We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Poseidon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Poseidon Hotel to your Saves list
Poseidon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Possidonos Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 17562, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Athens
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the hotel is in a great location as it is right next to the sea and the marina of Alimos and has a bus and tram station right outside, but I guess you will have to take a sea view room in order to fully enjoy it. As I could not afford that, I chose a room with no sea view. The cleanliness was ok and the staff were helpfull but the room was certainly not worth the money. It had no character and frankly I wouldn't want to spend another night there. I just didn't feel like it. There is also a free welcome drink offered at the hotel's restaurant, which is a plus!

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view at a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    124
    61
    19
    18
See reviews for
62
118
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Thanks a lot for the fine accomodation. The hotel is very well located close to the sea. The hotel has a very friendly staff and cozy rooms. Thanks a lot once again. Strongly recommended. It was really nice trip. Athens are very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Simple but very good hotel, clean bedrooms and bathroom. Good restaurant in the first floor and nice view in the restaurant in the last floor. Swimming pool with bar on top and good music all day long.
Located in front of the beach, with a private restaurant and beach chairs and tables available to the costumers. Sidewalk close to the beach and also lots of bus stop and tram stations in front of the hotel. From the balcony of the front apartments there is a wonderful view of the sea and the islands in front.

Room Tip: Nice view in the front apartments and quiet apartments in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

It was low season ...but we were not allowed on the roof terrace...even to take photos!
The staff were really friendly. Amazing. Really helpful and know the area well.
The lift was scary...you would have to see it to believe it.
This was a stop off for us so not a long stay. The first room (211) was, im pretty sure was a cupboard.
The second room smelt a little of smoke. Disturbingly from our shower we could see into a neighbours shower?!
The view was terrible from both rooms.
HOWEVER we kept teminding ourselves that it was £20 a night so what should we expect.
The breakfast was fab.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mykonos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Needs to upgrade its services and staff to get more polite!! Location worthwhile. Hotel needs refurnishing and eventhough it was recommended by a friend and I received a discount on my stay, still I have to say it was not worth its money. My friend had stayed many years before and was astonished by the manners and service provided by the staff, it seems this has changed since then. The location is very nice for those that dont want to stay in the city center, very close is a commercial market and a lovely marina with cafes. Transportation is frequent with a stop right outside the Hotel.

Room Tip: Go to another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The worst experience we had while visiting Greece and staying at many wonderful hotels. This hotel is nothing but the front. The photographs on the hotel's website and on booking.com do not give a realistic view of the hotel.

When we arrived at the hotel and came to the reception, we met a very unwelcoming, unhelpful and arrogant front desk employee. We wanted to go to another hotel but were too exhausted after a long travel day to go and find something else.

The room was very dated, surely needs a painting job (you could smell that this was once a smoking room), not clean and horrible beds. It was "a sea view room" which sounded rather nice but it should be called "a room with lots of noise from the traffic". We could have just as easily slept in a tent in front of the hotel, so much was the noise. And we hardly caught any sleep at all. The dirty and dated room made you feel as you could expect a cockroach or bed bugs coming crawling on you while sleeping.

From the first minute we regret staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Ended up at the Poseidon Hotel Beach Club by chance and had a great day. It was €7 for the day but that included a welcome ice cold free bottle of water. The presence of the staff meant that I felt safe to leave my belongings with my lounger whilst I swam. Easy to get to from central Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poseidon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Hotel

Address: 72 Possidonos Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 17562, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poseidon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athens Hotel Poseidon is ideally located in the seafront of Athens, in a walking distance from Alimos & Flisvos Marinas, next to Centre. Bus & Tram stops by hotel entrance provide direct, indisruptable, easy & quick access to historical Centre, Athens International Airport (Eleftherios Venizelos) & Piraeus Port. Specially awarded Buffet Breakfast (incorporated in the price),including 80 different homemade dishes (from traditional pies to sweets & pastries).Services include restaurant on the top floor, famous Sky Cocktail Bar, Swimming Pool, Pool Bar, Beach Tavern, Beach Bar & Sun beds. Wise business and city break choice offering proximity combined with undisruptable city access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poseidon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Paleo Faliro
Poseidon Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poseidon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.