We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
21 Maplehurst Dr, Brownsburg, IN 46112-9085
+1 317-858-7610
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 64 Restaurants in Brownsburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A classic Steak 'n Shake restaurant here but with better management. The manager cooks and works right along with the staff and seems to have high standards for service, food and all-around quality. They were super busy and we had great service and good food. The restaurant seemed much cleaner than most. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    4
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Bargain Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had 12 people in our party for breakfast. Good meal and a very good price. We enjoyed the fact that there were few people at the restaurant early and we felt we had the restaurant to ourselves.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The food is good, the staff seems to know what to do, I get good service there, and I go back when ever I can.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Health Department needs to check”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Food itself was okay - your basic Steak N Shake food. However, the service is horrible. We watched as two young girls spent half of their meal THROWING food back and forth through the SERVICE WINDOW at one of the cooks in the back. GROSS. Food was hitting the floor and who knows where else in the cooking/service area. We informed our waitress this was happening, but all she did was inform the two teens that "hey those people over there are watching you." Finally, my husband informed the manager. We left, and have not returned.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Fast Service and Good Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Fair prices, fast service, and good food. The place was always busy when we got there. The food was good but not exellent. For a decent fast food place this is it. Servers and management were nice and friendly.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak 'n Shake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.