We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blah” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sunrise Cafe
11452 N Meridian St, Carmel, IN 46032-4530
(317) 575-9323
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 207 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Noblesville, Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Blah”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stopped at Sunrise Saturday morning for breakfast. We chose Sunrise because 1. It was open a 6am and 2. We had eaten at the Sunrise in Noblesville and enjoyed. Well, HUGE difference between the two! The menu was different, the coffee was not good and the personality was lacking, to say the least. I will say our food came out quickly. Scrambled eggs and bacon for me and my husband got a combo...the "French toast" was questionable. It was like no other French toast with one of us had ever seen, it seemed battered?!?!? It was fast but the quality and service didn't reflect a $20 breakfast. We'll stick to the Noblesville location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Value, Good Atmoshere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

1st time in long time I visted this Cafe on 11/14/12. Mid morning so they were not busy - located in an office bldg where they draw majority of customers. Food was very good (make you own omelet), cinnamon toast was excellent, old fashioned shredded hash browns were good, and coffee was very good and plentiful. Portions were just right so no food was wasted. Service was pleasant and on top without being overly attentive, price was very competitive. Atmosphere was clean, cozy, and up-to-date. Glad we went as we will will be returning. Have a location in Fishers IN too - intend to vist there as well

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I would have never found this small cafe located in the bottom of an office building. Luckily, my husband had worked close by. On a Saturday, it was crowded with early morning diners proving it's location was not a secret. This family run business prides themselves on making everything homemade.

My husband enjoyed eggs benedict while I dined on the quiche of the day with hashbrowns. I would say everything was as it should be with the exception of my quiche crust being a tad too well done. It did not impair the exquisite flavor, though.

Service was excellent despite the morning rush.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went here on a Sunday late mrning with two other couples. Everyone ordered something different, and everyone was quite pleased with our meal. We didn't have to wait long for a table, even though it seemed very busy. The hostess was gracious and attentive. The service was excellent....plenty of water and coffee refills. The price was very reasonable, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food and Management AWFUL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I ordered Belgian Waffle and received an unappealing (three strawberry pieces with a dash of powdered sugar)yellow waffle. It was under cooked and tasteless. The waiter offered to replace it and I got French Toast. It was equally unappealing (brown with globs of brown egg at edges) and completely tasteless. The cashier heard we had a problem and pointed out why the GROUPON wasn't valid that day (the waiter had already told us) but did NOT ask me about the meal. I volunteered my meal was not good and she responded "Really?" as if that was not possible and offered no remedy. I have never had an experience like this before anywhere and will NEVER GO BACK!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Cafe also viewed

 
Carmel, Hamilton County
 

Been to Sunrise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.