We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel in small town America” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Brown St, Columbus, IN 47201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel in small town America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We attended a conference in Columbus, Indiana, and were amazed to find such a snazzy, boutique hotel like the Indigo in the middle of small town America. While part of a chain, each Hotel Indigo has a personality all of its own. This one was art deco-y goodness at its best featuring works of local artists and a furry ambassador named Miles (a bishon) to greet you at the door while he lazes about the lobby with his chew toy. You can even take a fish bowl with a creatively-named beta with you up to your room. We chose Opi who was a lovely companion.

We were upgraded to a king room that was spacious and extremely comfortable. The bed was heavenly and the room was immaculately clean. The bathroom fixtures were unique and trendy and the large shower had nice Aveda products.

The bar area/restaurant offered quick service and drinks and food at a reasonable price. We found everyone on the staff that we interacted with to be friendly, helpful, and most courteous.

For an off the beaten path fun hotel experience, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    36
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
75
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moro, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed here 1-1/2 months ago for a wedding & liked it so much we came back for Valentine's weekend. The small city is ranked in the top 10 architecturally significant cities in the US. - much to see here. The boutique style hotel is located in walking distance to many of the important buildings and public art, as well as restaurants and shopping and across the street from a large city park. The hotel is distinctly modern, with hardwood floors throughout, and a zen-like, quiet atmosphere. The lobby is bright and colorful, and good design is evident throughout. There is a a cute little Bichon "Miles" who is the resident "dogbassador", There is a restaurant/bar on site, and though we only had breakfast, and it was quite good. The fitness center is large and has an amazing variety/quality of equipment available. The pool is standard size, but again the colors are bright and cheerful and the hot tub is in the signature nautilus shape. The rooms have VERY comfortable beds with comfy linens. As it was Valentine's weekend, our maid transformed our towels into gorgeous kissing swans, as well as a swan in the shower, just like on a cruise! Colors are attractive throughout. The bathroom has a large spa-like shower with a stool and Aveda products. When we checked into our room, soft music was playing on the CD player/clock. The rooms have a large mural wall, flat-panel tv, and a tassimo coffee maker. The suites have a very large bath with tub and separate shower as well as microwave/refrig in a separate sitting/living area. Although this is part of a chain, beautiful design and prompt, cheerful service in this moderately priced hotel set it far apart from the rest of the cookie-cutter boring hotels.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, IN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

I LOVE this hotel. I wish my own room was that great. We stayed in a suite which was huge, and had the BEST shower. The beds are so comfy and they have Keurig coffee makers there which are awesome!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

This hotel is worth driving out of the way for and totally unexpected in its small town midwest location. The decor is bright and leading-edge contemporary, and they seem to have thought of everything a person like me appreciates and usually doesn't get: A friendly dog in the lobby, the usual hotel messages expressed in haiku, the TV automatically set to PBS, no-charge room service, a large bathroom, plenty of space for luggage in the room, a bench in the shower, super-comfortable bed, decent food with some healthy choices, containers of umbrellas and snow scrapers near the front door, and all at generic interstate chain hotel prices. We truly hated to leave.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, KY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a getaway weekend fairly close by to where we live in the Great Cincinnati area and we decided to take in some Christmas shopping in Nashville, IN. We choose to stay in nearby Columbus after checking the TripAdvisor reviews for this hotel. It was the perfect choice. This is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in.

Even from the outside you know this hotel is something different with the large graphic art panels that adorn the building. The building is such a good fit for Columbus, which is known as a "veritable museum of modern architecture." The contemporary design of the building and its décor were a welcome change from your usual hotel fare.

The lobby is large and spacious and as some of the photos reflect, quite striking. As many reviewers have mentioned, Miles, the hotel dog is there to greet you if you wish. I admit to having had some trepidation about the hotel, since it accepts pets. We are dog owners but it has generally been my experience that hotels that take dogs aren’t always the nicest places. But this hotel is in fact quite clean and its hardwood floors and clean contemporary décor really highlights that. There is carpet in the hallways to the rooms, but the rooms themselves all have hardwood floors.

Some of the Hotel Indigo highlights are: the vibrant colors used throughout the hotel, ‘a haiku for you’ sprinkled on various printed materials in the hotel, a very nice business center set up right next to the lobby desk, a health center and pool and a great whirlpool with strong jets and good temperature, mood music playing in your room when you arrive, a very large spacious shower with a teak bench and fish bowls with fish such as Mr. Fin that you can take to your room.

We had breakfast at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised by the good food and reasonable prices. We selected a white chocolate chip/raspberry scone (unusual shape and more like a big cookie than a scone, but very good) French toast with strawberries and cream cheese filling, and a breakfast quesadilla and everything tasted great.

We were so impressed with Hotel Indigo, we are already planning to return to this summer with family. And we will for sure be looking for other Hotel Indigos on future trips to other areas of the country.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were very pleased with Hotel Indigo in Columbus. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and the rooms were stylish and clean. A much different experience than your standard hotel room. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My husband and I both enjoyed our stay very much. The decor was very nice, beds were comfortable, didn't hear much outside noise. It was a very relaxing getaway. In the future we will look for a Hotel Indigo in whatever city we are visiting.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown

Address: 400 Brown St, Columbus, IN 47201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll know as soon as you walk through the doors of the Hotel Indigo and are greeted by Miles, our doggy ambassador, this boutique hotel defies convention. We feature unique design at every turn, without compromising your comfort. As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Award winner, the Hotel Indigo in Columbus, Indiana is a sophisticated, full-service hotel in downtown Columbus, IN designed to create a sense of peace and serenity for all guests. Our boutique hotel is ideal for travelers who desire an escape from the ordinary but value the traditional hospitality and services of a standard hotel. Our luxury Columbus, IN accommodations offer quick access to area attractions such as the Columbus Museum of Art and Design, the Mill Race Park and Architectural Tours of Columbus, Indiana. Our luxury hotel is also near prime shopping spots, including the Edinburgh Premium Outlet Mall, the Exit 76 Antique Mall and great boutique shopping on Washington Street. Travelers looking for lodging in Columbus, Indiana can enjoy a relaxing stay at this hotel, located near many corporations including Cummins, Toyota, Irwin Financial, Enkei and Impact Forge. Our boutique hotel in downtown Columbus, IN provides free high-speed, wireless Internet access, IHG Rewards points, a heated, indoor pool and well-appointed rooms with modern decor, making it a true oasis for the business traveler. While lodging at our pet friendly hotel in Columbus,IN, you and your four-legged family are always welcome. Savor a cup of Copper Moon locally sourced coffee or have dinner at Gallery Bar and Bistro. Pamper yourself and inspire your passions at the Hotel Indigo in Columbus, Indiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Columbus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.