We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Gem is a good description” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bub's Burgers & Ice Cream

Bub's Burgers & Ice Cream
210 W Main St, Carmel, IN 46032
(317) 706-2827
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 207 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Hamburgers, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem is a good description”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I think that the burgers at Bub's are very good. Maybe not the best ever but very, very good. The ambiance of being right on the Monon Trail helps a lot, especially when the weather is good and one can eat outside.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    86
    27
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“Overrated and Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Burgers are a bit better than average but definitely not great. The meat was good quality and correctly cooked but way over-salted. A truly great burger requires a great bun, and these burgers just ain’t got that. So, fairly mundane burger.

The kid meal burger was absurdly small (see photo) – basically the size of a smashed meatball along with about 4 onion rings. It was great for a 3 year-old but not a 10 year-old. My daughter is not a big eater, but we had to get her a second tiny burger. I have low expectations for servers, but I felt like our server was a bit smug and not helpful. I would have liked the server to say “Those kid burgers are real small. You might want to consider getting a small adult burger instead.”

It is also way over-priced, which probably is meaningless to the moneyed populace of Carmel, but to me a $50+ tab at a burger joint for two adults and a kid wasn’t a reasonable value. We even shared a small (and I do mean small) order of fries and an order of onion rings. The aforementioned kid meal was $5 without a drink – a ripoff – plus another $3 for the second baby burger.

There were gnats and flies all over the place, which was a bit disconcerting.

Think I would choose Five Guys or Culver’s over this place – better burgers, better price. And they don’t rub me the wrong way, either.

Hope this helps.
.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Terrific burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Bub's is a burger joint. The main menu staples are burgers, fries, and shakes. My high rating is rating it as a burger joint. This is one of the best I have been to. When you are about a half block away, the smell of burgers being grilled makes your mouth start to water. The burgers taste great. If you arrive at peak lunch or dinner time you can wait 90 minutes to get a table. Plan accordingly, especially on a weekend with nice weather. Bubs gained national attention when it was featured on Man vs Food. The challenge is to eat the Big Ugly burger, a one pound burger. The Big Ugly challenge has made wait times longer. The burgers and shakes are great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Burgers in Carmel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A great local place to eat real food! Outside seating is best in the summer, but get there early (or at off times) as there will be a wait at lunch and dinner. The service is slow or better stated at a pace you can enjoy a relaxing meal with your family or friends. BTW it's worth the wait if you have to wait!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The buffalo burger is fantastic! It is convenient to the Monon but don't get too close or you will want to stop. The smell is intoxicating!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bub's Burgers & Ice Cream also viewed

Carmel, Hamilton County
Carmel, Hamilton County
 
Carmel, Hamilton County
Carmel, Hamilton County
 

Been to Bub's Burgers & Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bub's Burgers & Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.