We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience except....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Marriott Drive, Clarksville, IN 47129 (Formerly Holiday Inn Louisville-North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Clarksville
Seneca, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good experience except....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The room was clean, the staff was nice and the location was great. An unfortunate event happened there on 4/8/14 during our stay. I feel some sort of compensation should have been offered to the guests that were there during that event. After driving nearly 12 hours, arriving around 1:30 am and finally getting in bed at 3:30 am, we were awakened by the hotel staff banging on our doors screaming "Fire! Get out of the hotel!" Needless to say, it was an accident and I am not blaming anyone there. This kind of stuff does happen. However, my daughter was tired, freaked out and afraid to go back to sleep. When she did go back to sleep that night, she had nightmares of burning to death in a hotel fire. I stayed in a hotel room once that didn't have hot water and they gave me two free nights as an apology and to "make it right." I don't know that I would ever choose to stay at this Clarion location again, especially since the fire alarms did NOT go off. I am grateful to the staff for waking everyone up, but had the fire been more serious, it could have been catastrophic.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a first floor room with a patio. The sliding glass door may be your escape route...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    21
    18
    12
See reviews for
22
14
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while enroute from WI to FL and it was a good stopping point when we couldn't drive any further. This was the weirdest layout of any hotel I have ever stayed at. You had to walk forever to get to your room - around corners, a maze of hallways, through many doors - all the while hauling all your luggage this distance. It took 10 minutes for the three people behind the desk to even acknowledge we were there waiting to check in. They seemed more concerned with ordering a pizza for someone and counting quarters in their register. Never even looked up until we said something. It was an ok place to lay our heads for the night but I would not have wanted to stay any longer than that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie Z, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I do apologize that my front desk didn't take care of you like they should when you were here. I have informed that shift about this situation and I believe it will never happen again. We do have a large layout here with 353 rooms and 15 banquet rooms. So I am sorry that your stay at our hotel was not enjoyable for your. Please if you feel like you would like to talk more about the situation you can give me a call here at the hotel. Hope you are having or had a good time in Florida.
812-283-4411
Michelle S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a very large hotel. Our room was in the tall part which was hard to find and when you got there the parking lot was on the opposite end of the hall from the elevator. Parking was very far away from this part of the hotel. Rooms are nothing like those pictured. Very, very dated. Squishy beds and generally I like squishy but you sink into the middle. I had to unplug a lamp to plug the coffee maker in. Only one unused outlet on the entire room for charging things. Hallways awful. Elevator scary. Paint on furniture pealing. I have no idea how this hotel has been rated so well.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie Z, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at our hotel. We are definitely not known for that. I am sure you saw the many updates we are doing throughout the hotel to better serve our guests. We will be starting on our hotel hallways this spring. We couldn't do them during the winter because of all the snow plus salt that would have been tracked in. Also I would like for you to give me a call so I can talk to you first hand about your experience. We here do not want anyone to leave unhappy. Looking forward to hearing from you. Talk to you soon.
812-283-4411
gm.in043@choicehotels.com
Michelle S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The pros: the sheets are super soft, beds are comfortable, ice convenient, lighting is better than most places, heat lamp in the bathroom, heating/cooling is quiet and keeps a consistent temperature, maintenance staff polite and very competent, rooms are pleasantly decorated but not overdone, towels are soft and clean

Cons: my key card didn't work TWICE, had to lug all my luggage back and forth from the room to the front desk three times then wait outside my room for 15 minutes to wait for maintenance, wi-fi is weak and has to be constantly re-logged in, house cleaning staff very noisy (make sure you put your sign out), our room was next to the connecting hallway which has a brick floor...which is where the housecleaning staff and luggage draggers travel, making for a noisy stay.

Overall, a hard place to stay for a weary traveler trying to get some sleep. Would be an awesome place for a wedding party or longer term stay. Has a wonderful indoor pool area and restaurant.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie Z, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you very much for the comments. I do apologize about the noise level and Wi-Fi inconsistency you had but glad you had a great stay at the Clarion Hotel. Hope to see you again in the future when you can stay longer to enjoy all our amenities. Water park will open at the end of May. See you again soon.
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I hate to complain, but I was not impressed at all. My daughter & I stayed 4 nights. When checking in I asked for a fridge & was told no until I said it was for my insulin. We were sent to the end of the place through doors, up small elevators, dull hallways.....I have a hard time walking that far so was not impressed. Our room obviously has not been tended to as I noticed in other rooms flat screen tv's while we had this old big grey thing. I had to call downstairs as they had to reset my local call usage 3 times. The last night there after getting to our room from the front they had locked our doors. Why? We were booked & paid fully till the next day. The pool looked great till we went down. The back door was held open by a rock so people could go out to smoke, & all the fans were on. I've never gotten into a warm pool only to freeze. The 3 other people after us were cold too. The only excitement was the fellow being arrested, taken out of the place in handcuffs into a police car.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie Z, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
I would like to apologize for the experience you had while staying at our hotel. We are currently in the process of replacing all the TV's in the hotel so I am sorry you had a room with one of our old TV's. I hope you did see the many changes we are making to better serve our guests. Please when you have the opportunity contact me so I can talk with you first hand about your stay at our hotel because I would like to invite you back during the summer when our outdoor pool and waterpark our open. Here is my contact info 812-284-4411 or by email gm.in043@choicehotels.com I would like to end with saying thank you as well for letting us know about your stay. Talk to you soon.
Michelle Seitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Run. Run fast, in the opposite direction. Apart from the large attractive swimming pool, what a depressing place! It's shadowy dark, a huge maze to navigate, has garish decor and weird furniture. I heard about a case of bed bugs while we were there overnight. The bathroom was retro. Breakfast was atrocious! And so expensive for what was on offer. Seriously, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie Z, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
I do apologize that you did not have an enjoyable stay at our property. We are definitely not known for what you described. If you are ever back in the area stop in a give us another try and I promise you won't be disappointed.
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North

Address: 505 Marriott Drive, Clarksville, IN 47129 (Formerly Holiday Inn Louisville-North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Clarksville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Clarksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Louisville North is located just off I-65,just two miles from downtown Louisville and the KFC Yum Center, and only 8 miles from Louisville Int'l Airport We are located just minutes away from Churchill Downs, Downtown, Horseshoe Casino. Shopping within 4 miles of the hotel includes Bass Pro Shops and malls. Join us at Champion's Grille Restaurant, ask for a patio seat, for breakfast, lunch or dinner, which features a Saturday night Prime Rib dinner buffet and a Sunday Champagne brunch you will not soon forget. Our Quarter Pole Lounge is open nightly. We also offer an exquisite buffet for Easter, Mother's Day and Thanksgiving .The Holiday Inn Louisville North offers full conference facilities with 10 banquet rooms, including our Royal Ballroom. Complimentary high speed Internet is available throughout. Also, for your convenience on property, there is a beauty shop, barber shop, indoor and outdoor pools, fitness room and miniature golf.For your family pleasure, adjacent to our parking lot is Derby Dinner Playhouse and Atlantis Water Park with a wave pool, four giant water slides and plenty of fun for all ages.The Holiday Inn Louisville North offers special rates for NA Livestock, Ky Derby and National Street Rods.Our 356 guestrooms feature coffeemakers, blow dryers, iron/ boards, cable TV, high speed internet access,and a complimentary newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Louisville-North Hotel Clarksville
Holiday Inn Clarksville
Clarksville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.