We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Average for a Choice Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Columbia City

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Columbia City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn Columbia City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 West Connexion Way, Columbia City, IN 46725   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Columbia City
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Little Average for a Choice Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

As a Choice Hotels rewards member, was able to walk-in and get a room during a mini-storm. Only availability was 2nd floor, and no elevator! If they had one, I wasn't directed to it. Smoke-Free hotel now, but the stale smell of cigarette smoke was prevalent in the halls and in the room. Front desk clerk was courteous and professional. Room was clean, and when I saw the sign during the storm, I knew I would get a good nights' sleep as with all the Choice hotels I have visited. Can't comment on breakfast, I didn't stay to sample.

Room Tip: Since I could only get a room on the second floor, I would presume the 1st floor rooms are more desi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest - thank you for taking the time to post a review. Hopefully we will see you again when you decide to come back through this area. We are a smoke free hotel per Indiana law. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
9
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesnee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Excellent Staff: friendly, accomodating, cheerful, knowledgeabley helpful. Pool was great temperature as well as hot tub--as a pool owner, I could tell the chemicals were monitored and well maintained...Room AC was quiet, very new. Was pleased to see the room's lights were on auto-monitored sensors. Bed and linens were clean, smelled fine, and bed and pillows were firm and new.

Room Tip: ask for second floor so you don't experience "big-foot" syndrome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear H Winston - thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to hosting again when you decide to come back through this area. We do have new beds and bedding and glad you had a good night's rest. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks for business. The staff was awesome! Very friendly and very kind. Kelcey was outstanding and Kelly was great! Would stay here again if ever in that area. The only problem I had was that housekeeping would just throw the blanket back over messed up sheets and would make the beds right. Other than that, our stay was great!

Room Tip: Stay here! Its the best one in that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Chris - thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to hosting again when you decide to come back through this area. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We found the room clean and In working order. We had a nice size refrigerator and this is always a plus. We were up and running early so we were not able to sample the breakfast. All in all quite comfortable and we will stay again when in the area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Shafo - thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to hosting again when you decide to come back through this area. The hotel is definitely comfy and quiet and we have a great staff. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I read the reviews before staying here, so I was expecting a really clean room, but I was disappointed. The wall behind the nightstand was really dirty and there was excrement of some kind of animal on the carpet (also behind the nightstand). There was a q-tip on the carpet next to the bed (I don't know if it was used or not). The hand towels were damp and I hope it was because they didn't dry them well and not because they had been used. I should have called the front desk, but it was late and we were tired. Breakfast looked really good but tasted really bad (biscuits were stale, scrambled eggs did not taste good, coffee didn't taste good either). The hotel has an indoor pool that looked nice and there was a small fridge in the room, which is always handy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest - thank you for taking the time to post a review. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations and that you will provide another opportunity to host again when you decide to come back through this area. The hotel is definitely comfy and quiet and we have a great staff. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

There are not many hotel options in the stretch of Highway 30 between Fort Wayne and Valparaiso in northern Indiana. But this Quality Inn was a nice choice and about 1/2 the price of similar hotels in larger towns like Warsaw and Plymouth. I'm sure that people shy away from it because of the low nightly rates ("If it's that low, it must be bad."), but don't.

It's probably a refurbished property, but it was done with typical Hoosier craftmanship and the materials used are better than average. The staff were pleasant and helpful, even for a late night arrival. The carpet in the hallway was attractive and clean. The rooms were the perfect size for two people. With a small fridge and fluffy towels, I could have stayed here a week or more and been comfortable. Everything was clean and seemingly new. I also liked that the lightbulbs were all compact fluorescents: they take a bit to warm up, but probably save tons of energy in a hotel. And to get free wifi is an added bonus.

I would, however, advise you to get breakfast somewhere else. The coffee served at Quality Inns, in my experience, is horrible. Sorry, it's true. The rest of the fare is average at best with nothing special or noteworthy. Not uncommon in most American hotels, but honestly, you can do better.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to lobby if you can: it's a really long hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest - thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad you found value and a good night stay at our renovated hotel which is definitely comfy and quiet and we have a great staff. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a small group of friends for 2 nights. We use this hotel because they allow dogs, have an indoor heated pool and serve breakfast. What seals the deal for us is being allowed to use the breakfast area for playing cards in the afternoon and evening. The rooms are basic but comfortable. There's a small refrigerator/microwave in each of the rooms. There's a computer/printer area near the lobby and the WIFI works in individual rooms. Breakfast was adequate with sausage, make-it-yourself waffles, juice, cereal, instant oatmeal, yogurt, fruit and scrambled eggs. No, it's not fancy but it will suffice. The hotel is located very near a Walmart and other strip mall type of stores. It's about a 20 minute drive from the Wagon Wheel Theater in Warsaw. The best thing about this hotel-the staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest - thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad you found value and a good night stay at our renovated hotel which is definitely comfy and quiet and we have a great staff. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Columbia City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Columbia City

Address: 701 West Connexion Way, Columbia City, IN 46725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Columbia City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Columbia City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Columbia City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn Columbia City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Columbia City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.