We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHICAGO DOGS!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George's Gyros Spot

George's Gyros Spot
315 N Calumet Rd, Chesterton, IN 46304
(219) 926-5435
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 60 Restaurants in Chesterton
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Quincy, Illinois, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“CHICAGO DOGS!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

George's has been a Chesterton favorite of mine for years. I only order one item, the combo with 2 dogs and fries. If you're a fan of Vienna Beef dogs with everything except ketchup, go to George's.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Prices have gone up and portions seem smaller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We began eating here when it was just a little hot dog stand. Bigger is not always better. Over the years the gyro and polish sausage have both gotten smaller and they pile on the fries to make it seem like it is still a big basket of food. Prices also have gone up considerably. There was a time when we wouldn't have passed through Chesterton without stopping, but now we pass it by more often than not. We feel the owner has priced the baskets out of our comfort zone for the quality.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I'm never disappointed at George's. Its a favorite of mine. The gyros are fantastic, but then again so is everything else!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Way Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

High Chicago prices don't make it a Chicago style hotdog. Everything on the menue seems to be over priced. It was much better and affordable before the expansion

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

worst chicago dogs. no poppy seed bun. no sport peppers. wrong type of pickle. the biggest wrong....there was ketchup on the dog! just a very over rated place. im not even sure if they are vienna beef.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Gyros Spot also viewed

 
Chesterton, IN
 

Been to George's Gyros Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Gyros Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.