We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnegie LIbrary made into a restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woody's Library Restaurant

Woody's Library Restaurant
40 East Main Street, Carmel, IN
(317) 573-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 207 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pekin, Illinois
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Carnegie LIbrary made into a restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This restaurant, which was the town's Carnegie library, was a very interesting place to have lunch. There are still many quarter-sawn oak bookcases full of books; I sat in a nook with windows on one side and book shelves on two sides - heaven for a book lover. I had a meat-ball appetizer which was good but a bit drowned in sauce and a salad which was average. The service was very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

It's a good place to congregate, in terms of location, but the food is overpriced for what you get. Friendly bar staff downstairs. Miss the pool tables, though. And husband ended up in E.R. after a questionable vodka martini a couple years back. Overrated, but, you know. It's okay. Nice fish tank.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, IN
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“This is a Special restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We drove by late on Sunday morning and this place looked interesting. It is in fact an old Carnagie Library building. We just wanted brunch or a late breakfast and this filled the bill. We each had an omelette (they were wonderful) and shared a cinnamon roll wedge which was fantastic. Our server was happy, friendly and very accomodating and our $30 brunch kept us filled until dinner that evening. It was so nice to find someplace that had the character, service and food to make it really special. We feel lucky to have found it! Only negative, coffee was good, but luke warm.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, IN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Yummy food in a cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had lunch at Woody's yesterday and it was really good. My husband had their chicken and biscuits (covered with gravy) which came with green beans and smashed potatoes- he said it was outstanding (and this is a big compliment from him). My son had their French toast, and he loved that, as well. I had a half grilled cheese (3 cheeses) and a caesar salad- it was yummy. Loved the dried cranberries in the salad! My husband had a Bloody Mary, which was unusually good. Some places load these up with all kinds of veggies, but then forget that you're really looking for the beverage to taste good- this one was spicy and tasty, as it should be.
Our server was very enthusiastic and fun (we've had her before- she must always be this way)! Service was a wee bit slow, but nothing we couldn't handle. Their menu is huge and you always wonder if a place can do this many things well, but so far, so good on what we've tried.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
1 review
“Refreshing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I used to write reviews for restaurants in europe. Due to that fact I might be a bit picky. This restaurant has excellent food and good service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Library Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Hamilton County
Carmel, Hamilton County
 
Carmel, Hamilton County
Carmel, Hamilton County
 

Been to Woody's Library Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woody's Library Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.