We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply breathtaking...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trevallyn House B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Trevallyn House B & B to your Saves list
Trevallyn House B & B
83a Riverside Dr, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Great Gourmet Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Riverside B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simply breathtaking...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights with Trevallyn House, and all I can say is everything was fabulous! The cottage was so pretty, clean and cosy. The kitchen was equipped with all that was necessary, induction cooker, kettle, oven, microwave, utensils and even a fridge. Cooking our own dinner was never easier! Heater was provided as well, nothing beats having a warm room after a day out in the cold. We could even have a barbeque at the front of the house, overlooking the beautiful scenery.

Janie and Brett were great hosts, and Brett cooks excellent breakfast! Variety was good, there were cereals with milk for the health conscious, hot drinks or juices, few different types of toasts and 5 different types of mains to choose from. Fresh butter and homemade jam were provided as well. We specially loved the fig jam, it was so fragrant and not too sweet! The dining room was so elaborately decorated and furnished we were mesmerized! Very strongly recommended for those who are visiting Tasmania!

http://www.poportion.blogspot.sg/2014_03_01_archive.html

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your great review and I am sure our Guests will enjoy reading what you liked most about staying at "Trevallyn House".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
71
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Delightful hospitality from Janie and Brett. Gorgeous house, well appointed and private rooms with well designed and finished bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and the views from the property over the Tamar valley are gorgeous. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Jackson, Thank you for your review and we hope that both of you can come back and enjoy what we have to offer in the North of the State.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was the last night on a trip around Tassie with my adult son. We picked this B&B as it looked attractive and homely with lovely views and beautiful surrounds and we were not disappointed. It was even better than expected! The apartment had a separate bedroom as required and was beautifully decorated throughout. The little extra homely touches also made it special. We were also anticipating the wonderful breakfast that others had raved about and it certainly was fantastic. A truly wonderful choice of gourmet offerings with options for both gluten free and vegetarian diets. The location is a little out of town but this made it peaceful and took advantage of the views over the Tamar valley. Janie and Brett are wonderful hosts and I would highly recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for writing your very informative review for other Guests to read. We take great pleasure in reading the reviews and so pleased when Guests have enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The website does not reveal the magnificent view and beauty from Janie and Brett's beautifully appointed and comfortable home on a knoll. I stayed in the front facing queen bedroom. It was spacious, comfortable, and immaculate. I could see the green valley view of pastoral Launceston and the winding Tamar River from my bed. Sunrise and sunsets were magnificent. Guests also have the option to use the spacious living room or outside tables, both facing the expansive view.

The home cooked breakfast was excellent and filling. Enjoying a hot meal and the view was a treat. I could have stayed at the home to read, or enjoy wine and snacks. Both Janie and Brett were kind and welcoming. My dear friend who lives in Launceston was so impressed after seeing Trevallyn House, that she will be referring her clients and friends here. This was like staying at the gorgeous home of a relative and not wanting to leave. When I return to Launceston, Trevallyn House will be my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
We are so pleased that you decided to stay with us. It was lovely to talk to you and hear about the US and what you have achieved. Hopefully your husband can make the trip to Tasmania another time and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Both my partner and i loved this place. Its close to shops and the Cataract Gorge,but once you get there you fell as if you are surrounded by peace and quiet.
The hosts Janie and Brett (i hope i got the names right) are very lovely people and her breakfasts are fantastic, her homemade fig jam was delightful. The view from the dining room was spectacular.
We stayed in the spa cabin and it had its own little kitchen, the beds were comfy and everything was spotless. Well done, would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try and get the cabin, but having talked to fellow travellers who had stayed in the main house they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Christine, It was a pleasure looking after you both and we look forward to your return and we still have some of the fig jam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the cottage (which fit up to 4 people) and the cottage was LOVELY! It is quiet, clean, had all the basic amenities, a very comfortable bed and a wonderful view.

The host Janie is extremely nice and the breakfast she prepared was superb!! Every question I had during the booking process were attended to promptly and patiently, and 1 night between 2 that we were away to Cradle Mountain, Janie allowed us to leave all our luggages in the cottage as we're lucky enough that night the cottage wasn't booked! That saved us a lot of packing hassle and enjoyed our vacation to the max.

The B&B is around 3-4 min drive away from the Launceston city centre and provides free parking. A supermarket nearby and with all the cookwares in kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed staying in our Cottage and had a superb!!! breakfast and we hope you had a great time touring and exploring Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you want a good spot for a base to explore the Tamar Valley, Trevallyn House is a very pleasant B and B. the room we stayed in was spacious - really a bed- sitting room. We arrived very tired and were pleased to find we could easily nick down to the local supermarket to buy some provisions to 'eat in' for dinner. Basic kitchen crockery and cutlery were provided and we had a relaxing wine on the patio outside, overlooking the river flats. There was also a comfortable lounge for visitors that would have been lovely on a cold afternoon. The hosts were friendly and non intrusive, and the breakfast next morning was excellent. It's a short drive to Launceston and to local restaurants, so not really for those who want a city base, but great if you want an early start to the wineries or north coast. A barbeque for the use of guests would have been a good idea.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie178, Owner at Trevallyn House B & B, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello Susan, Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed staying with us. We have 2 BBQ's for Guests to use. The Cottage has a lovely deck area with a BBQ and then there is another one in the back Courtyard for the in house Guests. Hopefully you will be able to use it next time you are here. Cheers Janie & Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trevallyn House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevallyn House B & B

Address: 83a Riverside Dr, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully appointed rooms with a blend of antique and modern furniture with queens size beds, luxury linen and a spa in each suite. 2 Bedroom Spa Cottage with lovely views.   5 Minutes from Launceston's City Centre,  the Cataract Gorge and the Tamar Valley Wine Route.  Offering an idyllic blend of comfort and convenience.  The Gourmet breakfast is something special. Guest Lounge with wonderful views.  Ample off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Trevallyn House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trevallyn House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.