We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamar River Villas

Save Saved
You added Tamar River Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamar River Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23-27 Elouera Street, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Riverside
Hamburg
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Newly renovated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in appt. # 13, which was spacious and had a newly renovated bedroom and modern bathroom. The kitchen had only got a bit of a brush up but was really well equipped with lots of cooking utensils. The only drawback to the motel is its location between two very busy roads - you can always hear traffic but at night it gets quieter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
18
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good value motel with plenty of off street parking. We had a view of Tamar RIver and was only a few minutes from Launceston city. The room was large and had recently been refurbished with a whole kitchen room, although the cupboards were outdated. THe bathroom was clean and modern and both the kitchen and bathroom had opening windows. We had a lot of street noise but only at peak hour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Superb value motel within 5 minutes from Launceston city and other beautiful area attractions, including the Tamar River, various parks and other must see sites. I have stayed here a couple of times in the standard rooms. The spacious rooms have been completely refurbished, with modern furniture, plasma televisions, great cooking facilities and lovely bathrooms.

The location of this motel provides a great base to enjoy visiting several local wineries. Danny and Fiona provide friendly family orientated management and enjoy having a chat and resolving any issues guests may have. This motel is absolutely the best value accommodation in the Launceston area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 21 it was clean and spacious. However it was certainly had a very dated kitchen. The heater has an auto cut off and turns itself off all the time. I certainly would not want to stay in this room when the temp very hot and very cold. We ran out of hot water and when the apartment upstairs flushed or showered was very noisy. There is traffic noise but we were so tired we able to tune it out. The laundry cost $2 to wash and $4 to dry but you need to dry twice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Well i am kind of a person whi doesnt waste time writting reviews but both the managers have been so good to our family of 4 and the room was so good that i cant complain. One of the best accomodation.

Zeeshan

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I travel to Launceston for family visits monthly. We have been staying at Tamar River Villas for well over 12 months now. We always stay in an upstairs unit with a great water view and find the unit clean and well presented. We usually cook our meals and find the kitchen adequate, and the bed/lounge room plenty large enough. Cannot fault hosts, Danny and Fiona, always greeted with a smile and a welcoming chat. This is not five star accommodation, nor is it a five star price. Our number of stays speak for themselves.
Kevin S

Room Tip: Upstairs units have nice water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed in this place recently and found it to worst experience in Tasmania. We travel every school holidays and our experience in this place was not a fond one, the shower was in the bath and at 5ft 10 I had to stoop under it, the toilet was poked around the corner behind the wash basin and being sandwiched between a major highway the traffic noise was unbearable.
The lounge was filthy dirty and the flourescent light in the master bedroom above our heads was coated in a thick dusty layer and I think you get the message.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danLaunceston7250, Manager at Tamar River Villas, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Pleasantly surprised to here Guest's comments, we as Managers understand if there was dust on the light, we are responsible, our Lounge Suite is only carrying general ware and tare, from consistent Motel use.
Our shower is over the bath, our toilet is arround the corner for some privacy, not behind the wash Basin, unfortunately they were designed this way before we arrived as Managers, Guest's still request Baths knowing the Shower is over the Bath, we do have some with walk in showers on request, The Highway is out of our control.
Our Guest's were booked in to a Studio, as Managers we could see there was a third party traveling,and decided to upgrade Guest's to a Two Bedroom Apartment, I guess some times things just dont go to plan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamar River Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamar River Villas

Address: 23-27 Elouera Street, Riverside, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Riverside
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamar River Villas 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Tamar River Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamar River Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.