We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bloomington

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Bloomington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bloomington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 N Walnut St, Bloomington, IN 47404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Bloomington
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Have been returning to this Hampton Inn on a yearly basis when visiting family. Unfortunately this time may be our last.

This Hampton needs a good scrubbing. It's not clean. Our room had issues which I mentioned to the desk clerk who said they'd rectify the problem in the a.m. They did but the problems continued. The housekeeping staff doesn't check under the bed skirt (candy and bandaids, ick) and the bed sheets are not tucked in.

The bathroom supplies were kept at a minimum. Using left-over, opened items from the previous guests.

The halls were dark and dreary. All in all not pleasant.

But the highlight was the "square donuts" every morning from a local Bloomington spot. Worth waking up to and savoring. Wonderful.

The staff was helpful, considerate and respectful. Too bad the property has seen better days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for leaving us a review. I apologize that your stay wasn't outstanding. Please contact me directly so I can find out what specific date you stayed with us. I'm surprised of your findings and will certainly address the issue. I'm happy you enjoyed the Square Donuts and I hope you will give us another shot. As you know from reviewing us previously, this is not typical of our brand or our hotel. We look forward to providing you with an outstanding experience during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    67
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
84
27
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Spent night there while in Bloomington. Attention to cleanliness and friendly staff. Good free breakfast makes this a good spot when in town. This is our second visit and it is very close to IU football stadium. Also very close to downtown and the campus of IU.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for letting us know how we're doing. I'm happy you had a pleasant stay. We're glad that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and that our location near Indiana University was convenient for your visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel was everything expected and then some. The accomodations and service were unbeatable. The bed was heavenly -- the linens were clean and the mattress and pillows were comfortable. The desk clerk was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ava C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write those great comments! We are glad you enjoyed your accomodations and the service provided by our staff. Our Cloud 9 beds are wonderful, they ensure a great night's sleep. Thank you again for your review, we hope you return the next time you are traveling to Bloomington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

While my wife and I are not big travelers, when we do we have always tried to stay at Hampton. In the past their service, rooms, food have been outstanding - as has been their prices. However, last weekend we stayed in Hampton Inn / Bloomington and we're very disappointed in the room and the food.
Our mattress was very old and sagged to the extent that we couldn’t sleep. Breakfast was equally as bad; the only hot food was potatoes and sausage. Both were old and tough. We asked the server about the food and were told that’s all there is. “We only make one batch of food and when it’s gone, it’s gone.”
Our experience has certainly clouded our feelings on Hampton in general. If one falls below standard can others be far behind?

Room Tip: ...to find a good room, go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler B, Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We will remain committed to providing an exceptional complimentary hot breakfast. Please contact me directly regarding the mattress situation. I assure you that this is an isolated incident and we will address it promptly. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove our commitment to excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed overnight at the Hampton Inn Bloomington, while attending a 2-day orientation at Indiana University. The location of the hotel was just about 5 minutes away from campus, which made it very convenient. My room and bathroom were very, very clean, and the bed and pillows were HEAVENLY! I had a VERY good night’s sleep! My room also had a nice 32” LG Flat screen TV, mounted on a swivel stand, making it really easy to see from all angles of the room. The FREE wireless Internet worked great, and was very easy to connect to. The complementary breakfast food selection of: scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, make-your-own waffles, juice, cereal bagels, fruit, etc., were very nice to have available; however, my only complaint is that the eggs were quite crumbly, and even though the eggs and sausage were in warmers, they were a little cold. Wish I could have stayed longer, but if my plans require me to stay overnight in Bloomington in the future, I would definitely enjoy staying at this Hampton Inn again.

Room Tip: Great location if you need to visit Indiana University.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler B, Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for the review. We are happy you had a great night’s sleep. We have really enjoyed getting to know some of the new students and parents during their first visit to Bloomington for Orientation. We are happy you took advantage our free wireless internet, which has recently been upgraded so you can enjoy even more speed and efficiency while surfing the web. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here on a visit to IU. Nice location, clean room, very nice staff, ok breakfast. Have to agree with another poster, the beds were double's in our room. Thought they were supposed to be queens. Average property, nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler B, Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for the review. We’re happy you enjoyed our convenient location near the Indiana University campus. We really appreciate you choosing us and look forward to hosting you during your next visit to IU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Larry, Danielle, Ava and the others go out of their way for the customers and non customers. I drive an airport shuttle bus & the Hampton is my last stop before leaving for the Indianapolis Airport. These people make my passengers, and myself, feel welcome even when we just visit the vending machines or the restroom before leaving town. They sure put a smile on this shuttle bus drivers face...especially when they let me have a fresh baked, still warm cookie! Thanks guys & gals!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler B, Manager at Hampton Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for the review. We’re happy to be a pick-up and drop-off point for the Star of America shuttle service. You make it convenient for our guests by providing transportation to and from the airport. Keep up the great work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bloomington

Address: 2100 N Walnut St, Bloomington, IN 47404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#9 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bloomington 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Hampton Inn And Suites Bloomington
Bloomington Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hotel Bloomington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.