veteran of the bed & breakfast experience and overnight stays in similar type places, I was rather disappointed and found the place quite unremarkable. If you have never been to a bed and breakfast before then perhaps you might enjoy Kintner House Inn. However if you're looking for a quiet room with nice amenities, an interesting place with a good story, or just a good breakfast look elsewhere. There are 15 rooms in this old 3-story building on the corner of a busy intersection. The floors creak loud even for a historic house and you hear the guests like they're practically in your room. Most of the rooms are quite small. We stayed in the School Master's room (one of the supposedly better/more expensive rooms I guess just because it had a king bed) and it felt and looked like a large closet in the attic. Aside from the bed, there was just one comfortable rocking chair to sit in. The shower head was hard to control and so was the water temperature. The bathroom was small and in general very basic. There were no DVDs or VHS tapes in the room, so bring your own if you plan on watching something. We were given an 8am breakfast time without choice. At breakfast if you're a borderline vegetarian you might actually like this, but I found fruit, hash browns, and egg casserole (it supposedly had ham in it somewhere) quite unsatisfactory when I was paying the peak fee for what was an already greatly overpriced room for the size, quality, and amenities. The building goes back to 1873, which isn't all that old compared to many b & bs. More significant is the "current" Kintner House isn't the original with the real historical significance. The original burned in 1871 and the present day Kintner House is pretty much just another inn from that era without much of a story and is rather generic. I can see why it's voted highly for being in downtown Corydon, IN when considering the lack of direct competition, but if one invests the research they will find much better and more interesting options within a 50-75 mile radius of the Louisville, KY/southern Indiana metro area. If you haven't been to Corydon before, enjoy historic small town charm, and have never stayed in an old house b&b, this might suffice. For those that have experience with this sort of thing - keep looking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

This B&B is overall very good, and has many interesting and period-correct furnishings for the 19th Century decor, making anyone who is a fan of history or antiques happy. The Inn is located within walking distance to a number of nice shops, restaurants, and historical tours in Corydon. Pros: Very nice staff, clean rooms, and tons of character. Close proximity to O'Bannon Woods State Park, Squire Boone Caverns, etc. Cons: Pillows (in the Presidential Suite at least) were a little flat; wireless access not really a possiblity - I was unable to log onto the Inn's wi-fi - password was not available by staff; stained wing chair in our suite, needing reupholstering; traffic noise on front rooms can be an issue. This Inn is on the main street through town, which has a lot of traffic. Consider booking a room more towards the back of the Inn if you are a light sleeper. Breakfasts were overall good - sausage/potato casserole, fresh fruit salads, breads, cereals, etc., along with a wide selection of hot tea, etc. Same breakfast choices on 2nd morning.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

Although not a fan of B&B's, this was the closest accommodation available to the O'Bannon Woods State Park we could find. We did not stay for any of the breakfasts, although they smelled very good. If you love antiques, you will no doubt love this B&B. There are 13 rooms loaded with them. However, the bed clothing is worn. Ours had actual holes in it. Wallpaper is peeling off in many of the rooms in a very noticable way. Also one night our room was so hot we could barely stand it. The temperature in each room is controlled at the main desk, and the poor woman on duty that evening didn't seem to have a clue how to handle it. Our mattress was old and worn out and was terrible for sleeping. There seems to be a general lack of maintenance to the facility, as the bathroom faucet leaked as well. Although "cute", the claw foot tube was quite awkward for showering. You can also hear anytime anyone walks around at night with the squeaky floors throughout. The place seems to be staffed with older women, some of them quite congenial, others a bit on the grumpy side.

  • Liked — Wide selection of lovely antiques throughout
  • Disliked — Poor quality mattress
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corydon
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Corydon
Hampton Inn Corydon
#1 of 5 in Corydon
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Corydon Inn
Super 8 Corydon Inn
#2 of 5 in Corydon
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Corydon
Comfort Inn Corydon
#4 of 5 in Corydon
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Corydon
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn Corydon
Baymont Inn Corydon
#5 of 5 in Corydon
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
12.2 mi away
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintner House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintner House Inn

Address: 101 S. Capitol Ave., Corydon, IN 47112
Location: United States > Indiana > Corydon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Corydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kintner House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.