We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Hawaiian BBQ pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zwanzig Z Pizza

Zwanzig Z Pizza
1038 Lafayette Ave, Columbus, IN 47201
(812) 376-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 119 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Elizabeth, Indiana
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love the Hawaiian BBQ pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our 3rd visit in the last six months. We were looking forward to their delicious breadsticks, Hawaiian BBQ pizza, and their Honey Wheat beer. We were disappointed only by the latter. They were out of the Honey Wheat :(. I almost cried when notified of that fact. We ordered a sampler, and decided on the blueberry. It was good, but not what we had been looking forward to. I was told that they hoped to be bottling their beer soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    41
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Apparently there are not quite as many Italians in Indiana as there is in Vegas. But they did well none the less.

Started with a salad. Fresh lettuce and other toppings were high quality. Bagged (Kraft?) dressing but it was OK.

The pizza was great except the sauce was a bit bland for my liking and could have used about half again as many herbs. The toppings were of good quality and the cheese was not overly greasy. Crust was medium thickness so a compromise between Chicago and NY styles. Very good left over both cold and out of a hotel microwave.

I tried a local brew IPA. I bit light as well but nice malt to hop balance. Did a good job cleansing the palate between bites of pizza.

Lots of families which is understandable given the value and quality. Service is counter so it's not a date night kind of place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCordsville, Indiana
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good Pizza, But a Few Drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Their pizza is quite good. The cheese isn't greasy, and the amount of toppings was ample. A 14" combination pizza and two drinks were $21 plus change. You order from the counter, then take your order number and your drink cups to whichever table or booth you pick. Then your order is delivered to your table. the pizza is still on the pan, and it is placed on an iron stand. The drinks are self service and there is a good selection of Coke products. But the booths and chairs are all wooden and harder than a church pew. Plus, it was a littly drafty and cold in there. And there were a surprising number of kids in the place, making it rather noisy. There were some large screen TVs scattered around, but it was hard to hear with all the noise. An improvement would be a little more customer service, such as, having a manager walk around and check on customers. It's debatable whether I'd go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite pizza place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is our family's first choice for a dinner out. I love the way they have designed their new building. The pizza is great and you can the difference between other pizzas instantly. The best way to describe Zwanzigs is quality. They hold a high standard to the quality of ingredients that they use and it is obvious. Zwanzigs attracts all crowds and it blends smoothly. The staff is great and they are quick to keep the place clean and ready for the next customer.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vernon, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great pizza/breadsticks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nice place to go for two or a group. Pizza is very good, salads are great, and the breadsticks are very good. Have had some of their wine also. Good service as well. Recommend it ofen, and have taken others here as well. We order lunch often from here for work.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zwanzig Z Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Zwanzig Z Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zwanzig Z Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.