We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Largs Pier Hotel March 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Largs Pier Hotel - Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Largs Pier Hotel - Motel to your Saves list
Largs Pier Hotel - Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 Esplanade, Largs Bay, South Australia 5016, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Largs Bay
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Largs Pier Hotel March 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Perfectly located in Port Adelaide where a friend and I attended a birthday party nearby. The room was clean and comfortable although it looked over the car park. A room looking over the beach would have been preferable. Bathroom was clean and had walk in shower. We ate breakfast there each morning and the menu choices were very good. The food was delicious and the service very good. There was a charge for internet access. We could walk to the beach across the road or out along the jetty. Picture perfect but very windy. I would stay at this hotel again. Not sure if there is a pool or fitness center. Our key didn't work one night and staff were happy to help - quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side would have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
24
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here with my bridal party the night before my wedding and the night of our wedding. Many of our guests also stayed here. the staff were excellent, very friendly and were ahppy to help with any request we had. the rooms were beautiful. The bathrooms are huge and the spa bath in the heritage suite was amazing. the price of food in the restuarant is reasonable. the views are spectacular! the housekeeping staff worked with us and were flexible in making up the room after we left for the wedding (after 2pm). using the premesis for photos was a breeze and the staff were more than happy to accommadate to our needs even during servcie of lunch.

Room Tip: the heritage suites are definately worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We wanted to visit Port Adelaide and its superb maritime museum, but also wanted to be near the beach so this hotel was ideal, being directly opposite Largs jetty. As usual we did not use the hotel restaurant, but it was obviously very popular. Instead we walked to Semaphore (about 15 minutes) and used the local Malaysian/Thai restaurant.
We had a ground floor room facing the road but were not aware of any particular traffic noise. The room was very comfortable and reception service was friendly and professional. There is very lively beach scene all along this section, from Henley through to Largs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

All we need was a couple of bags of ice and the attended looked us up and down then said for you $10. anywhere else in Australia it is almost half that price. The food is nice inside but again the prices are blown out.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dion D, Manager at Largs Pier Hotel - Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
The Largs Pier Hotel Sip'n’Save drive-through bottle shop is first class. Offering a vast selection of Australian and international wines, spirits and beers, the ‘bottle-o’ makes for excellent one-stop shopping. The bottle shop is perfectly located for last minute purchases for your day at the beach or for stocking your cellar. It has been serving South Australians for 60 years being the first drive through bottle shop established in Australia in 1953. A quick survey of local hotels indicates 5 kilo bags of ice available from the Largs Pier Hotel Sip n Save bottle shop are competitively priced as are our wines, spirits and beers.

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed dining at the Largs Pier Hotel. We endeavour to provide quality for your hard earned dollar and believe our very popular Largs Bar and Pier Restaurant have menus which appeal to most people’s palate and pocket. The seaside address of the hotel on The Esplanade Largs Bay ensures it a very popular spot for guests looking to have a day by the beach or enjoy dinner watching the sun set over the Bay. Please note our Hotel staff are very happy to provide complimentary buckets of ice to ensure your drinks are chilled while dining at the hotel.

Regards,

Vicki Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

How nice to find such a well preserved old historic hotel. This is not a location we know and we were really happy with our stay - sure, there is not much around the hotel but luckily it offers so much you don't need to worry. A great bar, Art Deco themed Restaurant, great breakfasts and easy parking. The bathroom is very small but well appointed. Bedroom is really well appointed and thought out with attention to detail and a nice couple of touches - like the way the kettle plugs in, and tasteful furnishings for the most part. The room we had is HUGE...perhaps the only strange thing is that anyone staying in the hotel or using facilities on ground level can walk and sit just outside your room - so if you want privacy you need to keep the curtains on 4 large windows fully closed ! We didn't have any issue with excessive noise on the weekend we stayed. Thanks Largs Pier for really charming experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dion D, Manager at Largs Pier Hotel - Motel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello Katkat22,

So good to hear you enjoyed the grandeur and old world character of the heritage listed Largs Pier Hotel. This iconic hotel has won awards with the Australian Hotel Association at both state and interstate level for its value for money mid range accommodation. Guests tell us they enjoy ambling along the boardwalk to Semaphore, cooling their heels under the jetty on a hot day or checking out the mad keen windsurfers and sailors on the weekend. The balconies wrap around the L shaped wing of both levels providing outstanding Bay views. Deluxe and Exec Spa room guests have direct room entry to the balcony via French doors.

Balconies are exclusive to in-house accommodation guests as key access is required to activate the landing hallway doors. Patrons enjoying the facilities of the Largs Bar and Pier Restaurant are welcome to sit on the decks and veranda areas of the hotel which are directly opposite the beach and children’s play area. There’s something for everyone at the Largs. Thank you for letting us know of your experience.

Regards,

Vicki Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I went to this fabulous venue to celebrate our anniversary, as we had our reception there many moons ago. Suffice to say, we were underwhelmed and somewhat disappointed. Here's the long version:

Checked in. Fantastic staff at the check-in counter, told us about the restaurant, the breakfast, what time sunset is, the room service menu, everything. Very friendly and can't fault them. Wish every hotel desk was like that.

