We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Indian Oak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Indian Oak to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   558 Indian Boundary Road, Chesterton, IN 46304   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Edelstein, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Beautiful setting on a lake, spacious, clean rooms, five star handicap accessible room, courteous, friendly, helpful, "Can Do" attitude staff, simple but excellent hot/cold breakfast options, easy access to parking. Convenient to restaurants, parks, Lake Michigan, I 94 and I 80. Nice pool. Would absolutely stay there next time.

Room Tip: Don't think they have any bad ones......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    62
    37
    7
    22
See reviews for
63
68
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
too far from the wild west!
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
535 helpful votes 535 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This motel has potential but as is, definitley average. Our room wasn't at all 'spacious' as others have written, but normal if not a little smaller. And its been a long time since we had two DOUBLES instead of queens ---???--- not fun for a family of four!! They were definitely double sized beds, but since the bedspreads were made for queens, they spilled & draped over onto the floor looking messy in an otherwise clean room.

All rooms have tiny balconies, just big enough to hold two plastic patio chairs and nothing or no one else. We asked for a room w/ balcony facing the pond, but got a room overlooking the parking lot since the lakeview rooms were 'sold out'. Although it sure didnt apperar to be judging by the parking lot and lack of people around.

And the food. We've had enough BW hot breakfasts to know when they're same ole-same ole, or 'normal' and this was one was not either. The food looked like normal BW fare, but something was 'off' in the eggs (round little patties) and the sausage gravy - biscuits -- they all had a funny taste -- not sure from what but we all noticed it. Maybe they were conserving on something (to be cooked in?) or maybe they were old, using whats left each day and warming it up the next day? Or maybe its a freezer taste? None of us could figure it out but it just was not right. We threw it out and had cold, generic cereal and bagels. Another day we tried again, but it wasn't any better so we walked to mcdonalds (and we're not fans of mickey ds) and didn't try the breakfast again. The breakfast attendant seemed to be guarding it too... a little uncomfortable. The hours are 6 - 9, even on weekends, which we found odd for a tourist vs. business oriented motel.

On a positive note, the indoor pool was fairly large and the kids really liked it. The hot tub next to it was good, too. Housekeeping was thorough and consistent. They added power strips to two outlets which was helpful for all the family electronics. 'Angel' at the front desk was welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days while travelling through the area. There is a large nicely decorated lobby. A separate breakfast room – breakfast is over at 9:00 am so we missed it the first morning because we wanted to sleep in. The front desk staff was very helpful and attentive to our needs and requests. Our room has a small balcony (with 2 plastic chairs) and view of lake from the (2nd) floor. There are no elevators. The room was large but not well laid out – some areas unused and other areas crowded. 2 queen beds – one almost against wall and the other the sofa is right against it. When we moved the sofa over a few inches to get it away from the bed there was dust and garbage under the sofa. The cleaners need to move the furniture around a bit and get all the dust and debris.
The bathroom is large with a long counter – but with the counter inside the bathroom the coffee maker is now in the bathroom too (there was room for a counter outside to put the coffee maker on) Bathroom light and fan are on one switch. The toilet paper and Kleenex was very thin and disintegrated too easily. For $100.00 per night the quality of the toilet paper and kleenex is lacking. I suppose it is the hotels effort to be more environmentally "green" but come on, there are better "green" products than what you are providing. There is a microwave and large size micro fridge with a large separate freezer
The Wifi was easy to connect to but not very fast. There is a Flat screen TV mounted on wall
My biggest complaint over and above the quality of the kleenex and toilet paper is that we can hear the kids running and jumping and yelling and slamming the door in the room next to us. The hotel floor would vibrate as the kids ran up and down the hallway, unsupervised by their parents. This isn't necessarily the hotels fault, although a "no kids" policy would be something that would be embraced by most travelling seniors. I blame the parents more than I can blame the hotel, but it is very annoying when kids are bouncing off the walls next door.
There are many restaurants and stores close by.

