We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the best you can do. Not bad for $60.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Columbia City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Columbia City to your Saves list
Quality Inn Columbia City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 West Connexion Way, Columbia City, IN 46725   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Columbia City
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“It's the best you can do. Not bad for $60.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The room was clean and decently appointed. It's not fancy or well decorated, but for $60, I'll take comfortable and clean.

Wifi was fast. Credit there. Parking free and easy, also good.

Room had a bar fridge, small microwave, tiny coffee maker and some coffee supplies. Luggage stand present.

NO CLOCK! I hate that. Unless you consider the one from the microwave, but I don't.

The beds (2 doubles) were fine, pillow selection good, sheets and blankets good.

Shower hot, water pressure good. Yucky, thin, scratchy towels, hair dryer had pathetic "blow".

Lighting decent, outlets findable and useable.

Staff was never behind the desk. They always showed up eventually though. Did not like having to actually check out. I prefer the bill under the door. Didn't happen.

Didn't use the pool, but one was present and seemed to be in good working order.

Breakfast was pretty terrible, I should have just gotten toast or cereal. Still though, it was present, it was hot and it was included in the rate.

The AC fan covered the traffic noise. I slept as well as one does in a motel room.

Room Tip: 108 was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest: I appreciate you taking the time to post an unbiased reply. I am surprised you did not find an alarm clock as we have them in all rooms. We have a 3rd party service that does a great job maintaining our Wi-Fi so our guests are never troubled with Internet issues. Thank you and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
9
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice hotel. Rooms were average and clean. Very friendly staff. The pool was left open beyond closing time. Great for late arrivals. Location was very good. Easy to get to. Close to restaurants and shopping. Would recommend if need to stop driving for the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest: We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We are nice quiet franchised hotel right off US30 and fully renovated last year. We strive to maintain brand standards and exceed guest expectations. Thank you and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Very inexpensive hotel by today's standards, but Columbia City is not exactly a tourist mecca. The room was adequate, especially given the price, but still reeked of smoke even though the hotel is now smoke-free. It will probably take a long time to rid the premises of the smell. I think the odor in my room was partly from the AC filters. Two queen beds, small flat screen TV, small microwave, small refrigerator, work desk + chair, wall AC unit. Sink separate from bathroom/shower. My room was on the north end of the building and could still hear the traffic on busy Hwy 30 (to the south) over the fan of the AC, though not terribly obnoxious. Not many choices in Columbia City for lodging, but may still be the best even with the smell and traffic noise.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest - we appreciate your candid feedback about your stay. Per Indiana state law banning smoking in public spaces, the entire hotel will become smoke free July 2012 and we have already begun to take the necessary precautions to ensure guests experience minimal inconvenience when placed in former smoking rooms. We have deep cleaned all rooms, purchased an ozinator to clean the air, and also cleaned all drapery and shampoo. It is difficult to remove all cigarette residue in such a short period but we have made significant progress. Thank you for your insight and we hope to have you come back and stay with us. We have a great facility that has been fully renovated and offer a very attractive price for our frequent travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was our second stay in the past few years and the improvements have been noted! It wasn't bad before but with the addition of new flat screen tv's and new comfy beds it rates even better. The rooms are amazingly quiet, the bathroom facilities are nice with good amenities. The shower head is a little dated but the water pressure makes up for it. The rooms are clean, lots of pillows and a request for extra towels was filled quickly. The free breakfast provided eggs, biscuits, gravey and sausage along with breads, pastries and fruit.

For the price, this couldn't be beat! Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There is not an elevator that we could find, so if you have a challenge, make sure you get the botto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback. We really strive to keep the facility as clean as can be and offer superb service for an affordable price. We have fully renovated the entire hotel and continue to get much praise from our repeat guests. Thank you and we look forward to your arrival in the future.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Nebraska
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews of cities along Hwy 30 in Indiana. This was more of a "guess this is the best we can do" choice, and it fully met those expectations.

Hwy 30 is pretty much E-W in orientation. The motel is N-S in orientation, which means all of the rooms are exposed to traffic noise and light. Asked for a nonsmoking room in the back (north) away from the highway. The staff was hesitant to do so; said that was the end of the building where the party people like to hang out. Since there were a total of 4 cars in the lot, thought I could take a chance.

Went to the room - reeked of smoke, although there was a "No Smoking" sign on the door. Went back to the front desk and asked for a different room. Got the same room as they had originally wanted to put me in - very close to the south end. Guess it was close to the other guest(s), so the maid didn't have far to go in the morning. Asked staff how much the penalty was to smoke in a non-smoking room. They said there was no penalty, so pretty much anyone who wanted to smoke in any room did so. They also said that the property was going all-non-smoking later in the spring.

Bedding, bed and sheets were comfortable. Room was clean. Had fridge and microwave, which we appreciated and used, as restaurants are few and far apart in this area.

Road noise was terrible, since there's a stop light near the motel, and trucks used their air brakes to slow for the light. The a/c unit stopped running once the room temperature was met, so no white noise available there.

Breakfast had a nice variety of continental breakfast type items, including yogurt and oatmeal as healthier alternatives to the omnipresent pastries and breads.

Staff was polite when addressed directly, but not helpful and did not take it upon themselves to greet guests, neither at check-in nor at check-out.

Room Tip: North end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
We appreciate your feedback. Per a statewide non-smoking ordinance going into effect this summer, the hotel will not offer any smoking rooms and will continue to undergo a rigorous room cleaning and ozonating process to restore the air quality in all rooms and guests smoking, will be fined. Our hotel is recently renovated, our rooms undergo daily inspection despite a heavily trained housekeeping staff, and our complimentary breakfast is well received by guests. Stop by when back in town. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here the night of our wedding and absolutely loved it! We stayed in the Presidential Suite. It was huge and very clean. If we are ever in town and can't stay with my parents we will stay here! Only down side to the suite was that it has a balcony overlooking the pool so until the pool closes at night it can be a little loud but still we really enjoyed the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for the honest feedback. We hope to be your host hotel again in the future. The balcony suites are highly coveted by many of our guests and a unique addition to our hotel. We do our best to control the noise levels in the pool and close it on time. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomdale, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

When we checked in we were charged for 3 nights instead of the 2 we reserved. Our key cards did not work on more than one occasion. Room service did not come the next day and we had to ask for towels. The room itself was nice, but we were disappointed with the staff and service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourWorldTraveler123, Owner at Quality Inn Columbia City, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Guest - it is unfortunate you did not value our guest service experience which undergoes extensive training and continues to be well received with a majority of our guests. We are a limited service midscale hotel brand that offers daily room cleaning and at the request of a stayover guest, we will provide towels. This is how most hotels operate. We did not charge you for 3 nights, when you pay with a debit card, it automatically puts an extra day on hold as all guests paying with debit cards are informed of this at check-in. We value your feedback and hopefully will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Columbia City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Columbia City

Address: 701 West Connexion Way, Columbia City, IN 46725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Columbia City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Columbia City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Columbia City 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Columbia City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Columbia City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.