Went up to our room, we stayed in the Executive Heritage Spa Suite, room 1. Rooms are huge, fitted out well, if anything the rooms are a bit too big, but it is a 130ish-year-old hotel so don't expect the absolute latest mod cons in regards to stratospheric ceilings. The boardroom-like table upon entry was fantastic and made for some great photos around sunset time. Excellent touch, that.

The bathroom is cavernous but fantastic. Spa worked a treat. Shower pressure was great. Now the bathroom was fantastic, but the cleanliness was not. There was long brown hair everywhere. Ew. Great cleaning job guys.

The bedroom is huge (running theme) but there was a glaring disappointment: 2 king single beds does not equal a king bed. Come on people. A big gap in the middle of the bed hardly whispers romance does it?

We went down for dinner in the Pier Restaurant, which was littered with flies both alive and dead on the floor. There's something about this place and a relative stagnation of air. It needs real fans. Having said that, the food was fantastic, service was prompt and with a smile, as it has always been.

The balcony and corresponding view is fantastic; you open the door and there it is. From this, though, starts a bone of contention:

Around 7ish that night we were enjoying the view from inside our room, as we had just walked on the beach. Anyways out of nowhere some Neanderthal and his leathery wife walk in front of our window (shocking us), pick up our table and chairs, and move them over to just out of our vision, but in front of the boardroom/dinner room door. From that, they parked their bods, sucked on some sav blanc, oysters and prawns, and laughed the night away, much to our chagrin.

Now from what I read, we had a shared balcony. This is fair enough. Having said this, any one who has a keycard for any part of the hotel/motel (and staying in a less expensive room!) can go wherever they please, and go in front of whoever they please. My wife and I weren't too sure what exactly to do in this situ: do you walk out there and tell them to go away? Do you ask politely? Do you whimper in your room like a coward, scared that their oyster-laden blood will tip them over the edge? I consulted the Largs Pier Hotel Information/Rulebook to see what the rules were on the balcony.

It does state that it is a shared balcony, but to call reception if there are any issues with other guests. I did so and got put through to the Gaming Room - the reception closes after 6pm, I assume - and was told that it was a shared balcony, and there was nothing that could be done. Fact.

This pissed me off to no end. What's the point of paying more for a better room/view when someone can walk in front of your room and drop his balding bod in front of yours? Why advertise a balcony then?

We retired to the bedroom, defeated. We drowned our sorrows in a bottle or two of Bird In Hand moscato and woke up with a lovely headache. Thankfully, they do breakfast downstairs. We went down there to have breakfast with the bloody flies. Yeah I get it was summer, but still, have some air movement people. The breakfast was lovely (again) and the service was great (again). Can't fault that!

Unfortunately, the neanderthal and his purse had sucked 2 dozen oysters and a fair few prawns dry, yet the staff hadn't picked up the plates left, so 8ish hours in 25*C heat meant that we walked out to a balcony that smelt like Bolivar. I can't blame the staff for not picking up the plates, as they probably had completely forgotten about it. Maybe don't let twits like that dine on the balcony?

Used the express check-out and left a note regarding our stay. It was followed up a few days later (prompt!), outlining that we are to contact the managers on duty if that happens again, even though we did that. What's the point of paying for the better room when you can crap on someone else's night and save $50? The letter outlined that this issue has been dealt with and won't happen again, so I would love to read other reviewers' experiences after The Issue has been dealt with. I'd also like to thank the manager for his prompt letter back regarding the issue. It is nice to feel like your voice is heard.

All in all, the service and face-to-face contact was fantastic, but the few drawbacks were major. Underwhelming and disappointing. Would love to give it a try again possibly in winter months to give it the benefit of the doubt.

Room Tip: Ask if any Neanderthals are staying. If so, bring a rock to beat them away from your stoop/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dion D, Manager at Largs Pier Hotel - Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We were very pleased to hear you were impressed with the level of service, dining and accommodation at The Largs Pier hotel which has won awards with the Australian Hotel Association both at state and national level. I work on the front desk of the hotel and remember checking you into the Executive Spa room. As owner of the hotel, I was delighted to commend our Function Coordinator for your return based on the quality of your wedding reception held at the Largs Pier Hotel two years prior.

As advised, the issue regarding exclusive use of balcony tables for guests who have booked deluxe and executive rooms has been addressed. We took immediate action to ensure your experience will not be repeated. We endeavour to continually improve the facilities on offer at the Hotel. Guest feedback is an integral part of this improvement program and as such is highly valued.

We look forward to your return to once again enjoy the unique ambience and attributes of this heritage listed sea side hotel.

Vicki Dean
Largs Pier Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Linton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed in the motel for a couple of nights. It was clean, functional and comfortable. Staff were pleasant enough. Air conditioning unit worked well but was noisy. Nothing really to complain about. It just didn't do anything to impress.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Largs Pier Hotel - Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Largs Pier Hotel - Motel

Address: 198 Esplanade, Largs Bay, South Australia 5016, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Largs Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Largs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Largs Pier Hotel - Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Largs Pier Hotel - Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Largs Pier Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Largs Pier Hotel - Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.