We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trevallyn House B & B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Trevallyn House B & B to your Saves list
Trevallyn House B & B
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   83a Riverside Dr, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Great Gourmet Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Riverside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

It was a comfortable room, delicious breakfast, beautiful view of the river (but be aware there's a highway between you and the river). You need a car because the B&B is located about 10 minutes outside of town.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
80
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

They certainly live up to expectations. I need not repeat what others had said, especially about the river view and the breakfast-- simply sublime. What moved us most was the people, generous and always ready to serve and help. Don't miss this place. Book early to get the double room with river view. The one with a single room attached is facing backyard.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We had only a fleeting visit to this B&B due a late arrival and early start the next day but what we saw was good. Our “room” consisted of a double bedroom plus a bathroom with spa bath, a separate WC and then a further single bedroom. It was a pity we weren’t there long enough to use the bath which would have helped sooth our limbs after a couple of weeks of sightseeing. It would certainly make for a very comfortable base to explore the area for anyone with time to spare.

The breakfast was excellent, among the best we’ve had at a B&B and the view from the dining room looking out across the water was fantastic.

We did find the place a little tricky to locate, particularly having arrived after nightfall, but follow the directions provided by the owners and you should be fine. All in all we had a brief but comfortable stay here and couldn’t fault anything.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, Viriginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed all three. Janey and Brett were warm, down-to-earth, helpful hosts. Brett's breakfasts are wonderful. The rooms are tastefully furnished in a contemporary style. The view of the Tamar River from the front patio is wonderful. The B&B is a short ways out of Launceston, but an easy drive in for dinner.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

A wonderful welcome at the start of our Tassie adventure. Friendly welcome, the port and chocolates is a nice touch, and breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Spent 2 nights here in early January. Was particularly attracted by other reviews of the breakfasts & they definitely did not disappoint -fantastic. We had the spa room which was really nicely renovated and amazingly clean, beautiful views up the Tamar Valley too. Main guest lounge a bit "B&Bish" for my taste but all so tranquil & beautifully presented. Port & chocolates each night was a lovely touch. Hosts are friendly but not too in your face, we will be back.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

This place is everything these reviews say and more. I booked it after hearing so many positive things. My wife and I stayed for one night in the self contained cottage which was spacious and spotlessly clean. Our hosts were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. What a delight! This was our first night in our Tassie trip and certainly got our holiday off to a relaxing start!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trevallyn House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevallyn House B & B

Address: 83a Riverside Dr, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trevallyn House B & B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully appointed rooms with a blend of antique and modern furniture with queens size beds, luxury linen and a spa in each suite. 2 Bedroom Spa Cottage with lovely views.   5 Minutes from Launceston's City Centre,  the Cataract Gorge and the Tamar Valley Wine Route.  Offering an idyllic blend of comfort and convenience.  The Gourmet breakfast is something special. Guest Lounge with wonderful views.  Ample off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Trevallyn House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trevallyn House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.