Room Tip: Get a room on the water side and watch the geese, swans and ducks in the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Not wanting to camp in Indiana Dunes with 2 small kids, we chose to get a hotel and Best Western always seems to do the trick! Pricing was reasonable considering the amenities included. Very close to beaches, great little spot for a weekend getaway! Very happy with stay, friendly staff, clean rooms, great lakeside view!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I would like to say that though I will also add some cons I would stay here again. We are here now and it is extremely easy to get to off the highway, to the Dunes and you can pick almost any place you want to eat. The lady who checked us in was extremely kind, courteous and willing to give us directions to any place we need to go. She works day shift. The guy on the second shift was nice as well but not quite as chatty, which is fine...he served the purpose we needed him to.
Our room was spacious and pretty clean. The remote needed washed off which wasn't a big deal to me, I just did it. The tub bottom is a different color and does appear to have standing water but it is clean and that is much more important to me. However, i did stand there freaking out a min about having to stick my hand in what i thought was cold water.

I have a lake side room and the outside furniture does need wiped off, it is outside and I would expect that. The lake isn't green right now and there are several baby ducks, two swans and sea gulls that sit on the ground right outside our room. You can hear the train but the noise does not bother me, it isn't terribly loud.

The pool is cold. I do think it could be warmer but it is pretty large and is clean. There is a hot tub and sauna in here also. Remember to get your towels at the front desk before you walk in. They aren't big so you may want to get an extra or two.

The lobby is beautiful and there is a salon and spa as you walk in. I have not
utilized it so I cannot comment on it. The lobby, hallways and other areas appear newly renovated throughout and the photos someone else posted are not accurate of what it looks like now. The carpet it new, walls have new paint and nice decor. Other areas trimmed in oak.

I don't care for the smoking rooms though, not being a smoker. I can smell it in the hall on the way to my room. That grosses me out and they should be seperated better.

Breakfast is sufficient. We left full and the lady working is amazing and cheerful. It is nice to be greated by someone nice when you first wake up. =)

Again, overall it has been a great stay and I would definetly stay again with no reservations. Just wanted to add the cons as they are important to me when searching for somewhere to stay and so that hotel management can correct things that patrons don't care for.

The town itself seems safe and small. Walgreens, Hallmark and a ton of fast food places are very very close . Kmart, Jewel Osco, Wendy's and Applebees are over the interstate. No Walmart though. =(

Learned that it is $10 for out of state people to go in the state park but free to go in through Porter Beach which is close. Also learned that people hunt for old glass in the water and not shells here. It is weathered and flattened like rocks. It is very beautiful and not sharp at all. It is worth looking for.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were quite pleasantly surprised, the room was spacious, in good condition and clean. We had a whirlpool suite, first floor with small patio next to lake. We enjoyed the geese and wildlife on the lake. For the area, this was a great value. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We spent one night at Indian Oak. The location is excellent for visiting the shore at the Indiana Dunes State Park. Just take the adjacent highway straight up to enter the park. Only about 15 minutes away. The room was very comfortable and big. Get a ground floor room on the east side and have patio doors open to a small patio with two chairs for outside space. The microwave and small refrigerator held our leftovers from a stay in Michigan. We did not want to go out and ordered a great pizza delivery advertised in the room info. Price was only in the $95 range for the room with the use of a AAA discount. An indoor pool is available as well as an outdoor deck to watch the sunset. We will use this hotel in a future return to the Dunes Park.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Indian Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Indian Oak

Address: 558 Indian Boundary Road, Chesterton, IN 46304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Indian Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Indian Oak conveniently located off the I-80 and I-94 near Lake Michigan, Valparaiso University and the Indiana Dunes State Park, offers an amazing location, unbeatable amenities and affordable rates - for both business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Indian Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indian Oak Hotel Chesterton
Best Western Chesterton
Indian Oak Resort Spa
Best Western Hotel Chesterton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Indian Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.