We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding salads, burgers, and brunch. Service sometimes a bit off.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granite City Food & Brewery

Granite City Food & Brewery
150 W. 96th St., Carmel, IN 46032
(317) 218-7185
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 190 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Outstanding salads, burgers, and brunch. Service sometimes a bit off.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Our whole family loves GC. Daughter loves Bedder Cheddar burger (I *think* that's what it's called); hubby and I love soup, salads, and flat breads.

Sunday brunch is very good, with a great variety of breakfast and lunch foods, but good luck getting in; it's always jammed for brunch, and they don't take reservations (except for large parties).

Avoid peak lunch times during the week, or plan on waiting half an hour or more. Try 11:30 a.m. or 1ish. Peak dinner times get crazy, too.

Despite crowds and hit or miss service, this is one of my favorite restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    55
    23
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The food was good and cooked the way we asked. We were seated right away and our server Keith was great. The prices are roughly 20+ which wasn't a problem for us. If you want good food, good service, we'd recommend this place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very good service. rReally attractive building inside and out. Beers were ok, but not extraordinary. Our friend commented that their wheat beer wasn't as good as Blue Moon, and my Bock was just ok. The Cajun pasta was so in name only. No heat whatsoever, and this is the first "Cajun" dish I've had made with linguine. Joann liked her steak and loved the watermelon martini. Overall the meal was just satisfactory, nothing special. Won't visit again unless forced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not a single miss on their menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Granite City is very close to our office building so we will occasionally shoot over for a buisness lunch. The food is very good and a great value for the quality of the menu. We have eaten here as a family as well. The kids menu was more than adequate with plenty of choices.

If eating here for lunch, I recommend going early. The place fills up pretty quickly and in the past, there has been a wait by 11:45 AM.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dinner with a friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I met a friend at Granite City for dinner last week and was impressed with the food and the service. I loved the 20oz beer special on weekdays (I had a Shandy), the favorites menu that they brought back, and the relaxed atmosphere. I also had a coupon for a free spin dip appetizer, so with that and my entree, I had enough food to take home for another meal. All for $13. It was a good experience and I will (and have already) return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granite City Food & Brewery also viewed

Carmel, Hamilton County
Carmel, Hamilton County
 
Carmel, Hamilton County
 

Been to Granite City Food & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granite City Food & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.