We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supposed to be 5 stars, but aging small rooms. And a 1 small bottle of water 'mini bar'.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 17564, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Supposed to be 5 stars, but aging small rooms. And a 1 small bottle of water 'mini bar'.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed 4 nights as part of a tour. Big hotel. And away from the centre, although there is an hourly shuttle bus. Rooms are okay, smallish size, but I suppose this is par for Europe. The CRT TV tells you it's age! Breakfast was average. Faces a major road, but the double glass window works in cutting down on the noise. Until you need to ventilate the room that is. A few in our group complained their rooms smells, musty and cigarettes.

Shower head leaks. Yes, they rectified that immediately after a complaint. But that should NEVER happen in a 5 star property. Housekeeping should have noted that and rectified before letting out the room.

And the gem of the place: there is one, yes, one 500ml bottle of mineral water in the fridge. Nothing else, and no notice on the "mini bar" pricing. So we assume that it's free, as most hotels will provide some free drinking water. We took it on the first day. It was not replaced the next day. No big deal. Another appeared the 3rd day, and we took that as well. And the gem: on check out we were charged 3 Euros for using the "minibar".

Unfortunately our group had to leave early on a tight schedule at departure, so I had no time to confront the hotel about this and just paid.

Be forewarned. The smallest "minibar" in the world.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    163
    103
    31
    26
See reviews for
51
110
26
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room was small. Good restaurants and food. Good functional meeting rooms. Projection machine did not work. Good sound isolation, close to main road. Rooms need upgrading. Public areas are in a better condition than rooms. As said good for short business trips.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear fsgucum,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your nice experience while staying at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We were very pleased to know that you were satisfied with the restaurants of our hotel, the meeting rooms and the public areas.

We have taken onboard your comment abour the rooms and we are pleased to tell you that there is a plan to review the status of our rooms and act accordingly when needed.

Once again we thank you for your kind comments and we all are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Metropolitan Hotel, Athens.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent three nights at this hotel on a recent visit to Greece and were very pleased with everything. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the staff were friendly and very helpful, and the food was delicious. We ate breakfast and dinner there every day and were well pleased with the meals. They even have a "healthy" area of the buffet! The hotel is located in a busy area with shops within walking distance. Accommodations were clean.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear drmomaa,

We do appreciate your time taken to share with us your pleasant experience while staying at the Metropolitan Hotel.
It was a pleasure to know that you totally enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the size and comfort of our rooms, the friendliness of our staff, the quality of the meals you had in our hotel and the location.
Your feedback is valuable to all of us and I have already shared your wonderful comments with my team members.
Thank you again for your time and we all are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Metropolitan Hotel, Athens.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to me as it was close to the place I was visiting for work. I was happy to see it was cheap and had 5 stars. The staff were slow and not very friendly. The breakfast was shoddy, who eats hotdogs for breakfast? My room was on the 5th floor and I was shocked to see vomit stains on the carpet in the hall was, disgusting. My experience of this hotel was negative and I m surprised that some people have rated it excellent, I can only assume they have never been to a good hotel!

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Bigbri272,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not having fully met your expectations. Indeed there was stains on the carpet from bleach and kindly be informed that there is a plan to review the status of our rooms.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and we hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogstraten, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

I have stayed at this hotel for a few days and was not really impressed by its location nor the quality of the hotel itself. The rooms looked quite old. Fortunately the breakfast was ok, but that is it. BTW, front desk crew was not too friendly, but that is personally.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sven F,

We sincerely appreciate your time taken to write your comments regarding your stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

The location of the hotel is indeed a couple miles from the centre of town but we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from the centre of Athens. Within walking proximity of the hotel there are a number of shops, supermarket, pharmacy and restaurants. Also lovely sea side restaurants on walking distance.

Regarding your comment for old rooms we are pleased to tell you that there is a plan to review the status of our rooms and act accordingly when needed.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the Metropolitan Hotel.

Sincerely Yours,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

It has clean room, nice staff but old facilities. The curtain in our room was not able to be fully closed. I have to say that it is not a real 5 star hotel but maybe 4. The pool is not open except for the summer time.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear zheKWT,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We greatly appreciate your positive comments about clean rooms and nice staff.

We have taken onboard your comment for old facilities and we are pleased to tell you that there is a plan to review the status of our rooms and act accordingly when needed.

Once again we thank you for your time and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

This is a good four-star hotel in Athens, mostly for business travelers. I was there for a few times already and always enjoyed it. The breakfast is good and, weather permitting, you can have it outside, in a small enclosed courtyard. A bit of fresh air is a good way to start a business day full of meetings etc. The hotel could use some refurbishment as the decor is a bit dated. Wifi was not free when I started going there (2012), but now it is. Rooms are good, I would say standard for this sort of hotel. Overall, a good choice for a business traveler.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2015
Dear Fernando B,

We do appreciate your time taken to share with us your pleasant experience while staying at the Metropolitan Hotel.

It was a pleasure to know that you were satisfied by the breakfast buffet, the courtyard and the rooms and that you always do enjoy your stay at our hotel.

Once again we thank you for your kind comments and we all are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Metropolitan Hotel, Athens.

Yours Sincerely,

Penny Zaglaridou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: 385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 17564, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel, in front of the new Faliron Olympic coastal park very close to the city centre. Hotel offers daily complimentary shuttle service to town and back. Available in the vicinity one can find a variety of high street shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.