We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Gateway Blvd, Chesterton, IN 46304   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now, save up to 25%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
indianapolis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here with a large group in town for a wedding. We were here for one night, others were here for 3 nights. Facility was clean, great amenities. Excellent breakfast , it is an extra charge, not included in room fee, but it is more like a restaurant, large buffet with kitchen for omelets, waffles, etc. Others in the party highly praised the staff for their efforts in making meeting rooms available for group get togethers, They also noted that when an elderly member of the group who requires a cane to get around checked in, front desk staff assisted in getting their luggage to the room and helped to hang their clothes for them. Building and rooms were clean, very nicely furnished, and beds in the room have adjustable firmness. Would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I was delighted to read the review you gave the hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a review. The staff is trained to go above and beyond for each guest. They try to make everyone feel that this is their home away from home. Please come back and visit us anytime.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    60
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
75
46
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is nice. Rooms were clean. We had the bed and breakfast deal because it was only $2.00 more on the room, but if you purchase breakfast it is $7.95. The breakfast is great. So many choices on the buffet itself, and then you can order omelettes, waffles or pancakes. The beds were not very comfortable though. They are an air bed (not like Select Comfort). There is a dial on each side that goes from soft to firm. We thought it was broke because it was rock hard. The manager Meghan came up to check on it and sent a maintenance man the next day. He turned both sides to soft. It actually wasn't really soft. I woke up in pain in the mornings. Pool was small but the hot tub/jacuzzi was about half the size of the pool. The only thing that would keep me away was the bed. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit at the hotel. It is nice to receive glowing comments about the cleanliness and breakfast. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay.
I do want to apologize that your bed was not comfortable and you woke up in pain. I have fowarded your review to my maintenance staff so that they can further access the issue. I do hope that when you are in the area again you will give us another try.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here to spend a day at the Indiana dunes and take the shuttle to Chicago,
Our room was in the lower level - ask for an upper level. Unfortunately the only light was from the one window in the bedroom. The beds are not very comfortable - decor needs updating
Clean, and easy access to the train depot (the shuttle to Chicago is cheap and you avoid traffic and parking)

Room Tip: Don't get a lower level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your stay. I informed our maintenance staff of the issues you had with lighting and the bed. These suggestions will continue to help us improve our guest experience. I hope you will consider staying with us again soon.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Room was clean. They said there was free wifi but we were not able to get it to work even after we called the front desk for assistance. The pool was clean and they provided pool towels. The hot tub was big and was not over chlorinated which was nice too. Although the room was fine, next time I will look for a hotel closer to the beach. This hotel location meant we had to drive for everything. The breakfast was fine for a voucher buffet. They make omelets to order and offer hot and cold food choices. There is a small dining room so go early or you'll have to wait for a table.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
I was happy to read your survey and delighted you had a wonderful visit at the hotel. I want to apologize for the problem you experienced with the internet. Our front desk staff is trained to help our guests with internet problems but if they are not able to help we do have an 800 number to a help desk. I am not sure if they informed you of that feature. I informed housekeeping you were happy that your room was clean. They do strive to make everyone feel at home. Thank you again for all your comments.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn at Chesterton, Indiana on July 14, 2012. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in the area. The staff was above and beyond in going the extra mile to make everyone feel so welcome. They were helpful with directions and questions. The morning breakfast was the best I have experienced in any hotel I have stayed. Rooms were clean and quiet, bed comfortable and the amenities were awesome. Had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your glowing response. I was delighted to hear you had such a pleasurable visit at the hotel. Also, thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review. The kitchen staff consistently tries to make the breakfast experience as delicious as possible.
I am glad you found all the staff friendly and accomodating
I hope you vist again soon.

Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

No surprises here - if you've stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn before you know what to expect and you get it. Room was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was definitely worth the price - fruits were fresh and in season, eggs were cooked correctly, and the atmosphere was orders of magnitude more comfortable than the "free breakfast included" experiences of the other hotels we have stayed at this trip. Close to Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and State Park, and lots of good dinner options in Chesterton. Only criticism is a bathroom that lacks an extractor fan. Once someone takes a shower in the morning, the entire bath area remains a misty tropical experience for the next half hour, making the mirrors fogged up and unusable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our staff, breakfast, cleanliness etc..
Our staff strives to make each and every guest feel like this is their home away from home.
I am sorry the extractor fan was not working properly.
Please come back soon
Eileen Howat
Asst GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice small hotel. Clean, nice amenities, cordial staff. Comfortable beds, office center, nice gathering area in lobby with coffee available 24/7

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhowat, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
I was very pleased to read that your stay at the hotel was satisfactory. I am also glad you felt like it was your home. The staff works very hard to make every guest feel at home.
I hope you return very soon.

Eileen Howat
Asst Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton

Address: 501 Gateway Blvd, Chesterton, IN 46304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Chesterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton Hotel Chesterton
Hilton Chesterton
Chesterton Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.