We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned for business and pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 17564, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Well positioned for business and pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Metropolitan Hotel Athens is great for business. Its location, a short taxi ride either to downtown Athens or Piraeus gives the flexibility needed for visiting clients etc. There’s a shuttle up to Sytagma Square for the essential tourism which places you conveniently for the main sights and night life. Taxis aren’t expensive so moving around Athens is not a problem. The rooms are adequate, have everything you need (except coffee/tea facilities..shame.) And are reasonable. I visited on a ‘room only’ deal but the breakfast buffet looked good and was obviously enjoyed by many. The lounge snack bar offers gigantic club sandwiches, salads, soups etc along with the teas, coffees, and drinks you’d expect. About 15 euro for a salad but it’s a good one! Coke 4.50 euro. There’s a ‘business centre’ (a computer in a quiet room) for which you pay, except when you want to simply check into a flight on line and print your boarding pass. The rooftop pool has a lovely view and enough room for a dip and a burn in comfort! Staff are all extremely helpful and courteous. Only complaint must be the mini bar prices which irritate to the point of buying elsewhere. 5 eu for a coke, 9 eu for a miniature scotch, 4.50 eu for mineral water. Laughable. I am convinced that lower minibar prices would encourage consumption to an extent that more profit would be the result. Good hotel, hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Mr. BasilMav,

We thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback of your recent stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

We were pleased to note that you were satisfied with the location and the comfort of your room and our services. Also we are especially delighted to read that you enjoyed our snacks and beverages served at our “Atrium” Bar. Your kind comments about the help and courtesy of our team have been passed on to my colleagues.

With reference the mini bar prices, we implement moderate pricing policy as we regularly carry out a competitive market analysis with other hotels, however we are taking your comments under serious consideration.

THANK YOU for staying with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    162
    103
    31
    26
See reviews for
51
110
26
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week on two separate dates, it was in a fantastic location and had a fantastic view of the acropolis. It was very clean and had lovely staff. We travelled with a baby, they had lovely clean cots and supplied extra towells. We did not have breakfast but one could have it for an extra €8 we went to a pasisserie just next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Mr. 083 McEvoy,

Thank you for staying with us. We do appreciate the time taken to review our property.
It is a great pleasure to read that you found our location as well as the view excellent and you are more than satisfied with our housekeeping services and our staff.

Thank you once again for staying with us, looking forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely Yours,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Staff is friendly but not overly efficient (e.g. replacement of consumption from mini-bar or replacement of breakfast-ordering forms in room). Rooms and bathrooms are not very large and the air conditioning is useless: extremely noisy and very inefficient even when working flat out. That leaves you with with the options of either leaving the AC on at night (and not being able to sleep for the noise) and switching if off and sweltering. There is a swimming pool in the top floor: it is very small but the views are fantastic and it was not crowded when I was there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear James XXI,

Thank you for taking the time to review Metropolitan Hotel in Athens.

We are pleased to read that you received friendly service and we assure you that we will continue to invest in our team in order to ensure right implementation of our standards.

Providing comfortable sleep to our guest is our primary goal. We apologize for the technical problem you experienced. Our engineering department took immediate action to find and solve this as well as any similar situation may exists in our hotel.

Dear Mr. James, it was an unfortunate isolated incident and definitely does not reflect the services at Metropolitan Athens hotel and our efforts.

Please be assured that my team and myself, will provide all it takes to create the best memories to our guests while in Athens. Should you decide to visit Athens again please give us the opportunity to welcome you again and rectify.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My first visit to this hotel... decent room, poor breakfast, nice entrance/lobby (with free wifi), friendly staff, nice roof terrace, with pool (small, but) with a view on Acropolis.Bit expensive for 4 star hotel. No free internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Pracovian,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property at tripadvisor.com.

We are happy to read that you find your room decent and you enjoy our free wi-fi service at the lobby area as well as our outdoor facilities, on the other side we regret to hear that our breakfast does not meet your expectation. The Food and Beverage department is already aware and will take all the necessary actions.

We hope that we will have the honor to welcome you back to our premises in order to offer you an enjoyable experience.

Yours Sincerely,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel. The first was almost one year earlier, and they remembered me (or at least pretended to, anyway). Check-in was quick and the staff smiled all the time. I had to work, so could not get to enjoy the late-night food and drink atmosphere and amenities that are advertised..I'm sure they are wonderful. Breakfast had a wide variety of
choices, and was very tasty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear EBWgirl,

Thank you for staying with us. We do appreciate the time taken to review our property.

It is a great pleasure to read that you found our front desk staff very friendly and helpful, our breakfast excellent and you are more than satisfied from Metropolitan Hotel Athens. Please make sure that you save some time on your future visits in order to enjoy a meal, lunch or dinner, at Avenue Bistro, a project of world¬ renowned chef Michel Roux with the famous Greek Chef Akis Petretzikis.

Thank you for being loyal to Metropolitan Hotel Athens. We looking forward to welcome you soon

Sincerely Yours,

George Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this small hotel in the heart of the city.

the location is excellent
staff very friendly and helpful
the room was new and very clean with a great view on Acropoli
Good breakfast with a beautiful view

Our dog Giotto was treated like a king ...

Carlo & Giotto

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I went to Greece on Hune 16th 2012 until June 30th 2012. I only stayed 2 days in this hotel but its a pretty nice experience. I love the room and the bathroom. Its typical the 3-4 star hotel. Very clean and they gave toilettries and provide towels. The bathroom is not that wide but not narrow either. Probably the only lack of it is only the tv programs. Basically the free channels are all news channels. If you want to see movie or music channels, they will charge you at certain amount of price. Plus, the free news channel is in greek language, so... that's that.
But overall the room and bathroom are nice. the food is also nice and somewhat delicious. I like their breakfast menu.

Oh they also have little pool outside with chairs to hang out.

One more thing. They have free wifi only in the lobby area so that's where i always use internet. If you want to use inside your room, the charge will apply too.

There's big supermarket Carrefour near this hotel (to the right, walking distance) and further more there's Greece Parliament House with many birds outside. To the left side of this hotel is a beautiful boat dock and beach. So those places can be a start of your adventure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear angelous_19,

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience over your recent stay at the Metropolitan Hotel.

It is nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay in one of our rooms and you enjoyed our breakfast and the outdoor facilities. Please allowed us a small correction, among the free channels there are 9 Greek and 13 of them international, 22 in total.

The guest’s comments are really important for us, it is a great tool to work with in order to provide the best to our guests, so please rest assured that all your notes about Metropolitan Athens Hotel will be taken under serious consideration.

Thank you for your nice comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Georgios Papazoglou
General Manager
Metropolitan Hotel, Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: 385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 17564, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city hotel, in front of the new Faliron Olympic coastal park very close to the city centre. Hotel offers daily complimentary shuttle service to town and back. Available in the vicinity one can find a variety of high street shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.