We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A work in progress - with lots of potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Marriott Drive, Clarksville, IN 47129 (Formerly Holiday Inn Louisville-North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Clarksville
La Mirada, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A work in progress - with lots of potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We attended the Kentucky Derby, arriving in late April. There are mutiple building to this hotel which was a bit off-putting in the begining but we later appreciated. Be prepared to walk a ways to your room. The main building consists of a huge comfortable lobby, a terrace overlooking the indoor pool, and a view of the lake.

Note the wonderful tile work on the main floor. The workers were putting it in place the day we arrived. I heard from the staff that this is one of the several upgrades in progress.

The main building includes the restaurant, lounge, and banquet rooms. I enjoyed the restaurant and since it was Derby week there was always a good selection from the buffet, plus you could order off the menu if you pleased. I found the staff very professional, very helpful and very friendly. The buffet selections including a carving area (Turkey Breast and Prime Rib), also items such as BBQ ribs, fried chicken, sweet potatoes, but also a good selection of salad fixings and soups. I don't know if the buffet was due to it being Derby week, but it was great.

The exercise room is on the same level as the pool. It is fairly average and the size of a hotel room with equipment in good condition. It includes two treadmills which worked for me.

Our room was in the 3 story building and I gather it is the oldest part of the hotel. It shows. The room was dated as far as furniture, walls, curtain, we did not need to use the a/c just the fan, thankfully as I do not think it worked. The carpet was worn. The good news is that the bed was very comfortable and the linens were good hotel quality. The bathroom was in good condition.

You can't beat the location, is is very close to the Ohio River and the Lewis and Clark interpretive center, just a few miles over the river to downtown louiville and it's many attractions and approx 7 miles to Churchill Downs. We took advantage of the independent shuttle from the hotel to Churchill Downs and took a taxi back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in building K, that looks a lot newer and has rooms that overlook the lake. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    21
    19
    12
See reviews for
22
14
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a large hotel that is comprised of multiple buildings. The building where you check in contains the main lobby, a business center (which we didn't use), and a restaurant. There is a 3-story building with guest rooms and also a tall building with guest rooms. We stayed in the older 3-story building.

Although the building seems to be pretty old, the room itself was nicely furnished and had what appeared to be a fairly new carpet. The heating/air console is in the window and was pretty noisy so we left it turned off.

The bedroom contains a king sized bed (very comfortable), two side tables, a very small desk, and a dresser with a 32-inch TV on top. There is also a full-length mirror. The bathroom has a counter with a single basin and a tub/shower. The shower has good pressure and temperature consistency.

Free WiFi is available in the room and works quite well. We didn't eat in the restaurant so I can't comment on that. There is a coffee maker in the room but we didn't use it.

Overall, we found this to be a comfortable room and we had a pleasant stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

While attending a tournament our group was given room keys to rooms with out checking with the adults or proper ids for the requested rooms - which were not their own rooms. One adult was stuck in the elevator over 20 minutes with no working emergency phone, no cell service and no alarm bell and no staff around. The only reason she was able to get out was another adult from our group heard her and pulled the doors apart for her to get out. When talking to the staff at different days and times customer service and being rude and huffy about services was common for many in our group.
The hotel has stated that "the elevator was just serviced" as if that should explain and make everything okay. As for the security "oh yeah, that should not happen" is a poor way to say we value your stay and hope you come back. We come to Louisville every year and this would have been easily helped with better customer service, some remorse and some real value placed on our concerns.
With the yearly group that we bring in to the area this will not be the hotel we stay at again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with several other families attending an archery competition in Louisville. The part of the hotel we stayed in was dated with a small bathroom, cracked and peeling ceiling, and worn dirty carpet. The air conditioner did not work and we found that the bedding was not clean. When we called down to the front desk on our first night at the hotel we were told there were no clean blankets available; they were replaced our second night. However, most hotel staff we had contact with were helpful and polite from the shuttle driver that picked us up at the airport to Steve the maintenance guy who replaced our air conditioner. The indoor pool was fun for the kids.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Let me first say that I only stayed at this hotel because my niece was in a tournament and this is where the team stayed. My room was fine, clean, no fridge, TINY bathroom. Sister's room had ants in the bathroom.
The staff were beyond rude, the woman at the front desk was all huffy and said she didn't know where I got my rate from, it was a discount through my employer and I made the reservation on the Choice Hotels website, which accepted the discount code (I saved $8 and $12 for two nights). When I inquired about having a room in the general vicinity of my family, she cut me off that the hotel was full and she couldn't move me. My sister called the front desk to check if there was a fitness center and got the reply, "Yes" then had to ask where it was. Anytime we walked thorough the lobby no one ever greeted us, in fact, one woman glared at my sister from some kind of office to the side of the lobby where several employees were gathered while one man worked the desk by himself. I can't imagine that this hotel would work well for a business traveler, the free Wifi was useless and the hotel is not quiet. The layout is odd and the design is very dated. Just overall the attitude from the staff is what took this place from ok to poor.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Honestly I wasn't sure what to expect with this hotel. The room that we had looked newly remolded and was clean. The toilet, however, wasn't as clean as it should be. The shower and the AC unit were out-dated. The WiFi is super slow. Front desk recommended Spinelli's Pizza...do not eat there unless you like cold, tasteless food. Overall though good value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights for the Kentucky Derby. While it's in Indiana, it's only about 15 minutes from the track and about 10 minutes from downtown. The hotel is enormous but kept up well. We stayed in a room with a king size bed. Room was clean and spacious. The bathroom is a tad small but clean and kept up well. The hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful during this busy time. The hotel was decorated for the derby and gave you a gift upon arrival. They also recommended a shuttle service that could take us to the derby. We did eat at the breakfast buffet derby morning before heading to the track. It was $14 a person which was high but it was decent. Everything was expensive no matter where you went during derby weekend so it was par for the course. All in all, it was enjoyable stay at the hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North

Address: 505 Marriott Drive, Clarksville, IN 47129 (Formerly Holiday Inn Louisville-North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Clarksville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Clarksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Louisville North is located just off I-65,just two miles from downtown Louisville and the KFC Yum Center, and only 8 miles from Louisville Int'l Airport We are located just minutes away from Churchill Downs, Downtown, Horseshoe Casino. Shopping within 4 miles of the hotel includes Bass Pro Shops and malls. Join us at Champion's Grille Restaurant, ask for a patio seat, for breakfast, lunch or dinner, which features a Saturday night Prime Rib dinner buffet and a Sunday Champagne brunch you will not soon forget. Our Quarter Pole Lounge is open nightly. We also offer an exquisite buffet for Easter, Mother's Day and Thanksgiving .The Holiday Inn Louisville North offers full conference facilities with 10 banquet rooms, including our Royal Ballroom. Complimentary high speed Internet is available throughout. Also, for your convenience on property, there is a beauty shop, barber shop, indoor and outdoor pools, fitness room and miniature golf.For your family pleasure, adjacent to our parking lot is Derby Dinner Playhouse and Atlantis Water Park with a wave pool, four giant water slides and plenty of fun for all ages.The Holiday Inn Louisville North offers special rates for NA Livestock, Ky Derby and National Street Rods.Our 356 guestrooms feature coffeemakers, blow dryers, iron/ boards, cable TV, high speed internet access,and a complimentary newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Louisville-North Hotel Clarksville
Holiday Inn Clarksville
Clarksville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.