We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fourwinds Resort And Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fourwinds Resort And Marina to your Saves list
Fourwinds Resort And Marina
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9301 Fairfax Road, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Midweek Staycation
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
“Awesome get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night for Valentine's Day (we celebrated a weekend early). Even in the winter, the view of the lake from our balcony was breathtaking. The room was very well maintained and the staff took excellent care of us. We had dinner in the Tradewinds dining room. I have never had a bigger, better cut of prime rib. Everything we ordered was outstandingly delicious. We then had drinks at the Windjammer bar/grill. The bartender, Rosemary, was kind enough to let us sit and enjoy one more drink as she closed. A hot tub would have been nice for the cold weather, but that is the only thing this resort lacks. We will definitely be staying again!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony that faces the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you, Elizabeth, your review is greatly appreciated. We're glad that your Valentines celebration was all that you wanted it to be. Also, thank you for taking the time to recognize Rosemary, a Supervisor in the Windjammer. She has a very good following, because she is always smiling and taking good care of our guests. We'll look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    64
    19
    13
    14
See reviews for
120
100
6
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Merrillville, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

2 great days in a clean, well managed and staffed hotel. Even with the extreme cold snap and snow, the parking lot and access was well maintained. The cold outside made the hotel that much more warm and cozy. The staff was very helpful with local information and very accomodating. Food in the restaurant was very good, well prepared and the service friendly. There are comfortable common areas for relaxing, I can't wait to visit in the summer with the outside patio and deck on the lake side.
If your visiting Bloomington, don't stay in the city, head a little south and go to Lake Monroe and visit Fourwinds for a great stay and beautiful scenery winter or summer!
My name is Rick Howard and I approve this message :-)

Room Tip: pick the lake side room for a better view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for the great review, Rick. We're glad you chose the Fourwinds Resort & Marina for your recent get-away. The team members and I are proud of our resort and it's accomplishments in becoming a premier Bloomington destinations just down the road form downtown. Reviews like this truly help. I approve your message, as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The suite was perfect for hosting a family get together, with the capability of preparing some of our meals. We enjoyed the Wind Jammer Grill/Bar. The staff was very friendly and helpful, both during booking the reservation, and during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We agree with you, Deb. The Fourwinds Resort & Marina offers the prefect setting for family gatherings and reunions. We're glad that yours was so enjoyable and that everyone had a wonderful time. Thank you for taking the time to tell others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Fourwinds is an excellent place for the marriage retreat we just attended in January. The rooms were great, food was excellent, and we were treated like royalty. From check-in to check-out, we couldn't have asked for better service or a better experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction. As you know, the resort has the perfect setting for group meetings, reunions and social events, such as yours. We are very proud of our Executive Chef and his menu creations and appreciate how much you enjoyed the food. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

easy location to find,20 minutes to one of the best little towns in america,sitting on an ample sized lake with a marina right out yur door.snowed every day we were there and loved it.staff was on the job with any and all request.food at both restaurants more than acceptable.this is a gem in the woods,we used the indoor pool temp was 12 degrees,workout room,walking trails will get the job done.going back in june with family for extended vaca.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction. More and more people are seeing that our resort is the perfect destination any time of the year. We will look forwarding to welcoming you and your family back later this year. Please feel free to contact us if we can be of any assistance in planning your next get-away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Indiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My future wife and I have come here 3 times in the last 6 months and I believe the experience here has been a plus. It's peaceful, and the friendly staff always makes sure you are comfortable..We love the Wind Jammer Grill/Bar there and the staff that works the bar are really great people. We will continue to come back here, I guess this is where it started for my fiancee and I ..Great Place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you Tccyru for taking the time to write a great review.

Congratulations to you and your fiancée. It is very wonderful to hear that your times with us where so relaxing and we were where it all started for you and your future bride.

If there is anything we can do for you and your upcoming wedding please don’t hesitate to ask.

We appreciate your continued patronage and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Really cannot say enough about this place....all very good! Staff was outstanding and in tune with our every need - we were especially impressed with the front desk staff. Kim and Kelsey helped us throughout our stay - we had a very large group and they made sure that everything went smoothly.

The area around the resort is about as picturesque as you will find in Indiana. The lake is beautiful and the rolling hills are something to see and enjoy. You can fish, hike, hunt, bike, and also take in the quirky and interesting areas on Southern Indiana. Nashville is right there and a good day trip. The Hoosier National Forest has to be one of the most under-appreciated places in Indiana and you should not miss this place. All this said without even mentioning Bloomington and the Indiana University campus. One of the great college towns in America - lots of restaurants, sights - plus great college athletics.

I have actually stayed at this hotel twice recently - once with family and the other time with a large athletic team. During the first visit, we used the resort as a jumping off point for several day-trips around the area. It was in the Fall and it was awesome - so much to do! On the second visit, we had over 20 rooms with high school athletes and the resort just rocked it on customer service - we travel as a team a bunch and we have rarely been treated better.

The resort itself is in absolutely amazing shape - it has just been renovated physically. The pool is very nice and my kids cannot wait to return in the summer when the roof peels off that thing. Been to a lot of pools - this configuration is unique and impressive. The rooms are roomy and very nice. The hotel restaurant and bar was something we looked forward to each evening!

This is a can't miss - if you want the lake, you are right there; if you are in B-town, you are a little off the beaten path, but it is a good distance and an excellent place to unwind, if you are just kicking around Southern Indiana, this place is right up there with the French Lick area and offers much more with the exception of gambling.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Wow!! Thank you very much Teampedersen for the great review, it is really appreciated.

As you so duly noted the FourWInds has so much to offer as a resort and it is close to downtown Bloomington making it a great alternative to a standard hotel stay.

Lake Monroe is a wonderfully beautiful lake all year long, the views are spectacular. Warm or cold there is much to do at the FourWinds. In season you and all our guests can enjoy endless water activities, like fishing, skiing, tubing and more.

Thank you again for the kind words, safe travels to you and your family.

We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fourwinds Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Resort And Marina

Address: 9301 Fairfax Road, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourwinds Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourwinds Resort and Marina, located on beautiful Lake Monroe, in the Fairfax State Recreation Area, Bloomington, Indana, offers a year-round, lakeside get-away, for families, business travelers, groups, and visitors to Southern Indiana. Within a short drive to the Bloomington, business district and Indiana University, the Fourwinds Resort & Marina is a wonderful alternative, to a more "traditional" hotel experience. Breathtaking lake views from most rooms, with walk-out patios and balconies, in a relaxed setting. The Fourwinds Resort and Marina will be your favorite "Destination Location". Boat Rentals, transient slips, Fairfax State Recreation Area, Corporate Meeting space, Wedding Venues, and much more await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere and Hotwire so you can book your Fourwinds Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourwinds Resort And Marina Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fourwinds Resort And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.