We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we could have wanted and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Murphy Guest House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Murphy Guest House Bed and Breakfast
112 So. Division St., PO Box 66, Bristol, IN 46507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Bristol B&B and Inns
Arlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Everything we could have wanted and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was my first B&B stay, and Ann has truly set the bar high for others in the future. Everything about the stay was amazing. Ann was accommodating with a late check in and early check out; the welcome plate of cheese, crackers, grapes, and chocolate covered strawberries was delicious; the breakfasts were extraordinary (everything was great, but the lavender bread was absolutely amazing)... The only thing lacking was a TV in the room, which is always nice to fall asleep to, but easy to do without. I will definitely be looking to stay here in the future, and although the distance to Notre Dame is farther than other places to stay in the area, it's worth it.

Room Tip: We only stayed in Camryn's room, but it's a great option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After 20 some years of B&Bs, we think this is the best one we have found. Ann's attention to detail and knowledge of the local area is awesome; plus she is willing to advise without being bossy. We loved all the small details and amenities which were there but not over the top. The beds are comfortable and the food amazing. We don't often go back to B&Bs because there are so many to try; this one is the exception. I would say there is a lot to do in the area if you enjoy walking, scenic peaceful drives and learning about an area and culture, which we do. The quilt garden tour is fun, well organized and Ann can give the audio guide and lots of details!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

bristol is close to the main amish area,,truthfully,,a nice area but not much going on,,but,if you are staying any where in that area i think you would be very happy at this b and b,,anne,,the owner and host,,is overly attentive to ever need,,this seems to be her main passion in life,,she loves to cook and spoiled us with the breakfast options and daily mid afternoon treats and always a bedtime snack,,she made my wife a glutin free brown with homemade orange glaze,,,anne really made the visit seem like staying with a friend,,,i only gave a 4 because i consider 5 star only for the ultimate top,,,but this place was nice,,we stayed for 3 nights..

Room Tip: all rooms seemed the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

No one will make you feel more welcomed and more at home than Ann at Murphy's Guest House. From the moment we arrived she was friendly and warm. She even made me gluten free snacks and breakfast when she found out I was gluten intolerant.

The inn is in a great location, nicely decorated and all at a great value. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Murphy Guest House has become a home away from home. We love the proprietor and her fabulous breakfasts and welcome baskets. Visits there always make us want to go back again. The theater in town offers wonderful productions. Worth going to a play.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have "scrapped" with Ann multiple times and returned recently to catch up with her. The room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was enough to keep us satisfied through dinner. You can even request lunch boxes for a reasonable fee to take with you for your trip home.
The expanded tea shop and the addition of flavored sugars and other spices provided lots of taste tests and group discussions. Ann offers knowledge & suggestions for whatever you have in mind.
We've been to many weekend crops and Ann is very open to requests specific to our craft. She is tops! We plan to return with group of 7+ to scrapbook at the end of the month and are ecstatic to have her as host.
Thanks Ann!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were in this area for a wedding, and Murphy Guest House was recommended to us. We had only stayed in one bed and breakfast, and we were unsure of how we would like it. For starters, the home is lovely--high ceilings and original trim work (beautiful wood). The rooms were good-sized and comfortable. The proprietor's attention to detail is amazing: "Welcome" cheese and crackers, strawberries dipped in chocolate (with our initials on them), bed-side water carafe with ice water, turn down service with mints on pillow, coffee and a wonderful selection of teas, a frig outside the bedroom with water and ice cream, and a gourmet breakfast with an elegant table setting. The attention to detail was amazing!
Murphy Guest House exceeded our expectations. We were very pleased!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury 4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews Eby's Pines Campground 3.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
View all 0 hotels in Bristol, ranked by popularity

Been to Murphy Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 112 So. Division St., PO Box 66, Bristol, IN 46507
Location: United States > Indiana > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 1875 Victorian Home. All 3 rooms have private baths. A candlelight full gourmet breakfast served each morning. Close to Amish Country, canoeing and kayaking, Bonneville Mill Park for hiking and cross-country skiing. There is a beautiful flower garden view from each bedroom window. Cable TV and wireless internet. Easy access to Notre Dame, 3 minutes off of the toll road. We offer a complete pampering experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy Guest House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Murphy Guest House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list