We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel??? NO WAY!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 17564, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 star hotel??? NO WAY!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

They've asked for full payment at the check in like a cheap sex hotel!! When i said that this was unacceptable the staff just laughed at me!!! They didn't even tell us which floor our room was! All they cared about was to get the money upfront saying that these were the hotel's rules! And they didn't stop there.... When we asked for our car, they gave us the key and they said... "Walk up to the end of the road and you will find it"!!! We went there just for a few hours really tired after a wedding. i wonder what would have happened if we were to stay there for a couple of days!! So..... 5 star hotel??? Not even in their dreams!!! Bad choice anyway, especially if you know that there a couple of fine hotels at the same avenue nearby(intercontinental , marriot).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Mr Anestis D ,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience during your recent stay in our hotel.
We are truly surprised to hear that you oppose to a credit policy which is adopted by all the hotel chains worldwide!
Kindly be informed that according to this policy, any guest who walks in a hotel to hire a room, should present a credit card to guarantee settlement otherwise cash prepayment of the room rate is required.
Upon check in you stated that you do not have a credit card and the Front desk agent explained politely that the room should be prepaid in cash. The same policy – we assure you – is implemented not only in the “fine” hotels you claim at the same avenue, but in all the decent hotels globally. In any case we consider unfair such a comment just because the Metropolitan complies to an international standard procedure.
Additionally our hotel offers a free of charge valet service either in the hotel’s parking or in front of the hotel which is the case when you arrived. Our doorman received your car upon arrival and parked it in front of the hotel within sight as to ensure safety. The same procedure stands for delivery unless the guest requires the car keys.
We regret if the prepayment issue did not meet your expectations resulting to a bitter starting impression, however we assure you that we always consider the feedback from our guests as to continuously improve the services delivered.

Yours sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    162
    103
    31
    26
See reviews for
51
110
26
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elmshorn, Germany
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

stayed for 2 nights, large breakfast selection and rooms, the roof terrace is a great place to see a nice sunset and also, in the distance, Acropole, will come again. Prices for Dinner at the roof terrace are moderate. Taxi to Acropole about 7 €

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Peter G.,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the large selection we offer in breakfast, the rooms and the views from our roof terrace.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was the second year in a row we've stayed at the Metropolitan, and they never disappoint. The room is spacious, super-clean, and the views are amazing. The service was excellent, as was the food and other amenities. It's also conveniently located. Highly recommend for those traveling to Athens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mrs. Erica C,

We sincerely appreciate your time taken to offer us your feedback from your recent stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you once again enjoyed your stay at our hotel and you found the room spacious, clean and the views amazing.

We also thank you for your comments regarding the service and the food and your recommendation for Metropolitan Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future where once again you may enjoy our warm hospitality.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visiting Athens on leisure it was the best choice. Great location right between the city and the coast. The staff very attentive, always ready to help. Quality breakfast with extensive variety. Nice comfortable rooms and most importantly, clean. Our first time there and most probably not the last.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr. John S,

We appreciate your time taken to offer us your feedback from your recent stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We are happy to read your positive comments about the location of our hotel, the service of our staff, the variety and quality of breakfast and the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms.

Thank you once more for your review and we hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Metropolitan when you next visit Athens in order to offer you a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

One of the few 5-star hotels in Athens area, that really worth it. Enjoy the Restaurant and the Pool.

Fantastic, as every Chandris Hotel in Greece

The service is amazing and they will never dissapoint you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear CR131980,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel and for your preference in Chandris Hotels.
We were pleased to note that you enjoyed our restaurant and pool and that you are satisfied by the service of our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future in one of Chandris Hotels where once again you may enjoy our warm hospitality.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Was put in a tiny room that you could not swing a cat in on arrival. Found rubbish in my bin and carpets had not been vacumed , after travelling from dubai and staying in a lovely hotel i was horrified. They transferred me to another room which was much better. I thought i had misplaced something and went back the next day to the old room, it still had not been attended to and even the face washer i had used was still there. Breakfast was great, staff were lovely really took care of you and once i completed my trafalgar tour i returned there and the staff remembered me which was great. Had a lovely 2 hour massage as it was my birthday, this was great. Once you know where u r it is not too far from the city, just a short cab ride. They were very good and kept the overload of our luggage whilst we went on our trafalgar trip.they really need to update especially inthe hallways,very 70's and drab. Stay in the heart of Athens, i felt a bit lost staying here!

Room Tip: Do not accept room that overlooks the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mrs Andrea S,
Thank you for bringing to our attention details of the service delivered during your recent stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear your positive comments about the attitude of our staff, since the Metropolitan is well known for its “people who make the difference”.
Kindly be informed that I personally looked into the cleanliness issues and we really appreciate your help since our customers’ comments help us to continuously improving our services. According to our quality procedures in case we identify a major defect in a room, it is not released and or serviced by the housekeeping before we verify corrective action (the reason it was not attended until the next day).
Concerning the hallways update we would like to assure you that our Company is constantly investing on our facilities renovation while the free of charge hotel shuttle provides easy access to the city centre every hour.
I sincerely hope to welcoming you at the Metropolitan on your next trip to Athens.

Yours sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our excursion from the Royal Princess stopped here for lunch after visiting the Temple of Poseidon & before visiting The Parthenon. The buffet lunch was very good. Several vegetable dishes, three meat dishes, breads, red & white wine, excellent dessert table, soft drinks...all was included in the excursion cost. Very clean rest rooms. Staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Grady A.,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding the buffet lunch you had in our hotel. We are also pleased to read that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of our rest rooms and the service offered by our staff.

We sincerely hope that you’ll choose Metropolitan Hotel on your next trip to Athens in order to enjoy our warm hospitality.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: 385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 17564, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel, in front of the new Faliron Olympic coastal park very close to the city centre. Hotel offers daily complimentary shuttle service to town and back. Available in the vicinity one can find a variety of high street shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.