We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse

Lighthouse
7501 Constitution Ave, Cedar Lake, IN 46303
219-374-9283
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Cedar Lake
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Ambience great. Food a disappointment. Wife and I received a gift card for our wedding. Waited 2 years for opportunity to use. Looked forward to it. Wife and I split Lobster and Rib Eye and Crab Cake appetizer. Lobster only okay. Crab Cake only okay. Rib Eye horrible. Bad cut poorly prepared. Found better cut at local grocery store. Prepared better at home. Will give a second try only because we have funds left on gift card.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    29
    19
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schererville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We Love this Restaurant! The Pecan Crusted Walleye is so Good, Steaks are the Best...and the Crab Cakes are a MUST HAVE!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Our meal was Wonderfully Tasty and service was Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our dinner was so good. Had the Ahi appetizer which was a very nice portion and had two sauces and a small salad with it. My husband had a steak and I had the perch, cooked perfectly and tasty. I liked their cole slaw (which came with my perch), it's not overly coated with sauce and very fresh. It gets very busy so make reservations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had not been there since they had first opened. Very disappointed at that time!
A group of seven arrived with reservations. Lovely seating in the lake view room, watched the sun set! The pork chop was succulent , perfectly grilled and extremely delicious.....MWell.
Servers were knowledgable, efficient and well trained in their profession. They really took care of everyone! Looking forward to returning soon.
Be sure to have reservations!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Illinois
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Heard both good and bad about this place. Have to say it is the latter. The good is ambiance, drinks and atmosphere although a little too noisy. The bad all of our food and everything is so overpriced. No plans to return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.