We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce location, average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Hotel Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Hotel Athens to your Saves list
Coral Hotel Athens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Possidonos Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 17561, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“NIce location, average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed here because it was near where i was doing some work in Glyfada. The location is nice, just overlooking the sea and near to quite a few shops and restaurants. The hotel is quite nice, but not stunning. There is a small restaurant on the ground floor which is good for breakfast but has limited range for dinner. The bar is quite pleasant and you can sit outside, although there is some traffic noise.

Staff are friendly and all speak English. Rooms are functional and OK; nothing special although if you go for a suite or a 'deluxe' room the rooms are better and worth paying for because they are much bigger than the standard rooms and have a sea view

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotel-Athens, Manager at Coral Hotel Athens, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
We appreciate your review and your comments. Thank you for selecting Coral Hotel for your stay among your many choices.
Kind regards,
Nikos Houliaras, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    103
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
45
74
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Nice to be beside the sea , although we did not have a view. Was unprepared for the noise and volume of traffic outside, though the hotel itself is an oasis of calm, elegant and well appointed. Staff very helpful. Food in the restaurant is excellent standard - we had an exceptioanlly good dinner there, and great not to have to tackle Athens transport. Also several other eating places close by in pleasant shopping district of Faliro, and handy for a stroll on the marina.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotel-Athens, Manager at Coral Hotel Athens, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
We thank you for your review. We realize by your comment that you were unprepared for the noise and traffic and we apologize. Although our hotel is by the water, it also happens to be on the coastal zone of Athens, via which traffic moves to other suburbs, shopping areas, beaches and eventually to the airport. We appreciate the fact you pointing this out so that we may continue informing our guests and potential guests of our location. We describe our hotel as a “City Hotel by the Sea.”
We are certainly pleased you found the hotel itself calmer than the traffic outside. We also thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and restaurant.
We do hope we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Nikos Houliaras, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Perfect in every way. Superb staff. Excellent buffet breakfast. Great Spar.

Also a very nice area and convenient for the airport bus. Far better than staying in central Athens.

Room Tip: 512 great view but traffic noise if you are not used to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotel-Athens, Manager at Coral Hotel Athens, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Your review is greatly appreciated by all of us and we would like to thank you for your time as well as your preference to stay with us.
We also thank you for commenting on our area being nice and convenient as compared to downtown (central) Athens. It is in a way the best of both worlds. Near Athens and by the sea.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Nikos Houliaras, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We must have been here a dozen times. The location is very convenient, unless you really want to walk to the Acropolis - from Paleo Faliro you take the tram to the city centre, a fun experience in itself.
You can take the X96 bus from the airport, and it's near Piraeus if you're going on a cruise.

The hotel is excellent value for money, with a copious breakfast included. The staff are all friendly and helpful, though rushed off their feet sometimes. The little pool on the top floor is a haven of peace. Good bar, good restaurant, and there are other places to eat around the corner, with a supermarket and pavement cafes where you can drink your caffe freddo.

And the view of the Saronic Gulf is stunning...

Room Tip: Have one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotel-Athens, Manager at Coral Hotel Athens, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
We would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and observations. In our opinion your review is full of good will, including the way you present the fact that service was a little rushed. Please rest assured that we will use your comment to improve.

All of us at Coral Hotel Athens are very appreciative for your preference to stay with us as well as your loyalty. We surely hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Nikos Houliaras
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The staff were nice and helpful, but they failed to tell us how to operate the lights in the hotel room. We arrived after dark and couldn't see anything until we finally figured out that our key card operated the lights and air conditioner. (It was hard to figure this out in a blacked-out room).

They offer a free breakfast, but one of the three days we were there, all of the silver ware and cups were used up and no servers were around to help. This hotel has a dinner restaurant, which served very good food, but we also found it hard to find servers when they were needed.

There is a bus stop very close to the hotel that goes near the touristy area of Athens, but it takes about 20-30 minutes, so don't expect to be able to walk to downtown. This hotel is a far better location for those wanting to take a dip in the Mediterranean.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have a good view -- ours had a view of the neighboring apartment building. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotel-Athens, Manager at Coral Hotel Athens, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
We thank you for your comments which help us imrpove.
Kind regards,
Nikos Houliaras, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Herradura, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

A few of our wedding guests stayed at the Coral as our church ceremony was in Paleo Faliro. They were extremely pleased with the attention given by all employees, the services that the hotel provided, and the location: walking distance of 1-3 blocks to the bus or tram into central Athens, down the street from a lovely shopping/dining area, and 1/2 block to the airport bus, not to mention right on the seafront....who could ask for more! This was a special occasion and these guests had come from all different countries to attend so having a cordial accommodation was the icing on the cake for them!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotel-Athens, Manager at Coral Hotel Athens, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
It was our great pleasure to extend hospitality to your guests while in Athens to attend your wedding. We thank you very much for your kind words and the favorable description of our area, our staff and services provided. We are very appreciative you selected us, giving us the opportunity to provide pleasant accommodation to all your friends.
From all of us at Coral Hotel Athens, best wishes to you for a wonderful life!
Nikos Houliaras, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Very good hotel with nice small pool on the roof. The tram stops outside the hotel and takes you to Acropolis in 30 minutes. Piraeus is very close - 10 min driving and the promenade is right across the street. The hotel staff is polite and helpful and the hotel has its own parking - 12 euro per day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-Hotel-Athens, General Manager at Coral Hotel Athens, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you took to write about your stay with us and we certainly hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards from Athens,
Nikos Houliaras, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel Athens

Address: 35 Possidonos Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 17561, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paleo Faliro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 15-minute drive from Athens centre, this 4-star hotel offers views of the Saronic Gulf and Kastella Hill. Coral Hotel Athens features an indoor heated whirlpool and mini gym.The charming rooms at the Coral Hotel are air-conditioned and feature satellite LCD TV, radio, and work desk. Some of the rooms offer sea views from their balconies.The Coral Restaurant prepares a buffet breakfast daily while Greek and International dishes are served during lunch and dinner. Room service is also available. There is free Wi-Fi access in all hotel areas. Massages are offered by appointment.Hotel Coral is within walking distance from the commercial centre of Paleo Faliro, with many shopping and entertainment facilities and a waterfront promenade. The Tram across the street connects the Coral with the Athens Metro network. Piraeus Port is a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Hotel Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.