We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel located where Greeks live and work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 17564, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel located where Greeks live and work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Metropolitan Hotel for four days a week ago (April 2013). The Metropolitan is a great 4 star hotel, located at a reasonable distance from the city center of Athens in a neighborhood surrounded by businesses, schools, residential houses and apartments. The location is very agreeable and allows a glimpse to the way local Athenians work and live. Also, we were able to find at least five really good restaurants at a short walking distance to the hotel. This hotel cater mostly to businesses travelers, which was the primary purpose of our trip to Greece. Nevertheless, families are welcome and may experience a pleasant stay at the Metropolitan. We booked two connecting rooms as we were travelling with our children. The rooms were spacious, with new furnishings, always cleaned on time and adequately. This hotel has at least three restaurants. We mostly used the main restaurant for breakfast. Previous reviews on Trip Advisor and elsewhere indicated that the breakfast buffet was excellent. I personally do not agree with this-the buffet is okay but not in any way outstanding. Overall, this is a good hotel particularly if you are looking for a place to hold a conference or large business meeting. I would not necessarily choose this hotel if only travelling to Athens for pleasure and sightseeing. On a very positive note, this hotel has a bus service to the center of Athens (Syntagma Square) that runs every hour. My family and I did use the bus service a lot, which was really great -they were always on time and saved some of our expenses with taxis.
On a negative note, the hotel staff was not necessarily friendly -they were professional but really lacked the typical friendliness of the Greek people. This is my second trip to Athens and have experience more friendly hotel staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr. FrozenSun,

We appreciate the time taken to review our property at tripadvisor.com.

We are happy to read your positive comments about the location of our hotel and the shuttle bus service and we are pleased to read that you found our rooms spacious and clean.

We would also like to assure you that our staff is constantly trained on guest contact and courtesy and that our Company continuously invests on the human factor. However we consider your comment a positive criticism and will certainly take the corrective actions when necessary

Thank you once more for your review and we hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Metropolitan when you next visit Athens in order to offer you a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    149
    91
    30
    25
See reviews for
50
105
25
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a standard hotel, with a nice lobby and polite staff. Rooms are ok and the bathroom clean. The hotel could use some paint, new curtains and new carpet. However the beds are good. Too bad they only have free wifi in the lobby, this is standard in all hotels at this level. Breakfast is at a higher level and the attached restaurant is good (avenue). Overall good hotel for business trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Kvelderen,

We sincerely appreciate your time taken to offer us your feedback from your recent stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.
Thank you for your kind comments about our polite staff, nice lobby and clean bathroom. Also we’re pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast as well as the dinner in Avenue Bistro.
Your comment about the internet connection is taken under serious consideration.
We’re looking forward to welcome you back in the near future where once again you may enjoy our warm hospitality.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose the Metropolitan because we stayed at the Met in Thessaloniki and liked it. As it belongs to the same group, we thought standards would be equal.
The hotel is located in the medical district of Athens. It is surrounded by hospitals. The good thing is that it is easily accessible by car, it has a private parking and a shuttle bus bringing you to Syntagma Square. The rooms are small, but ok, this is Athens. The shock was the bathroom. It looked old, very small, with a bathtub serving as shower (elderly people or people with knee problems cannot shower there) with a shower curtain !! Nothing worse than when you are in the shower with a curtain sticking to your legs... As soon as you switched the tab to the shower position, water was spitting out from everywhere, soaking the bathroom. The joints in the shower were full of black fungus, and the day of our arrival long black hair was sticking to the shower walls. Internet in the room is available but has to be paid for, free internet in the lobby. Breakfast was very nice, although the first morning we were quite late and so there was no more bacon and the eggs were really "cooked". We had dinner at the Avenue restaurant, very disappointing. The french chef Michel Roux may have made up the menu, but he is surely not cooking it. The rack of lamb was ok, but the "caramelized" leaks were not caramelized and the gratin dauphinois was not made this day. We had a very nice wine. The crème brulée was ok. I took a "coffee with chocolates" as dessert, and got a good latte macchiato with 2 poor small chocolates. For 5,5€ !!
In sum, this hotel could be really nice if they renovated the bathrooms and asked Michel Roux again to come and train the kitchen staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Ilse r,

We appreciate the time taken to review our property at tripadvisor.com .

We are pleased to read your positive comments about the location of our hotel, the free shuttle bus to the center of Athens and the breakfast buffet.

We continuously monitor our product and services delivered to our guests, so please rest assured that we’ll take immediate actions concerning your comments about the bathroom and the internet connection. We regret that dinner at Avenue Bistro didn’t meet your expectations and along with Mr. Roux we’ll take immediate corrective actions regarding your comments.

We once again thank you for staying at the Metropolitan Hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Athens.

Your Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is fine with a 1o minutes taxi to city center. The rooms are quite large and comfortable for anyone travelling to athens. The restaurant is extremely good for dinner, the menu has some really nicely prepared dinners. Breakfast is included and has numerous food items from various egg dishes to all type of meat sides. Fruits, cheese, coldcuts and juices vary as well.

