We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat and clean with fridge and microwave” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Indian Oak

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Indian Oak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
558 Indian Boundary Road, Chesterton, IN 46304   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Chesterton
Top Contributor
461 reviews 461 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
446 helpful votes 446 helpful votes
“Neat and clean with fridge and microwave”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Quick review: this is a good stay if you want a spacious, basic, neat & clean room with some in-room amenities. Pool and sauna. Friendly, profsesional staff.

I stayed here one night for a meeting. Room #206 has a king size bed that was comfortable and a sitting area. There are many items that one expects at this type of hotel (coffee maker, iron/board, good word desk, etc.) and some that are really value-added if you were staying a while (fridge, microwave.) I would have liked an in-room safe, thought. The furnishings were comfy and rather basic, but should be replaced sooner rather than later -- getting a little old.

Clean, comfortable bathroom with some toiletries. The towels are okay, but you know that this isn't a 4-star hotel.

Free wifi worked well (thank you! I get irritated when hotels charge for this service that seems rather basic.

Friendly, professional service throughout.

The free breakfast was edible, but it's good that it is free. I rarely think much of the free breakfasts often served at hotels at this price point -- mediocre pastries, scrambled eggs in the form of round yellow slices, etc. Okay coffee. Juice from a dispenser.

There is an indoor pool and hottub (I didn't use either.) It looks good for a dip, but the area around it has a few chairs and not much else. This is not the kind of pool where you linger a while, but I'm sure kids would love to jump in afer a day on the road.

So: it's a good stay for price/value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil p, Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on our hotel. All of our rooms do come equipped with a microwave and a refrigerator, which is very convenient. Also, they are very spacious and your room was on the lakeside, which does include the pullout sofa and coffee table. I am glad that you were happy that we have free WIFI throughout, which helps out in so many ways for our travelers. I am sorry that you were unsatisfied with our breakfast choices. The pool area is rather large and the guests do tend to love the area. It is nice for individuals to sit in the pool area or on the outside of the pool area, especially if they do have children. I thank you very much for your review and encourage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    50
    31
    6
    21
See reviews for
55
55
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beloit, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I decided to go back to the BW and I was once again very impressed. I enjoyed a wonderful swim in their very nice pool lots of room to do laps. The staff actually remembered me. I had a nice walk on the lake. The bed was just the right comfort and the room was nice and quiet. I decided to do some site seeing and the staff was helpful in telling me were some of the best places were. I will continue coming here. I have stayed in a number of Hotels on vacations and this one is right at the top of my list. So if you want to just get away or need a place to stay while on business check them out you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil p, Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so graciously for such a wonderful review. We greatly appreciate that we have made each stay at our hotel enjoyable. The lake is such a wonderful hidden feature that our hotel has to offer. The 50-foot pool does have plenty of room and is large enough for any type of swimming activity that one may enjoy. I am pleased that the front desk staff was able to assist you with any question or concern you had throughout your stay. I am grateful that we are ranked in the top of your hotel list and we do enjoy making our guests happy. My staff and I look forward to providing many more memorable stays for you and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I am a former hotel General Manager. I have managed dated properties in the past and understand the struggles this hotel may have. I do not however find excuses for lack of cleanliness and staff. The guestroom had a bathroom that was patched up terribly and looked like it was going to fall apart any second. The linen was thin and fraying. The shower curtaiin was pink as if someone had washed it with a red sock. There was pubic hair on the wall of the bathroom. Our toilet backed up the second day and the front desk attendant, who was also working breakfast, offered to plung it. This being said in the breakfast area amongst other guests. The poor girl worked all day and night with NO ASSISTANCE!! I do not understand how the owner of this property could justify having ONE person on staff to deal with all the demands of the day. There were plenty of heads in beds to cover the cost of a few hours of breakfast coverage or maybe a maintenance technician. Not happy at all with breakfast options. Coffee was terrible with one creamer option. Milk was in a pitcher that the whole world used to poor into their ceral, not to mention there was no label. It is hard to image one person being responsible for maintaining breakfast as well as guest needs at the desk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil p, Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for the review. We value every guest and the feedback about your stay is always encouraged. I am personally sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. During the steadier months we do have a breakfast area attendant throughout the breakfast times of 6am- 9am each day. In the less steady months, the front desk helps out in that area. If you were unhappy with your room after checking in, we could have corrected it then. We could have offered you a different room or even offered to clean the room ourselves. The acknowledgment of the staff member in the breakfast area was greatly appreciated. As far as working all day and night with out assistance is, quite untrue. My front desk staff works 8 hour shifts and the day shift is relieved at 3pm each day, as was done throughout your stay as well. I am very sorry that you were unpleased with your stay at our hotel. Perhaps you would like to come back in the warmer months and enjoy a lakeside room. The rooms are more spacious and the view of the lake is gorgeous, especially with the swans and geese. Again, I do apologize for your unhappiness and if you would like to contact me directly, neilp@indianoak.com I would be more than happy to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Island, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel several times in the best 6 months! Pleasant staff, rooms clean, very pleasant place to stay for the price! Great location with plenty of places to eat close by. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Book the lake side vs parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil p, Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such great feedback. I appreciate that you have come back many times and that you are very satisfied with our hotel. Thank you as well for acknowledging my staff, as they do try very hard to make each stay a memorable one. The lakeside rooms are quite cozy and the view of the lake gives it that extra special touch. We are definitely in a great location and there are many restaurants to choose from. We are also very close to the Indiana Dunes and the Lighthouse Mall in Michigan City for warmer months. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We liked the room and the staff was nice. The problem I had with this room was noise from train traffic. The room looked over an inlet on the Lake and it was a nice view. But the train was on the other side of the inlet.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the lake as the train tracks were across the narrow inlet and it made for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil p, Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I truly value your feedback and I thank you for taking the time to do so. I do apologize that the trains were a bother during your stay. We are located in close proximity to two train tracks. Unfortunately the town of Chesterton does hear the echo from these trains all throughout the day and night. We are located close to the steel mill and the south shore train station, so the train traffic does tend to be a more active at certain times, than others. On a pleasant note, I am glad that you enjoyed other aspects of the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed our staff and our lakeview room. The view is beautiful to look at all through out the year. I thank you very much for your review and I wish you a happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

At check in the front desk staff was very friendly, and let me know where there was nice places to eat at. The hotel and my room was very clean. i have stay at different hotel for work and by far this was the best stay i have had in a while. I was impressed that my room got serviced every day. Special thanks to Neil,Crystal,and Patrick.
.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil p, Manager at BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Having a great staff from start to finish just makes the stay so much more enjoyable. I am very glad that you took advantage of having your room serviced everyday of your stay. Having a clean and comfortable room when you check in and all throughout your stay helps add to a great experience. I am thankful for your feedback and am extremely happy that you found our hotel to be one of the best you have stayed at. We are located in a nice location, with many restaurants to choose from. I am glad that my staff was able to give you some feedback about nearby restaurants. I hope you come back to see us soon. Thank you again for giving us your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Indian Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Indian Oak

Address: 558 Indian Boundary Road, Chesterton, IN 46304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Indian Oak conveniently located off the I-80 and I-94 near Lake Michigan, Valparaiso University and the Indiana Dunes State Park, offers an amazing location, unbeatable amenities and affordable rates - for both business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Indian Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indian Oak Hotel Chesterton
Best Western Chesterton
Indian Oak Resort Spa
Best Western Hotel Chesterton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.