We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Gateway Blvd, Chesterton, IN 46304   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now, save up to 25%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
saint louis, United States
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Friendly staff, quick check-in, room was upgraded. Breakfast was good too and no waits for anything... great place to stay if you are visiting the sand dune area. Very easy access to interstate 80 just a block away from the toll booths cannot miss the hotel or get lost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It was extremely helpful to know that you did not have to wait for anything and that your check in was quick. The hotel location, directly across from the Indiana Tollroad, is very convenient for people traveing east west or west east. The Indiana Dunes is a big draw for guest's especially during the summer months. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.


Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    68
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
80
54
14
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Bright, spacious, cheery lobby and comfortable rooms with easy on/off interstate access. Breakfast is pretty good and a Bob Evans is next door. Smart, courteous staff was extremely helpful. Have stayed their multiple times and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It nice read you are an extremely satisfied return guest. The hotel staff wants every guest to feel that they can be counted on to make the guest's stay exceeded their expectations. The hotel does offer a full made to order breakfast for $8.95 and we do offer dinner in the restaurant or room service. You were also correct that there is a Bob Evans next door for a change of pace.
Thank you for writing such a nice review.


Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Conveniently located just off the Indiana East-West Tollway. Clean with a most pleasant staff. An excellent value for the money spent and a perfect base location for visiting the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and surrounding communities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Glad to hear you had nothing but praise for the hotel and staff. You were correct we are directly across the street from the exit and entrance to the Indiana Tollroad. We are also 8 miles from the Indiana Dunes. I hope you visit again when you are in the area.


Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were in town for my son's wedding. Everyone at the hotel were very nice. Hotel very clean. Price is a little high for not including breakfast. Breakfast was very good -- selection of food and the taste! The sausage gravy was a little spicy, but tasty! The lobby was very pretty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I was thrilled to read you had an enjoyable time at the hotel. The breakfast at all Hilton Garden Inn's is extra but it is a made to order breakfast. You can order omletes, eggs anyway.french toast, waffles and pancakes in addition to our breakfast buffet all for $8.95. The hotel lobby and restaurant were just recently remodeled and I am glad you liked them,
Please visit again in the future and thank you for writing your review.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and courteous. Our room was immaculate! Very comfortable bed and linens. Even though there were 2 weddings taking place that weekend, the staff did not seem ruffled in the least. We didn't use the pool area because it was very busy (families with small children) but that's to be expected during the prime hours of the day. We didn't utilize the breakfast buffet onsite, but instead chose to walk next door to a new Bob Evans restaurant. The breakfasts were delicious both days. Overall, a very relaxing respite. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
It was nice to read you had such a wonderful stay at the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Any feedback I receive is passed on to the staff so thay can continue to exceed the guest's expectations. I hope you come back and visit the hotel again and this time get to use the pool and have our delicious made to order breakfast.

Eileen Howat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, WI
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

WOW! The lobby is amazing. They offer delicious cookies, coffee with flavored creamers, and delicious water with orange slices floating in it. The decorations seem that Martha Stewart had just come through. Great pool area with hot tub. Fantastic exercise room. Perfection...very easy drive to dunes. Located on a gorgeous walking trail on a well manicured watershed property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Wow, what a great review. It appears your trip to the hotel far exceeded your expectations. It sounds like you loved everything from the water to the exercise room. Thank you for your glowing review. Please come and visit again when you are in the area.

Eileen Howat
Asst Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Clean, good food, and most importantly friendly and helpful staff. Short distance to Indiana Dunes, and once again, really impressed with the helpfulness of the staff once I arrived. If traveling to Indiana Dunes, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience at the hotel.
I am truly delighted that you found your stay enjoyable. It is satisfying to hear that you were extremely pleased with the staff.
Please visit us again when you are in the area.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton

Address: 501 Gateway Blvd, Chesterton, IN 46304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton Hotel Chesterton
Hilton Chesterton
Chesterton Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.