We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm x travel agent(AAA 7 yrs)stay here very frequently!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2480 Jonathan Moore Pike, I-65 at Iindiana 46, Columbus, IN 47201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Columbus)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
1 review
“I'm x travel agent(AAA 7 yrs)stay here very frequently!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Facility is superb! Very clean, personal yet professional staff. If something wrong in the least they will make it right. I would book groups weddings, sports, family reunions.etc. banquet rooms are great!! They're a cut above!!! Top mgt on down they are a team that aims to please!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your nice comments about your recent stay here at the Clarion.

We take great pride in our facility here and our number one goal is Guest Satisfaction.

I am glad that our staff here was able to provide you with excellent customer service and we hope that when you are in the area that you will decide to stay with us here at the Clarion again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    49
    36
    31
    11
See reviews for
61
28
5
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend here, using it as a base to explore Nashville and Brown County. The hotel is gorgeous--full of salvaged pieces from historic buildings in the area. The rooms are clean, well maintained, and comfy. However, the bathrooms are TINY; the sink is outside the shower/toilet area, which is helpful, since that area is smaller than an average closet.

The pool/entertainment area is perfect. A word of warning, though: it's noisy! I was surprised at how quickly it quieted down after hours. There's everything from ping pong to mini golf.

Overall, I liked this hotel. I'll just ask for a room NOT on the ground floor next to the pool next time. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

I agree with you that the bathrooms are tiny and maybe sometime in the future we can see about making some changes to them, but right now they are small, but clean, which is really the important thing.

The pool area can become very loud at times, but the hotel does have quiet hours from 11pm to 7am everyday, so if you are looking for a more quiet area, then please make sure to ask for a room in the tower section of the hotel.

Once again, thanks for the nice comments about the hotel and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger, Kentucky
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I attended a conference at the hotel and was very pleased. The lobby was designed to look like storefronts from an old town. It's not a new idea, but was well done. The conference price for the rooms was very nice, the meals served were quite tasty, and the hotel staff was helpful. The hotel is located quite close to Columbus' charming downtown area. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We have recently changed our dining menu and are now offering daily lunch and drink specials.

Chef Troy Mathews is always working with his staff to perfect their skills when it comes to the high quality of food that the hotel provides to our guests.

Our hotel is quite unique. We take pride in that and once again thank you for choosing to stay with Clarion Hotel and Conference Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werchter, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel during a business trip and found it just average. The rooms are okay and have the basic features, but for this price I would expect more value. The room was close to the pool, so I could smell the typical odor. There are other rooms further from the pool, try getting one of those.
Breakfast is also simple and gets you through the day. We had one dinner in the restaurant and that blackened mahi was superb.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for your comments. The smell of chlorine and/or other pool chemicals is sometimes present in the rooms surrounding the pool area. The hotel does have a dehumidifier in the pool area that helps to alleviate most of the smell and I have made note to speak with Maintenance about this.

The hotel provides a much larger than normal selection of breakfast items in comparision to other hotel chains. We are always listening to our guests about their ideas for improvement when it comes to adding or subtracting current items from the breakfast menu.

Once again, thank you for your comments. They will be discussed with the Management team so that future improvements can be made for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for the USSSA baseball world series and all the families enjoyed it. We all had rooms by the pool which were clean and comfortable. The noise level tends to be high, however when the pool closes it gets some what quiet. I recommend one of the suites. They are newly updated and beautiful. The breakfast buffet is fine as long as you do not eat it everyday because it is for the most part the same thing. Their hotel menu is great except for the pizza. The staff was great and their sales manager was exceptional. Our team plans to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Suites are beautiful. Avoid outside rooms. Rooms by the pool nice, convenient however a little lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We appreciate the nice comments that you made concerning your recent visit to the hotel. The noise level around the pool can get loud at times when there are a lot of guests out in this area enjoying themselves. The hotel does have quiet hours from 11pm to 7am and the pool does not open again 9am, so that the guests staying in rooms surrounding the pool are not disturbed. The hotel prides itself on great customer service and we appreciate your business and are glad to hear that you will return to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had our family reunion in Columbus, Indiana, so we booked a large block of rooms here. The rooms were very comfortable. There were a couple of our party who had some plumbing issues in their rooms, but maintenance was good about fixing them. Since we booked a lot of rooms, they also provided a gathering room for us, which was wonderful for us to be able to spend time together as a family.

The beds were very comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy that our staff was able to provide you with an additonal room where you could enjoy spending time with your family. Sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the plumbing during your stay, but also glad to know that once again our staff was able to fix everything and let you get back to enjoying your stay. We hope that when you are in the area again that you will choose to stay at the Clarion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked a group for a local softball tourney at this hotel. We booked double bed rooms, but received king rooms and were told cots weren't available at that time. We did eventually receive a cot after begging. Not everyone on our team was so lucky. Half our families received breakfast vouchers, half did not. When we questioned it, we were told it was due to us using an outside booking agency, even though all rooms were booked exactly the same. Very dissatisfied with exterior rooms. Had we known we would not be on the inside of the hotel we would not have booked here for safety reasons. Room was ok. Not overly clean or dirty. Simply average. Dated. Pool was nice. It is summer though, so an outdoor pool would have been nice. Due to exterior rooms we will be booking a different hotel for our next tourney.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadams8, Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your recent visit. I agree that the sales agent that you worked with should have informed you about the fact that our hotel does have exterior rooms. I apologize that you did not receive the room type that you booked, that enough additional cots were not available and that half the families with the tourney did not receive breakfast coupons. I do know that if we have ball teams that book a certain room type and it is not available that additional cots can be ordered in advance, if the Sales person at the hotel is notified. As for the breakfast coupons, it depends on how the sales contract is setup, but generally speaking all ball teams receive breakfast coupons. It appears that the lines of communication between our staff and the contact for your organization may have been insufficient. The hotel plays host to a large variety of sports organizations during the year and unfortunately we fell short in being able to provide your organization with the level of superior service that our hotel in known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2480 Jonathan Moore Pike, I-65 at Iindiana 46, Columbus, IN 47201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Columbus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus Hotel Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.