I would stay here each time I visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Mr. bossy600,

Thank you for taking the time to review Metropolitan Hotel, Athens.

It is with a great pleasure to read that you found the location of the hotel fine and the rooms quite large and comfortable. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed your dinner and the variety of items offered at our breakfast.

Looking forward to welcome you at the Metropolitan Hotel should you decide to visit Athens again.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is OK if you don't wish to spend time in the hotel itself, however it is ideally located if you are visiting daily into Piraeus and Glyfada - which was reflected by the clientele at breakfast, all men clearly only there for business purposes.

The room is disappointing and it all looks very dated with tired decor, carpets and curtains. An ethernet connection to get online - which did not work. No free WiFi in the room, Euro 23 for 24 hours. No complimentary bottled water (which seems standard just about anywhere I visit now) and no complimentary tea/coffee or the facilities to make them. As for the TV, I don't know when I last saw such a small screen on such a big box!

Shower over bath worked, but not properly. Water kept pouring out of the mixer tap, as well as the shower head, causing low shower pressure.

A positive is the restaurant "Avenue", however both times I went it was virtually empty (me only one night, and one party of four plus me the other night) so I don't hold out much hope for its long term survival.

Breakfast also good, but half the area is closed off so the seating is limited and you find yourself grabbing an uncleared table as soon as vacated to ensure you get a place.

I will however stay there again .... but only because of the location.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Mr. pblakester,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback with reference your recent stay at the Metropolitan Hotel in Athens.
We are pleased to read that you find our hotel “ideally located” between Piraeus and Glyfada and that you enjoyed your dinner at Avenue Bistro and your breakfast at Trocadero Restaurant.

Your comments about the room and internet connection are taken under serious consideration.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Metropolitan Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forlimpopoli, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have to go to Athens pretty often for Business purposes. My contacts are all in the Alimos / Glyfada area. I have tried several different Hotel between these two areas and I must say that Metropolitan Hotel is the only one that meet my requirements:
1) Comfort - rooms are well equipped and furnished and the average comfort is good.Excellent range of bath products. Tv channels choice is complete!
2) Price - not cheap but there are often promotions and every now and then you get an upgrade to a top quality room
3) Breakfast buffet - I am a maniac for healthy food but here you can have the best of both worlds. First time that I saw egg-white omelettes I went: "wow! this is my place!". Great choice. Maybe they could improve with the fresh fruit choice
4) Last, but not least, Gym! A perfect hotel for me must have a gym and Metropolitan offers a free Gym that is very well equipped both with aerobic instruments like treadmills, bikes but also my favourite Elliptic bike, and body building machines.

What I don't really like (and the main reason why I did not give a 5 star rating) is:
1) the parking lot which is almost 1 km far from the hotel and the absurd thing is that you first have to show up at the hotel and get a card in order to open up the parking gate.
2) Free Wi-Fi in the lobby only. In the room you get pretty high fees.
3) Position is certainly no good for tourists but excellent for business because next to one of the main roads that connects the city centre with the surrounding areas.

Anyway, for me this is the right choice!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are excellent and you often get a special price if you pre-pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Andrea P,

Thank you very much for selecting the Metropolitan Hotel Athens and we appreciate the time taken to write for your experience at the TripAdvisor.

We are very delighted to see that you find our hotel “excellent for business trips” and meets your requirements. Also happy to read that you found our rooms well equipped and furnished and you enjoyed our healthy breakfast buffet and our “well equipped Gym”. Your kind comments will be shared with my team members.

Concerning the parking lot is only 150 meters away from the hotel and is free of charge for hotel guests. In order to ensure space for hotel residents at all times, an access card is provided by the hotel’s Doormen. Another option is free of charge valet parking in front of the hotel.

Your comments about wi-fi options are taken under serious consideration.

The Metropolitan has been for long the choice of both business and leisure travelers offering many options for dining shopping or amusement in the area.
Additionally the free of charge hotel shuttle bus runs every hour to the city center.

Many thanks for the loyalty you are showing to the Metropolitan Hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The rooms were ok. A bit dusty.. The breakfast was nice and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect; quiet and good location. They have cabs for going to the city center and back. Overall, not bad for a few days in Athens.Its actually a budget 5 star hotel... I wont mind staying here again..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mrs. Nancy K.,

Thank you very much for your review concerning your stay at Metropolitan hotel Athens.

We are pleased to read that you valued our hotel good and you found our breakfast nice, our staff very helpful and friendly and the location of the Hotel good and quiet.

Your remarks about the hotel room are taken under serious consideration and immediate action has been taken.

Thank you for your recommendation and we’re looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: 385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 17564, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel, in front of the new Faliron Olympic coastal park very close to the city centre. Hotel offers daily complimentary shuttle service to town and back. Available in the vicinity one can find a variety of high street shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.